Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne

chrisD

He should be looking to run over that guy and keep going, pump out every extra yard he can, physically I think he's been giving tacklers too much respect(until that guy).

18to87

He should be looking to run over that guy and keep going, pump out every extra yard he can, physically I think he's been giving tacklers too much respect(until that guy).

There was one run today where he was tackled a yard short of the first down marker but most starting backs in the NFL would have made it. I imagine he will get chewed out in film.

chrisD

He wasn't going anywhere...there were 3 other guys around him. He wasn't making any more yards.

Can't remember if the clock was an issue and he was looking for the sideline but I reckon there was a good yard or two before those 2 had him, and besides f**k them, he should make them bring him down.

Pete Cash

The niners cuts so far this morning show that they might have a positive mindset towards hayne. Very veteran heavy so far (only four but its a pattern)

Clear rebuilding period for the niners won't hurt him..

Darnell dockett is going to cost a fortune in dead money..

kurt faulk

49ers' Hayne has NFL rethinking global recruitment systems
September 4, 2015, 3:45 pm
Email

“
[Hayne] found his own way here. All credit to him. But we should probably be thinking about how we can make that easier.
”
— NFL executive vice president of international Mark Waller

San Francisco 49ers running back Jarryd Hayne, an Australian import, broke onto the NFL scene to a degree where he has the league changing its thinking on recruitment systems.

The Australian media visited the NFL's headquarters in New York City to have some questions answered regarding Hayne's transition from the Australian Rugby National League.

NFL executive vice president of international Mark Waller fielded questions about Hayne's impact and what it could mean for the league's relationship with Australia, and even worldwide.

"It's definitely stimulated a lot of thought here about what can we do better to create a system for great talented athletes to find their way to the NFL more easily," Waller told the Sydney Morning Herald.

In the open forum, the league claimed the Australian sporting landscape has never been a priority but Hayne's natural take to the game, as shown by his preseason performance with the San Francisco 49ers, has them rethinking their strategy around player recruitment.

"Essentially, Jarryd basically took that decision himself and found his own way here. All credit to him. But we should probably be thinking about how we can make that easier. Not everyone is going to be as brave as he's been or potentially not as immediately talented. That's one aspect of thinking."

Hayne finished as the NFL’s second-leading rusher during the exhibition season with 175 yards on 25 attempts. Detroit’s Zach Zenner gained 183 yards on 10 more attempts. Hayne had a game-high 58 yards 10 attempts on Friday against the Chargers, and said he is feeling more natural in American football after his career in rugby league.

“Our coaches are always about lowering our shoulders, you know, getting ready for contact,” Hayne said. “So it was just a situation that, like I said, all that training, all the hours on the field, to finally see it come together.”

Eddie Lab

I can't see anyway he doesn't A) make it onto the 49ers 53 man roster or B) clears the waivers and doesn't make it onto another teams roster.

he has done way better then I thought he would. all the best to him even though he plays for the 49ers.

I Bleed Maroon

Hayne%20BOOM_zpsniafnxjx.gif

Welcome to Rugby League, America.

Pete Cash

Yeah it was a z grade cb who will be selling cars in a month lol.

Strong rumours that Hunter has been cut. Nothing formal yet but the twitter is talking about it.

nöyd

Yeah it was a z grade cb who will be selling cars in a month lol.

f**king hell

sick and f**king tired of reading "oh but it was only a 3rd or 4th stringer" - "he's only been up against scrubs" etc etc.

he has made it look like anyone of us, beer gut and all, could go over on the next flight and f**king ace it.

nick87

It's not to deminish his accomplishments, but like it or not, those are the facts. He's been exceptional and exceeded all expectations so far. But it has all been against guys who arent really legit NFL players

He's earnt his roster spot and he'll get it. That's step 1, and a step most including myself never thought he'd achieve. His next step is to continue to make those plays against in real games against legit NFL players.

He's already proven me wrong once and im a quick learner, so consider me one of those who thinks he can and will do just that as a returner, but it is going to be a more difficult task when proper S/Ts units are coming down on him.

nöyd

It's not to deminish his accomplishments, but like it or not, those are the facts. He's been exceptional and exceeded all expectations so far. But it has all been against guys who arent really legit NFL players

He's earnt his roster spot and he'll get it. That's step 1, and a step most including myself never thought he'd achieve. His next step is to continue to make those plays against in real games against legit NFL players.

He's already proven me wrong once and im a quick learner, so consider me one of those who thinks he can and will do just that as a returner, but it is going to be a more difficult task when proper S/Ts units are coming down on him.

fair play

Parra

He has smashed it.

Any suggestion to the contrary is sour grapes. Whatever the reason.

nick87

The good news for me is that my wife gave birth to my baby girl on Thursday, and ive got 5 weeks off, so ill be spending a lot of time nursing my little girl watching NFL, the Niners games will be high on my priorities list :D

Bring on the season, i say!
9 days away from our first monday!

I say it every year but f**k it's great how well the NRL-NFL seasons sync up... my Raiders finish up tomorrow and my Eagles start up the following week. Perfect

skeepe

The good news for me is that my wife gave birth to my baby girl on Thursday, and ive got 5 weeks off, so ill be spending a lot of time nursing my little girl watching NFL, the Niners games will be high on my priorities list :D

Bring on the season, i say!
9 days away from our first monday!

I say it every year but f**k it's great how well the NRL-NFL seasons sync up... my Raiders finish up tomorrow and my Eagles start up the following week. Perfect

Congrats mate, girls are great. I've actually got a boy due in 4 weeks, forgot that one of the perks of my 6 weeks off will be watching my other Raiders go round.

Pete Cash

f**king hell

sick and f**king tired of reading "oh but it was only a 3rd or 4th stringer" - "he's only been up against scrubs" etc etc.

he has made it look like anyone of us, beer gut and all, could go over on the next flight and f**king ace it.

I've been very impressed by Hayne but let's be realistic about the talent of the CB he smashed. He is going to be heavier than a CB in general. The niners third string qb knocked down Rose iirc.

Basically Hayne has shown he is a cut above the third stringers and most of the backups. Let's save the applause for when he (hopefully) levels Sherman

nöyd

I've been very impressed by Hayne but let's be realistic about the talent of the CB he smashed. He is going to be heavier than a CB in general. The niners third string qb knocked down Rose iirc.

Basically Hayne has shown he is a cut above the third stringers and most of the backups. Let's save the applause for when he (hopefully) levels Sherman

all good bro, i've had a few Chardonnays this arvo lol

just super happy for the guy, and it's my NRL team he walked out on :cool: