Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne to the NFL!

Will Jarryd Hayyne make it in the NFL?

Shut up you bearded dribbler. We all knew he had an ego. We put shit on you because you thought Luke Burt was a better fullback than him and that Hayne should remain on the wing.

Actually, Hayne should have gone to five-eighth, which I said innumerable times.

But you can all copy me now. It's OK. I can imagine that having a dick pulled out of your mouth when you were so close to swallowing would hurt a little.

Joely01

So selfish of Hayne for not pleasing his fans by doing exactly what they say.

Disgusting.

The thing is is that if you are a fan of Hayne you aren't upset by what he is doing.
Yes it is going to suck come round 1 next year and he isn't playing. But from a career perspective (he is a normal human being like the rest of us) you sit back an applaud him, not many people would have the guts to do what he is doing.

Haynzy

We live in a society that glorifies the individual over the collective.
"Do what's best for yourself and your family." Is the mantra that gets trotted out regularly.

Here we have an extremely gifted and talented individual doing something for himself, and it's not even in pursuit of the almighty dollar that we all seem to worship, and we get cranky!

How dare he do something that makes him happy, something that he can be proud of.

Sure I'm disappointed for us as a team and club but we'll survive. Good luck to the bloke but if it doesn't work out he'll come back better for it and I, for one, will welcome him back with open arms.

spiderdan

meh. he'll be back once his gap year finishes, if not, sooner.

good on him though for testing himself going from big fish in a little pond to fish food in the sea.

We live in a society that glorifies the individual over the collective.
"Do what's best for yourself and your family." Is the mantra that gets trotted out regularly.

Here we have an extremely gifted and talented individual doing something for himself, and it's not even in pursuit of the almighty dollar that we all seem to worship, and we get cranky!

How dare he do something that makes him happy, something that he can be proud of.

Sure I'm disappointed for us as a team and club but we'll survive. Good luck to the bloke but if it doesn't work out he'll come back better for it and I, for one, will welcome him back with open arms.

Gen Y seem to have no issue in making decisions solely based on themselves. Again, I applaud his gumption and the goal he has set himself and indeed wish him well, however the timing was abominable and has left his club in a very unfortunate position.

I refuse to give him my 100% support for this very reason. A very immature action by a person who at 26/27, should know better.

Delboy

Not denying the indivividual thechance to test himself, my view is that it was a decision that did not take into account the harm it did to his club, team mates and fans by doing it without warning

He is a reason a lot of us enjoyed the last cup le of years, but again, he could have thought more about others than just "what I want" very disappointing

Gen Y seem to have no issue in making decisions solely based on themselves. Again, I applaud his gumption and the goal he has set himself and indeed wish him well, however the timing was abominable and has left his club in a very unfortunate position.

I refuse to give him my 100% support for this very reason. A very immature action by a person who at 26/27, should know better.
Well said Gronk, I hope he slays it over there and is remembered as one of the greatest athletes Australia has produced. Doesn't make his timing any less shitty.

Delboy

BA is an angry merkin at the best of times, surprised we didn't hear about the possible destruction of a resort in Bali after he got the call. A selfish action that didn't give the team he "loves" the opportunity to move on and use the cap space at a time that would have helped

If he worked hard to get the coach to the club, what a miserable action when the coach was on leave, and the club were prepared to move mountains to make him the highest paid player in the game. I don't see what he did as a professional act

Haynzy

I don't know when the timing could have been any better.

If he did a Sam Burgess maybe, but I reckon that as much as he/they are saying it's a decision that has been brewing for a while, he still needed to have certain things organised before he could announce anything.
My suspicion is that the club expected that he would be going at the end of 2015 so they put in a huge offer to try and dissuade him. He's in the meantime been talking to people in the US and they have said that he will be too old to have a serious crack then. The club, his age and possibly other circumstances meant that he either had to go now or never.

Yeah it sucks a bit but fair dink, it's not the end of the world. The way some people are carrying on you'd think he'd admitted to eating babies or something.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nrl...ars-shock-switch/story-fn2mcuj6-1227093070275

UNIVERSITY student Tom Newbold saw space on Tuesday night. So he went for it.

Clutching an American football tight to his chest, this young UTS Gator weaved through the blocking, shoving chaos of yet another training scrimmage, headed for what he thought was that open space when ... thwack.

“Absolutely hammered,’’ the 22-year-old laughs. “But what can you do? It’s not every day Jarryd Hayne opposes you at safety.”

An anonymous bunch of students, scaffolders, bankers and labourers who, for the past month, have been secretly assisting with the greatest shock in Australian sports history.

Despite playing for nothing in the little-known Sydney competition — and shelling out more than $1000 each for team uniforms — these gutsy park footballers have been hand-picked by Hayne to help ready him for an NFL dream.

As part of a relationship that first began two years ago, the NSW Origin star has spent the past month training intensely with athletes like accountancy student Newbold, glazier Ryan King and Woolworths warehouse employee Jamie McGrory.

“Hasn’t missed one of our past six sessions,’’ reveals Gators linebacker Marcos Delana. “So, yeah, we all knew Jarryd was keen on American footy ... but nobody expected anything like this.”

While they may lack media coverage, boast no home ground and have a following restricted to “wives and girlfriends”, the UTS Gators are suddenly the most talked about amateur sports team in Sydney.

“I’ve had 20 calls in the past 48 hours,’’ laughs president Matt Steel. “We’re not exactly used to this.”

Better, they’re no mugs.

Take Gators linebacker McGrory, who has only recently returned from a stint of college football with San Jose City. Or defensive lineman Tim Clulow, who recently signed on to play for Dakota State.

“Although Jarryd’s switch has received a little more attention than mine,’’ Clulow grins. “But with the athleticism he has, he won’t struggle to earn a train-on spot.”

McGrory agrees adding: “What Jarryd Hayne has is rare. And it’s not only rare in Australia, it’s rare in America too”.

While Hayne’s decision may have shocked the NRL, the Parramatta superstar has been quietly plotting his switch since late 2012 — when he knocked back a four-year contract extension for two.

Telling then coach Ricky Stuart how by the end of 2014 “I won’t even be playing NRL anymore”.

It was around this time Hayne was also introduced to the Gators by running back Fred Khousis, a childhood mate from Westfields Sports High. The Eels star shocking everyone when he simply arrived at a training session unannounced.

“And initially, we didn’t want to let him suit up,’’ Steel recalls. “It was only a couple of weeks before he was due to play for Australia and, had he got injured ... well, you can imagine the headlines.

“But Jarryd, he threw on the shoulder pads, the helmet and ripped straight in. At first I’m not sure a lot of the guys knew exactly who they were up against.”

But they do now. Just ask the accountancy student who thought he saw space.