Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne's payment trail leads to former Parramatta Eels boss Roy Spagnolo's Abdu

parra pete

He was booted because the club was going nowhere.
Support your mates Pete. That's fine. But open you eyes a little more.
You may be right, but the reason people voted Denis out, was because we were going down the same path as Wests.
How have they gone?

No success on the field or off it since Fitzy was punted...
The Club has gone down hill and is continuing to spiral downwards without his guidance.

Kornstar

The Club has gone down hill and is continuing to spiral downwards without his guidance.

We did make a GF after he was punted it you are right, we have been on a downward spiral since.

Casper The Ghost

We have consciousness, free will and a conscience to regenerate and blossom just as we did during the 70's without DF.

Don't underestimate MANS free will and our ability to dream magnificent dreams Pete.

I feel our club is in good hands now and we are again experiencing the blossoming of a magnificent dream.

It's best that DF supports our club, current board and all.

In all of this it's the club that will get punished and the players and fans. But the perpetrators won't get punished. So here's a tip let's run for the board of another club, screw it up and then walk away, tip off so media types and sit back and watch it unfold with a bowl of popcorn.

If there is evidence that people formerly on the Board of the club were involved with actions contrary to the rules that end up costing the club big-time, those individuals can be sued (probably unlikely though), and there would be a potential case for a breach of directors duties.
If there is evidence of clear deception, a fraud charge is not beyond possibility. But ultimately it's a matter of exactly what happened (which we don't know) and how much of that you can prove.

where is the infamous Mr Waldron these days? .... was anything ever pursued against him? I never heard so ... interesting those who owned the storm never bothered with anything :-k

Maybe we should get Brad Arthur and the players to walk in a straight line towards a camera looking serious like the Storm did? :sarcasm:

Side question - Don't we have potential lose of 4 competition points for next year still pending based on getting the salary cap in order. These TPA revelations cant be helping

Maybe we should get Brad Arthur and the players to walk in a straight line towards a camera looking serious like the Storm did? :sarcasm:

Side question - Don't we have potential lose of 4 competition points for next year still pending based on getting the salary cap in order. These TPA revelations cant be helping

2016 Competition table.

Parramatta:

Played: 0
Wins: 0
Draws: 0
Losses: 0

The whole click bait is nothing more then sooking, the club has been bagged in the media for the right reasons lately. If they don't wanna be hammered do things right!!!!!

Please enlighten us on what they did wrong here

Secondly Kate MyClmont is one of if not the best and most respected investigative journo's in the business she doesn't just make things up. Finding this about Parramatta would've been the last thing on her mind as it was for the Bulldogs.

yeh right, this is the media, they make a living by speculating and bashing the Eels

If she investigated something that happened 5 years ago to some other club, no one would give it a second thought, especially as no rules were broken here

Noise

Please enlighten us on what they did wrong here

yeh right, this is the media, they make a living by speculating and bashing the Eels

If she investigated something that happened 5 years ago to some other club, no one would give it a second thought, especially as no rules were broken here

Didn't the club help organise a made up third party sponsor with fake address and phone number?

As NRL investigates Eels salary cap payments, will action finally be taken to stop the cheats?

By Paul Kent

ONE of the criticisms of this current NRL administration is the league is run too much like BHP these days instead of a sporting organisation.

Make the bottom line the priority and to hell with the rest.

The joint is full of former businessmen or political staffers who don’t know a football from a watermelon but can spot a decimal point from 1000m. Don’t raid the petty cash tin with these guys around.

So this latest Parramatta imbroglio is a big test for the NRL. This, according to the form guide, is their area.

What are they going to do about claims of irregularities around Parramatta’s third party agreements, which look suspiciously like what we all believe they look like?

It’s alleged players have been receiving third party payments that have not been lodged with the NRL, as required.

Will they stand up as legitimate third party deals when the forensic blowtorch is applied?

Sadly, there is a long way to go before Parramatta’s administration is guilty of anything, and the sanctity of the salary cap is polished.

“If these allegations are confirmed then the NRL will take appropriate action to ensure the integrity of the competition,” the NRL’s Head of Integrity, Nick Weeks, said on Friday as he announced an investigation into the claims.

Weeks might as well be fishing for piranha in the Amazon with a teaspoon.

He is ill-equipped by archaic powers and a strong code of honour among thieves to undertake the kind of investigation necessary.

The rules actually hamper the League, not help them, which might explain why every serious salary cap breach continues to be broken by good journalism rather than any proactive NRL investigations.

All those other small fines and wrists slaps, they’re just accounting.

Third party cheating is the running joke of the NRL. It truly is an embarrassment.

The Broncos got busted last year when a whistleblower revealed missing money from the Broncos Leagues Club alleged to have gone in the direction of several Broncos players.

The NRL investigated but could not come up with a kill.

The Broncos were cleared because the NRL could not gather enough evidence for a conviction.

And mostly because the NRL could not compel former Broncos football manager Andrew Gee to give evidence after Gee resigned and the missing money was repaid and declared a loan.

What the NRL did then — which was nothing — was possibly worse.

Despite Gee’s lack of co-operation he was allowed to turn up at the Broncos’ season launch, an official function, and remains free to attend any NRL game he sees fit.

He should not be allowed near the game until he fully co-operates, or what incentive is there to help?

These latest allegations will test whether the NRL is serious about salary cap cheating or not.

After the Broncos foul-up, we will know conclusively whether the game has the capacity to deal with it or the willingness to change it.

We all know it is going on. I can tell you a dozen different ways clubs are cheating. From diverted leagues club contracts to the old brown paper bag, still the safest way around, it all goes on.

If the NRL does not have the capacity to handle the financial, political side of the game, then what exactly are they doing there?

Fans don’t care about a lot of this stuff, as vital as it is to the game’s wellbeing. The fans care about the game.

They could not care whether there is $50 million in the bank or 50 cents, but they care if the video replays take too long and wrestle is cruelling the spectacle.

They want to be proud of their game, and they want to believe it is the best game in the country.

Part of that is fairness brought about by the salary cap. If the NRL can’t get that right though, what are they doing there?
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...-stop-the-cheats/story-fnp0lyn3-1227455910110

Didn't the club help organise a made up third party sponsor with fake address and phone number?

Third party payments dont have to be declared. There is something smelly here but nothing illegal that I can see but I'm no expert.

Parramatta prop Darcy Lussick has described Eddie Obeid jnr as a "regular friend" and said he has nothing to hide over muddied third-party deals at the Eels.
Fairfax Media revealed last August that Lussick had purchased a discounted unit in Top Ryde via Obeid jnr's family company. Lussick acquired the apartment from Gerard Obeid's company Pope Property Holdings in June 2013 for $600,000 which had been acquired by the Obeids a year earlier for $630,462.
Obeid jnr is also alleged to have organised payments to Parramatta players Will Hopoate and Chris Sandow in deals not registered with the NRL.
Lussick said he was "not too sure" which of his teammates also know Obeid jnr. "The only thing I have to say about Eddie is that he is a family friend of myself, my brother and my dad," Lussick said. "I've got a lot of time for him. He is just like a regular mate. He is a family man. He is a businessman. There is nothing more to say about that. If you want to do something ask the boss of someone who is probably the best in their field. He is a regular bloke. We talk about footy and life."
Lussick joined the Eels from Manly on a three-year deal from 2013. He said third-party payments were not a big part in his switch of clubs and added he did not find the NRL's third-party deals complex. "I can't speak for anyone else," Lussick said. "Everyone is aware of third-party payments. Not everyone has third party payments but some people do. You don't know what the next person's third party [deal] is. That's worked out between the club and the NRL. I've never had any bad experiences with a third party. Everyone is different. Everyone's contracts are different."
The NRL has investigated Lussick's dealings in recent times and did not taken any action. However, that does not mean any investigation is closed. Lussick said he was "100 per cent" comfortable for the NRL to examine his contract.
"There is nothing to hide," Lussick said.
Lussick's teammate Hopoate was alleged to have received an extra $50,000 to $100,000 a year in deals not registered with the NRL. Fairfax Media reported in June that Hopoate was owed six-figures from failed third-party arrangements with the club.
Hopoate said he had left it up to his manager Tyran Smith to sort through the drama. "The club and my manager are working closely with all contract issues off the field," Hopoate said. "My job is to focus on what I can bring on the field."
While Lussick is expected to join Manly next season, Hopoate is no closer to knowing where he will play despite signing a contract extension with the Eels.
"As a player you have to be aware of everything that's involved with your contract," Hopoate said. "It's your job and what you do to support your family. Every player knows when they sign on the bottom line what they have to bring to the table.
"I'm not upset with the staff or any of the boys. I'm happy to be part of the club. Whatever happens in the future, I'll make the best decision for me and my family."

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ap-scandal-20150724-gik087.html#ixzz3gquP5ngu

Third party payments dont have to be declared. There is something smelly here but nothing illegal that I can see but I'm no expert.

they have to be

What about money paid from other people or companies?

If a player is receiving money from any person as a way of inducing him to play for the club, then that money will be included in the Salary Cap.

Income that a player earns from parties not related to his club is generally not included in the Salary Cap, however, the details of the agreement must be advised to the club by the player.

The club must then get approval for the agreement from the Salary Cap Auditor in order for the remuneration to be excluded.

http://www.nrl.com/nrlhq/referencecentre/salarycap/tabid/10434/default.aspx

These things raised alarm bells, and it would appear that those of us who were questioning the actions during this time might start to feel a little justified in our suspicions.

I remember us having a couple of conversations about how slimy the new lot appeared to be from the very beginning, Mark, and how we were worried that the members had been hoodwinked, ala Kevin Rudd and his snake-oil salesman technique, soon after Spagnolo came into power.

Some of us could smell a rat from day one. It's a pity that there are actually still people who want Spags back, despite everything that is coming to light.

Kornstar

Lussick just outed his brother, wonder if the NRL will keep an eye on Joey now that he's a Rooster?

Doubtful. I know it's tin foil hat like but there is most definitely one rule for some clubs and completely different for others depending on how powerful certain people are at the club.

For the people much smarter than me, the NFL has a salary cap but I never hear about cheating. Does anyone know what they do different?

Why can't the NRL have in their standard contract that if you play in the NRL they are able to investigate all earnings through the ATO?

And my thoughts on this are that if true, what a complete embarrassment that we cheat the cap and get the spoon......who would give Sandow an extra 200k to play for us? Shows how dumb and desperate the previous admin was!

IFR33K

The NRL has had nothing but trouble since TPAs have been introduced.

They should just ditch them and increase the salary cap to make it a level playing field otherwise the rich clubs have a considerable advantage.

This.

NRL needs to scrap third party Sponsors and make it a level playing field. Otherwise Souths, dogs, Brisbane,Melb roosters will dominate for years to come.