Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne to the NFL!

Will Jarryd Hayyne make it in the NFL?

spiderdan

i thought he was trying to trim down 10kg....

http://www.foxsports.com.au/us-spor...g-with-two-clubs/story-e6frf6ju-1227151651433

FORMER rugby league star Jarryd Hayne has moved a step closer to fulfilling his NFL dream by signing with a USA-based player agent, enhancing his chances of visiting clubs to secure a contract.

As The Daily Telegraph revealed online on Wednesday, Hayne met with powerhouse NFL franchises the Seattle Seahawks and the San Francisco 49ers this week for a personal tour of both clubs’ facilities.

Hard Count: NFL Week 143:10
The meetings with the defending Super Bowl champion Seahawks and the 49ers are a result of the former Eel officially locking in an agent after meeting with a number of candidates alongside manager Wayne Beavis.

It’s understood some of the NFL’s biggest clubs have inundated Hayne with approaches, including the Philadelphia Eagles on his first day in Los Angeles, but he has preferred to wait and confirm an agent.

49ERS AND SEAHAWKS ‘INTERESTED’ IN HAYNE

Jarryd Hayne has signed with a US agent, increasing his chances to securing an NFL contra
Jarryd Hayne has signed with a US agent, increasing his chances to securing an NFL contract.Source: News Corp Australia
The Test and Origin star has also been told that any visit to an NFL club would be extremely difficult without an agent, hence his patient approach.

Hayne’s former trainer and close friend Hayden Knowles helped him relocate and settle in the US and he has no doubts he’ll succeed. Knowles says Hayne has surrounded himself with the best trainers, players, coaches and agents in the NFL and is set to “shock the world”.

“Jarryd is living and breathing it and I don’t think he cares about anyone’s perception of what he has done,” said Knowles, who refused to give any specific detail out of respect to Hayne.

“He has been taking the time to prepare himself physically and with knowledge and that’s why he has taken his time to select the best agent for him.

“He has owned this little period of his life and he is doing all the right things.”

Hayne has taken his time meeting with clubs and finding the right representative.
Hayne has taken his time meeting with clubs and finding the right representative.Source: News Corp Australia
Hayne, who is working out of southern California, has already received a preliminary offer to train and trial with the Detroit Lions.

The two-time Dally M Medal winner has aspirations of becoming a running back and it’s understood both the Seahawks and 49ers are interested in honing these skills with basic return drills.

The 49ers have a good track record when it comes to developing talent, with the club currently trialling former discus British Olympian Lawrence Okoye as a defensive linesmen. Okoye spent the 2013 season as an injured reserve, before progressing through to the practice squad last season.

Despite this slight advancement, his future at the 49ers remains uncertain and the club may be reportedly interested in bringing in another long-term project. This is great news for Hayne, who according to sources has bulked up significantly in an attempt to secure a contract with an NFL club.

phantom eel

Best bit of that article is...
Unlike league, where repeat efforts were required, the running [back] position in the NFL is all about one burst of power before a substantial rest. This is why Hayne has been training his muscles to deliver this type of performance.
His muscles shouldn't need that much training - for the past five seasons Hayne has only been giving small bursts of power in between substantial rests - especially in the first half of games!

Best bit of that article is...
His muscles shouldn't need that much training - for the past five seasons Hayne has only been giving small bursts of power in between substantial rests - especially in the first half of games!

If you read the article and take it on face value he really has an uphill battle to make it. I reckon we will know by the beginning of the NRL season. For his sake I hope I'm wrong.

Selfishy I want the special one back. Still cannot believe that he won't be here come round 1.

Ron Jeremy

I wouldn't be going by an article to determine whether you think Hayne makes it haha

Hayne has a 1% chance of even making the practice squad on the nfl. All the times you rabs carrying on how big and strong a sbw or someone else is, we'll this is the nfl, we only want the best of the best, and leagues aren't up to the quality that nfl wants.

Hayne will not make IMO

Someone

I think hayne wont make it because the large density of competition he has, with America being so big and so many other younger fit athletes that would fit the prototype a club would want to take on. These younger players would also be less of a risk than Hayne.

That's why I think he will not make it.

This whole, 'NFL is a sport played by mythical gods who would shit on mere mortal rugby league players', is getting old. I've seen quite a few games and seen QB's throw absolute melons and wide receivers drop sitters, NFL players aren't perfect.

They are good at their trade, because like NRL, once you come through the grades it comes natural. It would be the same struggle if an NFL player wanted to try his luck in the NRL.

As for the whole 'he would have the learn the playbook and NFL players have been learning it for years' is another rubbish argument. Obviously when a player switches clubs he'd have to learn another set of plays under another coach. This is what training is for.

I agree he wont make it, but for god sakes stop putting on the sport on a pedestal.

I wouldn't be going by an article to determine whether you think Hayne makes it haha

Hayne has a 1% chance of even making the practice squad on the nfl. All the times you rabs carrying on how big and strong a sbw or someone else is, we'll this is the nfl, we only want the best of the best, and leagues aren't up to the quality that nfl wants.

Hayne will not make IMO

lol 'best of the best'. Jesse Williams was a kid who was too fat for rugby league so he played American football.

Americans are no better than us, there's just more of them. If Hayne is top 0.0000005% here then he is top 0.0000005% in the States. That makes him top 10 in Australia and around the top 100 in the States. Even allowing for the 'negro factor' in the US, Hayne is still freak enough for the NFL. If he fails it won't be because of his athleticism. It will be because he lacks the decades of instincts honed by playing, training and breathing the game.

Hayne will not make IMO

Hey RJ. In the NRL forum there is talk about the squad going from 90 to 53. Do you think he will make a 90 member practice squad? If so when does it come down to 53?

Ron Jeremy

lol 'best of the best'. Jesse Williams was a kid who was too fat for rugby league so he played American football.

Americans are no better than us, there's just more of them. If Hayne is top 0.0000005% here then he is top 0.0000005% in the States. That makes him top 10 in Australia and around the top 100 in the States. Even allowing for the 'negro factor' in the US, Hayne is still freak enough for the NFL. If he fails it won't be because of his athleticism. It will be because he lacks the decades of instincts honed by playing, training and breathing the game.

Jessie Williams was 16 years of age you dumb fat f**k when he was sighted

Ron Jeremy

Hey RJ. In the NRL forum there is talk about the squad going from 90 to 53. Do you think he will make a 90 member practice squad? If so when does it come down to 53?

Not even 90 mate, every year there are recruits from all over the world invited, and less then 1% actually make the practice squad.

He will be back by June next year

Ron Jeremy

Nfl is bigger and better then the nrl, it really is as simple as that.

League is a pissant, and hopefully one day the bogan game will be modified accordingly

spiderdan

that's not true at all. athletically, hayne is a freak here because he does what he does against significantly sub standard athletes. for the positions he wants to play he doesn't have the athletic ability to match the best of the best. using reasoning of population sizes to compare isn't valid and doesn't hold water. to use say the 100m as an example (primarily because speed is a big requirement of the positions hayne wants to play), one australian has broken the 10 sec barrier (and he did it once without ever coming close again). by your reasoning then only 10 americans should have gone under 10 sec at this point in time, which isn't even close to accurate.

measure hayne's raw athletic ability with just numbers and compare his numbers to the nil and ncaa players in the positions he wants to play in. he won't even come close to the top 100. add to that he is competing with players who know gridiron (which i agree with you on that point) and he has a very low chance of making it. similar to their athletes coming here trying to play nrl or afl. athletically they would be superior but they don't have the years of playing to get the edge and make it. afl die hards want to believe afl guys have amazing leaping ability and would make it in the nba but again, raw numbers on all but nic natinui say they don't really jump that high.

the population rationale is the same one used to justify mediocre olympic performance too.

anyway, i guess we will find out in the next 4-6 months about hayne. i need to go a away for a while. i'll see y'all in some other lifetime.

Delboy

Dreams select an overall squad of 90 after the April college draft. There are a set of practices that take ,place, and the squads are trimmed first to 75 after the third pre season game, then down to a final 53 a week before the season starts (Sept). They can keep 10 players on the practice squad through the season, they chop and change that squad due to injuries so they have players used to the systems , their massive play books.

Players get released through the pre season and are picked up by othe clubs etc etc etc till they settle on th final 53

Nfl is bigger and better then the nrl, it really is as simple as that.

And soccer is bigger and better than the NFL. Does that mean every merkin playing soccer is miles better than anyone in rugby league?

League is a pissant, and hopefully one day the bogan game will be modified accordingly

I don't think league will ever be bigger than it is now. It doesn't bother me. I'm an Eels fan, not an NRL fan. When I watch international games I go for whoever is playing against Australia.

I used to watch the NFL too but I got bored with it. Don't let it hurt your feelings. I've got no emotional connection with any NFL team, just like I don't follow the EPL/La Liga/Serie A/Bundesliga because I don't care about any of the teams.

Just because a game has more money and fans doesn't mean it's better. It just means it's in a bigger market.

There's more money in f**ken golf than there is in American footy you twat. And more money in soccer than any of them.

And soccer is bigger and better than the NFL. Does that mean every merkin playing soccer is miles better than anyone in rugby league?

I don't think league will ever be bigger than it is now. It doesn't bother me. I'm an Eels fan, not an NRL fan. When I watch international games I go for whoever is playing against Australia.

I used to watch the NFL too but I got bored with it. Don't let it hurt your feelings. I've got no emotional connection with any NFL team, just like I don't follow the EPL/La Liga/Serie A/Bundesliga because I don't care about any of the teams.

Just because a game has more money and fans doesn't mean it's better. It just means it's in a bigger market.

There's more money in f**ken golf than there is in American footy you twat. And more money in soccer than any of them.

It's not a contest.
Different people like different sports, and accordingly will suggest that their sport is better.
I love the Eels and Wanderers. (NRL and A-League in general)
I also like cricket and occasionally Rugby.
I hate AFL and NFL and the NBL. I also think the EPL is ok, yet I rarely watch European Football Leagues.
I f**king hate horse racing, yet I think that international darts thingy is great on the odd occasion. The V8's are also ok, and Bathurst is great, yet I have no interest in cars.
Go ahead. Tear me apart too.