Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jason Ryles - Head coach of Parramatta from 2025

And if it was up to you he’d still be here. That’s why there are leaders who make the tough calls and there are sheep that get told what to do.

🐑

Baaaa
Well just like you I don’t know which options are available to replace them. Luckily the club does, and they got the second best option on the market.

Bennett’s won nothing in 14 years. How many should Ryles get?

I have a mate whose son is about to get a contract with another club. Before the interview even started, they said to him that they knew what happened with Brad Arthur back at Parra (they were talking about the nepotism with our juniors).

Everyone f**king knows that he was a disaster and no continued diversion from the usual suspects here can convince me otherwise.
We won SG Ball last year. Were they all from Rouse Hill?

Well it's not bullshit. It was well known amongst the juniors. Someone coming back to the club who has forgotten more about footy than the rest of us combined knows but is being a gentleman about it.
Why did Nathan Brown have to do a review if things were so rosy???

And why did he have to leave for family reasons but is back barely 12 months later??

We all know the answer bar a few of the Huggers who won’t let go. Literally.

2016 we finished above the chooks despite losing 12 points quite a miracle actually.

But the Roosters decided very early on they were better off just writing the year off due to circumstances and completely focused on building a tilt for 3-4 years after.

I heard someone tell this story on radio i think after round 4 when the Roosters were zip and 4.

Robbo went to Uncle Nick and said we have two options.

Bust our gut to try and make the finals but with a few ageing players and some shit depth signed up its going to be an uphill battle. JWH was coming off an ACL as well and was missing the first 10 weeks with Pearce.

Or just play the kids like Manu & clean out the shit like Hastings, Copley go and recruit the likes of Keary and wear the pain for the 12 months so the rebuild will be quicker.

Apprantley Uncle Nick said yeah just go and do what you have to do ill wear this year but make sure were back in the top 4 next year.
Goes to show how winning six games shouldn’t stop anyone from winning the comp two years later. We need to sign this Uncle Nick bloke.

The Predictor

We f**ked up the whole Bennett thing imo. I said as much at the time.

If we weren’t such a basket case we would have done a better job at targeting him at the right time. It would have been hard to prise him away from Souths, but not impossible if we got in earlier.

Instead we were left with a bunch of sub-optimal options which speaks volumes. It felt like we didn’t have a plan after we sacked the coach.

Of the other coaches available I think Madge or Griffen would have been fine. We need someone to come in and rebuild. I don’t think that’s a job for a rookie coach. I also liked Cheika because of his experience in other codes but understand that people might see that as risky.
Pou Pou agrees u must be right …..

The Predictor

I call bullshit on the nepotism in the junior reps. Juniors were pretty good under BA....

Matt's doesn't really count, SG ball is where you see who the future NRL players may be.

We won 2 SG ball finals (2017 and 2023) while BA was here, 2 in 6 years. Our last before that was 2007, then 1999.

On the nepotism, MA was in the 2023 side....which won. So a fair indication of his ability.

While apart from these 2 sides, the next best Ball side during this 6 year period was 2019, which included JA. They finished 4th and narrowly missed out on the final going down 26 to 22 in the GF qualifier to the winners that year the Steelers.

Both sons are spine players which are almost impossible to carry. However happy to be corrected if there were other better players that missed out because of these 2.

Can anyone actually name a player that missed out?

Overall we made SG ball finals 8 times, between 2014 and 20014, during the BA period.

Yeah pathways aren't perfect, but far from BA was a f**ken disaster, he destroyed the club, he left the eels in ruins...etc etc etc etc

Gee some crap gets written....

And the nepotism Nrown spoke about was kids being coached by a parent in comp footy not selection in junior reps.....
Yeah along with almost fkn up the career of one of our great prospect in Moretti, dropping him picking him , he’s thrived since baldy was exited and Baz actually showed a little faith in him the kid responded, jaky was dropped because of the nepotism tag, no other reason

lol Griffen, he’s a bigger fraud than Bea Arthur.

some of us wanted Flanagan but he was too toxic apparently. Look at the job he did with a very crap Saints squad??

I was keen on Bennett but the more I think about it I don’t think we have the squad to challenge atm and we all know his record once he leaves. We have given Ryles a 4 year deal plenty of time to turn this ship around and be challenging for a title.
Fair enough mate. I just pointed out some issues but I’ll be more excited than a dog with two dicks if we click next year under JR.

oldmancraigy

I agree. That’s the most likely scenario. I hope that means we see him in 3,4,9 or 13. Ryles hinted at him being at 14 and I’m sure Gutho could make it work, but $900K is a lot for a benchie.

I imagine he will play 60 minutes if at 14.

Come off the bench to spell Hopgood at lock, and then remain on the rest of the game. One of Guthos strengths this year was his 4th tackle hit up and wuick play the ball coming out of trouble.

After thinking about it, I can actually see it working....

PLUS if any of the backs get injured, he is plug and play. Better than slotting Carty or Tuilagi in the centres....

Pazza

I imagine he will play 60 minutes if at 14.

Come off the bench to spell Hopgood at lock, and then remain on the rest of the game. One of Guthos strengths this year was his 4th tackle hit up and wuick play the ball coming out of trouble.

After thinking about it, I can actually see it working....

PLUS if any of the backs get injured, he is plug and play. Better than slotting Carty or Tuilagi in the centres....

Not to mention he'd be the a good back up half