Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne - Make him an Eel for Life

IFR33K

Not for the massive holes they’d leave in the rest of the squad.

How good do you reckon Thurston and Cronk would go in a shit team? The fact is you don’t know because you’ve never seen it with Cronk. But the Cowboys have had a couple of shitty years even with Thurston in the side.

They’re good, but they’re made to look better than they are. Norman probably looks worse a lot of the time.

“They’re good but made to look better than they are”? You fcking kidding me? Ones a deadset immortal and the other isn’t too far behind. You seriously can’t be that stupid, could you? Mind you, you were tugging yourself when we signed sandow. Can’t believe what I’ve just read.

Cronk is the ultimate professional. Corey the ultimate party boy. I have no idea what Cronk was being paid at melb, but I suspect it was around 1-1.1 mill. Not far off what Corey is about to get. I know who I’d rather give my hard earned to.
You avoided the question. You need to compare the price that Parra would have to pay for Cronk to the price that Parra are currently paying for Corey.

How much do you think Parra could get Cronk for? You’ll need to consider adding a ‘shit team’ tax and also factor in our inability to source TPAs in the way that Melbourne or the Roosters can.

Give me a number so that we can at least have an informed discussion.

“They’re good but made to look better than they are”? You fcking kidding me? Ones a deadset immortal and the other isn’t too far behind. You seriously can’t be that stupid, could you? Mind you, you were tugging yourself when we signed sandow. Can’t believe what I’ve just read.
I can’t believe that you would even argue that Cronk wouldnt look better in the Storm than he would in Parra. That’s beyond stupid.

It’s the exact point that plenty of people have made in support of Hayne when I have suggested that Slater is a much better fullback.

You avoided the question. You need to compare the price that Parra would have to pay for Cronk to the price that Parra are currently paying for Corey.

How much do you think Parra could get Cronk for? You’ll need to consider adding a ‘shit team’ tax and also factor in our inability to source TPAs in the way that Melbourne or the Roosters can.

Cronk 1.3
Norman 800k

Leaves 500k

Norman + Jnr Paulo 1.5 mill
Cronk + Matagi 1.5 mill

Now choose....

I can’t believe that you would even argue that Cronk wouldnt look better in the Storm than he would in Parra. That’s beyond stupid.

It’s the exact point that plenty of people have made in support of Hayne when I have suggested that Slater is a much better fullback.

Slaters superior not due to skill but attitude and commitment and the same reason Cronks better then Norman.
Skill wise both comparrisons on par.

Anyhows id put values on positions, needs and players coming through.
All these guys haveing a cry are the same guys who will complain if lost a young gun coming through.
Phil Gould has talked how hard it is too balance the cap. This is the most experienced guy in the business. Knowing how much to pay a guy and putting a value and length on contract not knowing who may lose or what replacements you have.
Cronk imo was a good halfback. Very good. I never seen a legend of the game. A little better then Mitchel Pierce

On Hayne he is worth 750k if we had no fullback option.

Problem is we have Bevan,Gutherson and I will count Norman based on Browns half potential.
Bevan is still potentialy and NRL level fullback. Not winger but fullback yes.

IFR33K

No offence Gary but your question is stupid. We paid top dollar for a half that isn’t top quality. Maybe we should of hardballed Corey into signing for 5-600k (take it or leave it situation). Not paying massive overs especially considering his attitude and antics.

Joshuatheeel

No offence Gary but your question is stupid. We paid top dollar for a half that isn’t top quality. Maybe we should of hardballed Corey into signing for 5-600k (take it or leave it situation). Not paying massive overs especially considering his attitude and antics.

So you wouldn’t have cared if we started 2017 with Robbo and Gutho as our halves?

IFR33K

I don’t know Gary, Cronk hasn’t played here. But maybe, just maybe had Cronk come here he could of had a positive impact on our younger players, which may in fact turned us into a more competitive team. Yet we opted to sign a party boy, that plays a bit of footy. No wonder the culture blows, look at the shit hanging around the club.

Normans fine. All boys enjoy a party.
He played behind a shit pack and his strike weapons put wide where down on form.
He will bounce back next season.

IFR33K

Normans fine. All boys enjoy a party.
He played behind a shit pack and his strike weapons put wide where down on form.
He will bounce back next season.

Our pack done the job in the bulk of games. The halves were the issue. How many halves were we kept scoreless?

No offence taken. I know it’s not a stupid question as it directly relates to what we were talking about.

You originally mentioned that Cronk and Thurston would be better purchases but when faced with logical questioning that statement you haven’t been able to explain yourself. In the words of my mate @Avenger you have been exposed like Portuguese chicken.

You are shifting the goal posts. We weren’t arguing whether Norman is a f**kbag as that is not an argument I would attempt. He is a massive f**kwit.

However, to argue that we could pay Thurston or Cronk and undefined amount and suggest that it is a better ‘purchase’ without even exploring what that might involve is a pretty weak argument to make.

I assume that by changing the topic, you accept that you might have overreached.

So let me get this straight. You are critical of the club for not signing Cronk?

Yet, assuming that was even a f**king option you don’t want to have a discussion about what that might have meant for us. Any question about the downside (I.e significant increased cost and the loss of other players to offset those costs) can’t be brought up as they are ‘stupid’?

Sorry for the logic.

Mate, my point is we paid top $$$ for an absolute c%nt of a person, that has a care free attitude.

It was always destined to end in tears.

Btw, I don’t rate salmon, but I won’t be disappointed if we punt Corey for him.
Most rugby league players are merkins so you significantly limit your options if that is your criteria. Besides, I made a similar observation about Norman a while ago and was informed by someone in the know that there are other players with worse attitudes (including his halves partner).

Just out of interest, we’re you critical of the signing when it happened? You might have been - I just can’t recall.

IFR33K

So let me get this straight. You are critical of the club for not signing Cronk?

Yet, assuming that was even a f**king option you don’t want to have a discussion about what that might have meant for us. Any question about the downside (I.e significant increased cost and the loss of other players to offset those costs) can’t be brought up as they are ‘stupid’?

Sorry for the logic.

Ffs no I’m not critical of the club about Cronk. What I am critical about is the club signed a party boy wanna be gangster on overs.

IFR33K

Most rugby league players are merkins so you significantly limit your options if that is your criteria. Besides, I made a similar observation about Norman a while ago and was informed by someone in the know that there are other players with worse attitudes (including his halves partner).

Just out of interest, we’re you critical of the signing when it happened? You might have been - I just can’t recall.

Initially I was happy with signing under RS. But after his antics I knew we played through the roof for him end of 16, despite the shit he dragged the club through.

Ffs no I’m not critical of the club about Cronk. What I am critical about is the club signed a party boy wanna be gangster on overs.
That’s not what you were suggesting when you said that Cronk and Thurston would have been better purchases.

You did say that didn’t you? Don’t make me f**ken find it.

As for Norman being on overs, I don’t think that is the case. When his contract was renewed he was worth what we ended up paying him and could have got as much elsewhere. That’s how you measure whether we paid too much.

To suggest that we can arbitrarily change what the market decides is a bit far fetched.

I think you’d be on safer ground if you said that Norman hasn’t earnt his pay check. I think that’s something the majority of people would agree to.

IFR33K

I did say Cronk and Thurston would of been better purchases, but I never said we should of chased them