Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne criticises pricks in pink for not giving Parramatta Eels a fair go

Noise

I think the reason we give away so many ruck penalties is because we don't have enough tall rangy middle forwards, so we can't slow the ruck legally through wrestling. Instead we hold down, which is easy to penalise because it's obvious.

Our best wrestlers are Allgood, Lussick and Ben Smith, and these guys would be lucky to have played 20 games between them this year. Of course, they all played plenty of games last year and we were even worse, so maybe it's something else.

I think Sef Paulo has a bit to do with it. He usually plays the most minutes out of our middle forwards (bar the hooker) and he is beyond crap in the wrestle.

Yeah he lacks a bit of upper body strength. His first contact is poor too, though he has a pretty good work rate.

Gazzamatta

I think the reason we give away so many ruck penalties is because we don't have enough tall rangy middle forwards, so we can't slow the ruck legally through wrestling. Instead we hold down, which is easy to penalise because it's obvious.

Our best wrestlers are Allgood, Lussick and Ben Smith, and these guys would be lucky to have played 20 games between them this year. Of course, they all played plenty of games last year and we were even worse, so maybe it's something else.

Lussick?
This guy makes a tackle then lays on the ground for the following ruck. Allgood yes. I absolutely agree but Lussick. Did you watch last weeks game Poo?

Gazzamatta

I don't think Lussick is at full fitness. He was heaps better last year when we won the spoon.

Was probably Rickys only mate. Lol.
I agree. His fitness is terrible or his attitude sucks. Id be playing him 80 mins at Wenty for a couple of weeks but it seems he has a clause in his contract that dosent allow this. Him and Joe Paulo on the park together and forget any hope of stoping the opposition rolling forward.

SDM

The ref was calling us to move before the dogs players even hit the ground in the first twenty minutes. At the same time, they allow blokes to be turned to face the sideline after they hit the turf on their guts after a weak tackle. It is too subjective.

I reckon the refs should have a quick chat prior to kick-off (for example, at the coin toss) and let both captains know what they expect, what they will police strictly, etc.

That way, both teams should be able to just play footy.

I think Sef Paulo has a bit to do with it. He usually plays the most minutes out of our middle forwards (bar the hooker) and he is beyond crap in the wrestle.
Sef would get out wrestled by Stephen Hawking, and his first contact in the tackle is not existent at times.

I reckon the refs should have a quick chat prior to kick-off (for example, at the coin toss) and let both captains know what they expect, what they will police strictly, etc.

That way, both teams should be able to just play footy.

I wish my dog would crap fifty dollar notes....

Until refs police the ruck like they do in union - roll away immediately once the tackle is completed - then the wrestle will continue to dominate the game.

Wiki - Rugby Rules

To stop a player running with the ball, the opposition will try to tackle them. Only players carrying the ball can be tackled.[39] The tackle is complete when the ball-carrier is brought to the ground; this is judged to be the case as soon as a knee touches the ground while being held by the opposition.[40] The tackler is designated as any player that also goes to ground when making the tackle. If no player goes to ground when tackling a player, then there is no tackler. The tackler has to immediately let the tackled player go and get to their feet before attempting to compete for the ball.[40]If they do not get to their feet, they must roll away from the tackled player.[40] The player that is tackled must immediately play the ball by pushing, passing or placing it in any direction.[40][41] If a player is involved in the tackle, but does not go to ground, they must also release the tackled player, allowing them the chance to play the ball.

eel01s

The ref was calling us to move before the dogs players even hit the ground in the first twenty minutes. At the same time, they allow blokes to be turned to face the sideline after they hit the turf on their guts after a weak tackle. It is too subjective.

Not to mention all the times the Dogs lifted a tackled players leg to slow things down. Not one penalty, but plenty of coaching from the refs.

Someone must of got into their ears at halftime, seeing the lack of penalties in the second half.

Has there been a game this year where we got the rub of the green and the other side had a right to feel ripped off?

I wish my dog would crap fifty dollar notes....

Yeah, it's like that...

I at first thought how silly it sounded to have the referees tell the captains what they wanted to see - after all, as professionals, they should all know this already.

But you see it all the time in boxing, MMA, etc., and I figured it couldn't hurt.

It also makes the referees accountable - if they go on record prior to a game saying, "I will be very strict with slowing the play the ball," and one team gets caned in this regard, then there is no excuse for their performance, and it is easier to sack them.

If only...

forward pass

Hope Jarryd has a lazy 10k laying around !! Accusing the refs of bias or favouritism is a BIG no-no. (Even though he is 100% correct)

it will be interesting to see how the refs go this week will they back off a bit or come out swinging? unfortunately i think the latter :(

nothing will change .... hoe game might get us a little better result from them ..... but I don't think anything too major happened to get us a knee jerk reaction

and if the penalty count has a massive swing in our favour its as good as admitting the refs were biased in the first place