Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jason Ryles - Head coach of Parramatta from 2025

A few did here
“The Eels exceeded expectations last year to finish in the top four and will be a better team with Mitchell Moses and Corey Norman having an off-season to work together, while Jarryd Hayne is still capable of some magic moments that win games.”

Increased expectations due to exceeding expectations. These people are media heads not analysts. Nobody foresaw the influence of Jarryd Hayne, or Corey Norman’s deadshit alter ego to appear. There was an obvious leadership failure, but getting rid of these idiots was the right solution. By 2019 we were back on track.

Only one of the same experts picked us to make the top eight in 2019. Does that mean Arthur deserves credit for exceeding expectations?

So did Trent Robinson.
The Eels had a shit year that season. They were top 4 the next though. And in the Finals the next 4 years straight.

As I said…average.
When did Wobbo win a spoon?? Must of missed that season. And was that the year that Pearce f**ked a dog and they let go some players so they could build for the next 2 or 3 seasons?? Which they won 2
Titles. I think Wobbo is a little overrated but even mentioning Bea is the same sentence as him is laughable.

King-Gutho94

Got them to concede 44 to an even crapper squad to choke out of the finals?
Pissed off their best player?
We did the same thing in 2014.

Won 12 games beat 1-2 top sides.

But also got smashed by 50+ and a few beatings.

Before choking in the last 2 rounds to bottom 4 sides conceding 42 points to Newy and belted by a bottom 2 raiders side.

OK mate.
I'll take that as a yes to your support of the hatred he gets on here.
I have a mate whose son is about to get a contract with another club. Before the interview even started, they said to him that they knew what happened with Brad Arthur back at Parra (they were talking about the nepotism with our juniors).

Everyone f**king knows that he was a disaster and no continued diversion from the usual suspects here can convince me otherwise.

King-Gutho94

When did Wobbo win a spoon?? Must of missed that season. And was that the year that Pearce f**ked a dog and they let go some players so they could build for the next 2 or 3 seasons?? Which they won 2
Titles. I think Wobbo is a little overrated but even mentioning Bea is the same sentence as him is laughable.
2016 we finished above the chooks despite losing 12 points quite a miracle actually.

But the Roosters decided very early on they were better off just writing the year off due to circumstances and completely focused on building a tilt for 3-4 years after.

I heard someone tell this story on radio i think after round 4 when the Roosters were zip and 4.

Robbo went to Uncle Nick and said we have two options.

Bust our gut to try and make the finals but with a few ageing players and some shit depth signed up its going to be an uphill battle. JWH was coming off an ACL as well and was missing the first 10 weeks with Pearce.

Or just play the kids like Manu & clean out the shit like Hastings, Copley go and recruit the likes of Keary and wear the pain for the 12 months so the rebuild will be quicker.

Apprantley Uncle Nick said yeah just go and do what you have to do ill wear this year but make sure were back in the top 4 next year.

JokerEel

I think he needs to be given until the end of 2026, as that is when he will have turned over the roster with the players he wants.

At this present time we don't have 17 NRL standard players, so the house of cards that occurred this season will happen again without adequate recruits. It's illogical to expect the same 17 players to play every week for the entire season.

What! Apparently no club has 17 NRL standard players...

I agree though we need to give JR till end of 26 I think we will see a big change Just in 2025.

I still find it weird Brown was at th club but left and now is back....

Joshuatheeel

I have a mate whose son is about to get a contract with another club. Before the interview even started, they said to him that they knew what happened with Brad Arthur back at Parra (they were talking about the nepotism with our juniors).

Everyone f**king knows that he was a disaster and no continued diversion from the usual suspects here can convince me otherwise.
I call bullshit on the nepotism in the junior reps. Juniors were pretty good under BA....

Matt's doesn't really count, SG ball is where you see who the future NRL players may be.

We won 2 SG ball finals (2017 and 2023) while BA was here, 2 in 6 years. Our last before that was 2007, then 1999.

On the nepotism, MA was in the 2023 side....which won. So a fair indication of his ability.

While apart from these 2 sides, the next best Ball side during this 6 year period was 2019, which included JA. They finished 4th and narrowly missed out on the final going down 26 to 22 in the GF qualifier to the winners that year the Steelers.

Both sons are spine players which are almost impossible to carry. However happy to be corrected if there were other better players that missed out because of these 2.

Can anyone actually name a player that missed out?

Overall we made SG ball finals 8 times, between 2014 and 20014, during the BA period.

Yeah pathways aren't perfect, but far from BA was a f**ken disaster, he destroyed the club, he left the eels in ruins...etc etc etc etc

Gee some crap gets written....

And the nepotism Nrown spoke about was kids being coached by a parent in comp footy not selection in junior reps.....

I call bullshit on the nepotism in the junior reps. Juniors were pretty good under BA....

Matt's doesn't really count, SG ball is where you see who the future NRL players may be.

We won 2 SG ball finals (2017 and 2023) while BA was here, 2 in 6 years. Our last before that was 2007, then 1999.

On the nepotism, MA was in the 2023 side....which won. So a fair indication of his ability.

While apart from these 2 sides, the next best Ball side during this 6 year period was 2019, which included JA. They finished 4th and narrowly missed out on the final going down 26 to 22 in the GF qualifier to the winners that year the Steelers.

Both sons are spine players which are almost impossible to carry. However happy to be corrected if there were other better players that missed out because of these 2.

Can anyone actually name a player that missed out?

Overall we made SG ball finals 8 times, between 2014 and 20014, during the BA period.

Yeah pathways aren't perfect, but far from BA was a f**ken disaster, he destroyed the club, he left the eels in ruins...etc etc etc etc

Gee some crap gets written....

And the nepotism Nrown spoke about was kids being coached by a parent in comp footy not selection in junior reps.....
Well it's not bullshit. It was well known amongst the juniors. Someone coming back to the club who has forgotten more about footy than the rest of us combined knows but is being a gentleman about it.