Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne's payment trail leads to former Parramatta Eels boss Roy Spagnolo's Abdu

http://www.news.com.au/national/ben...ill-change-lives/story-e6frfkp9-1227456843383

NRL NO MESSIAH FOR PARRA

AN increasing belief that the NRL should step in to manage the running of the Parramatta Eels is a concern given the current plight of the three clubs the NRL has taken over in the past 12 months.

Wests Tigers are last on the ladder, Gold Coast Titans are second-last, and were unable to seal

the deal with marquee player Daly Cherry-Evans, and the Newcastle Knights are in danger of parting ways with their coach Rick Stone with one year left on his contract.

Thanks, like I said, someone much smarter than me :)

Our PA are f**king garbage anyways!

The proposed internal draft (combined with a salary cap) was by far the best complete system I've seen considered for the NRL, but it seems very unlikely that it will get the agreement of enough of the relevant parties.

There is the privacy act and they have to work within it so if they were to get control then they would have to tighten their ship in that regard. I sign privacy shit for my job and I manage to to spill the beans to everyone what people earn.

I personally don't care if people know what i earn. I've never cared, I don't quite know why people are so protective of their salary. Of course in my line of work I respect people's privacy but my opinion is that I don't get it.

Yeh, I'm not sure I'd rely too heavily on the Privacy Act to discipline leaks from the NRL. I, personally wouldn't really care if people knew my taxable income either (or its components....it'd be pretty boring, but I get why people in some occupations would. Player's potentially receive income from all sorts of sources that have nothing to do with their role as an NRL player. They may, for example, draw income from unincorporated business entities that value confidentiality. They may not want to be pestered by marketers who say 'Oh, you've invested in X before'. They may inherit a motza from their deceased war criminal uncle.

great work from the plumber there, he really is getting on with business

Are we that childish that we have to keep resorting to calling Sharp, the plumber? It's really getting a little boring. This joint is seriously getting worse by the day.

Bigfella

It's another very unimpressive set of platitudes and cheap spin.

The NRL can go in any time they want anyway and are probably about to in any case.

I still think the bloke is completely out of his depth.

The NRL can go in any time they want anyway and are probably about to in any case.

Maybe so but why should we go personal with him? Call him by his name not the plumber. Not accusing you but plenty do and it's childish, boring and unnecesary.

I agree.

I reckon he's doing a good job cleaning up a massive mess.

Kornstar

I have no doubt they are trying to be more transparent and i am sure they are probably trying their hardest and slowly moving us in the right direction but i do agree with you, i believe he is out of his depth.

Bigfella

I think it's pretty tongue in cheek but yes the fact that he used to be a plumber or run a plumbing business has nothing to do with his ability as our board member or chairman.

But if the interview above was meant as a PR gesture to fans, or a reassurance about the reasons for his strange insistence on PWC conducting the audit in the face of the NRL direction otherwise - then it's a massive fail.

It just sounds like they have something to hide and are prepared to risk the four points for it.

A complete lack of reasoning.

Every public statement ends up pointing the finger at someone no longer at the club followed by some rambling platitudes about steps being taken with no explanation or evidence of what those are.

Presumably good governance and stuff.

What is the point of the NRL coming to a board meeting? Have they bought some new notepads and clipboards they want to show off?

T.S Quint

I think it's pretty tongue in cheek but yes the fact that he used to be a plumber or run a plumbing business has nothing to do with his ability as our board member or chairman.

But if the interview above was meant as a PR gesture to fans, or a reassurance about the reasons for his strange insistence on PWC conducting the audit in the face of the NRL direction otherwise - then it's a massive fail.

It just sounds like they have something to hide and are prepared to risk the four points for it.

A complete lack of reasoning.

Every public statement ends up pointing the finger at someone no longer at the club followed by some rambling platitudes about steps being taken with no explanation or evidence of what those are.

Presumably good governance and stuff.

What is the point of the NRL coming to a board meeting? Have they bought some new notepads and clipboards they want to show off?

Well considering the NRL wants to investigate how Parramatta is run and may want to install directors onto the board, don't you think it would be wise of them to see how the Eels are actually doing it?

T.S Quint

I remember not so long ago everyone thought the titans were a model club .... Searle was considered the best CEO in league, they made a fancy training facility, etc etc etc ... then it turned out it was all a pile of poo

NRL set to ask Parramatta Eels to hand over records for salary cap investigation

NRL will this week start investigations into the latest salary cap allegations against Parramatta, with salary cap auditors set to ask Eels officials to hand over any records relating to murky third-party agreements with players.
Of particular interest is $52,000 paid to Jarryd Hayne in two instalments and it is anticipated the Eels will be advised that those payments should be included in the salary cap, despite the superstar fullback having been released at the end of last season to pursue a career in NFL.
NRL head of integrity Nick Weeks announced on Friday that an investigation would be launched into Parramatta's salary cap after Fairfax Media revealed the payments to Hayne and the involvement of Eddie Obeid Jnr, the son of disgraced former Labor powerbroker Eddie Obeid, in providing financial assistance, discounted property deals and extra payments to players.

Parramatta chairman Steve Sharp has blamed the problems on the previous administration under the control of Roy Spagnolo and promised to open the club's books to the NRL.
However, Sharp and senior officials are in North Queensland for Monday night's match against the Cowboys at 1300Smiles Stadium.
Eels coach Brad Arthur was quizzed by media in Townsville on Sunday about the impact of the investigation, which follows other significant salary cap breaches that earlier this year cost the club $465,000 in fines from the NRL and a warning that they would start next season on minus four competition points if the clubs did not undertake an independent governance review and implement the recommendations by February.
"We do a reasonable job of trying to shield them from any of the outside influences and the players are only focused on what they can control, which is the attitude they take on the field," Arthur said. "We have had plenty of distractions all year but we have managed to put them aside and there is only one thing that is on the players' mind and that is how they perform."
Asked if the NRL should take over the running of Parramatta, Arthur said: "That is for the club to worry about, we are here for a job and that is to perform tomorrow night."
He also dismissed questions about the possibility of the Eels starting next season on minus competitions points, saying: "That's next year, we are concerned about tomorrow night, that is our only focus at the moment and that is all we can control".

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...estigation-20150726-giksoh.html#ixzz3gyr9fszC

hybrideel

How can paying a person who is not a registered NRL player need to be included in the salary cap. The club should be able to pay Hayne as much as they like this year with none of it being included. They could call him a coaching consultant or whatever they like

Noise

How can paying a person who is not a registered NRL player need to be included in the salary cap. The club should be able to pay Hayne as much as they like this year with none of it being included. They could call him a coaching consultant or whatever they like

Apparently we are still paying him (possibly as a top 25 player) and he is registered in the off chance he came back this year. Ridiculous.

Really? So in the last year of a star player's career, you could pay him minimum wage, and then give him $500k the following year for whatever made-up job you like? Or, in fact, just promise to pay $1m in to any player's super account after their retirement?

The point is that the payment potentially relates to amounts promised to Hayne in return for him playing for us.

There are heaps of cases where money paid to non-NRL players is counted under the cap (e.g. money paid to players who bugger off to the UK).

hybrideel

Really? So in the last year of a star player's career, you could pay him minimum wage, and then give him $500k the following year for whatever made-up job you like? Or, in fact, just promise to pay $1m in to any player's super account after their retirement?

Clubs have been doing that for years. I reckon every single player that has a job after footy in the club gets a lower amount in the last contract due to this.

The point is that the payment potentially relates to amounts promised to Hayne in return for him playing for us.

If Hayne is still on the books for this year just in case then i guess any payment to him has to be included

There are heaps of cases where money paid to non-NRL players is counted under the cap (e.g. money paid to players who bugger off to the UK).

Fair enough if the club has tried to piss off a contracted player and they go O/S to play in the same sport then there is reason to include any payout figure

NRL set to ask Parramatta Eels

What does this actually mean ?

Its a common phrase used by the media which means nothing really.

Sharpie said in a MR yesterday the Eels are prepared to open their books and invite the NRL in to look at them.

Just another piece of clickbait which tells us nothing.