Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Joey's and Bedsy's insightful comments

Nuffy

At some point the management of the club has to really grasp the nettle and make some dramatic changes across all levels of the club.

This from todays SMH.

n need of a wake-up

Back to Joey for a moment.

He was criticised for offering honest opinion about Hodkinson's form earlier this year.

Amid the pre-match Origin hype, his comments about former side Newcastle on Triple M on Monday night flew right under the radar.

He didn't miss.

Speaking after the Knights' insipid 31-18 loss to Brisbane at Hunter Stadium, Johns said: "The players look comfortable, don't they? They're just playing in third gear. They're playing within themselves and there is no pressure from down below. I feel sorry for people who turn up and watch. You've got a family who pays to come and sacrifice so much to see the game they love and they toss that up. It's embarrassing for the club. The coach [Rick Stone] won't get much sleep tonight."

Then he said this of former teammate Danny Buderus, who is on the coaching staff at Newcastle.

"I speak to Danny Buderus a lot," Johns said. "He's on the coaching staff there. He said, 'I scratch my head. I put challenges to blokes and I ... get nothing back'. It's a precarious position for the Newcastle Knights."

Everyone can see whats wrong except the people who can influence the outcome.

Where is our much vaunted board of directors, they need to be the adults in this instance, if the club management won't, and demand changes.

Rod

"I speak to Danny Buderus a lot," Johns said. "He's on the coaching staff there. He said, 'I scratch my head. I put challenges to blokes and I ... get nothing back'. It's a precarious position for the Newcastle Knights."
[/I]

That says it all. That is truly bizarre.

Nuffy

If that is truly the case then unfortunately Stone has to go because the players wont and dont play for him nor listen.

Noname36

That says it all. That is truly bizarre.

Is it really bizarre though? We have an assistant coach who was playing with these blokes 18 months ago. They see him as a mate not a coach. What do we expect honestly? They're not pushed because they think the coaching staff are their friends and honestly I doubt someone like Besdy would push or "challenge" them too much when he would still see them as his mates too.

Noname36

If that is truly the case then unfortunately Stone has to go because the players wont and dont play for him nor listen.

I think the problem is they like Stone a little too much. That's never a good sign (e.g. Hagan). I can't remember who it was but I remember someone once saying that the best coaches are the ones that their players respect but don't necessarily like.

If they felt Stone was genuinely under pressure they'd lift their game but I reckon deep down they know that our management is soft so he'll always be safe.

Spot On

Too many blokes on too much money with no pressure to perform and a contract upgrade just waiting for them.

What a life, what an organisation.

It's only a rort if you're not in on it.

I wish more at the club felt as gutted as Joey does about the situation. I think the solution might have to be dropping blokes that deserve to be dropped, regardless of their replacement - regardless of whether it makes the team better or worse in the short term. Run out an under 20's squad if we have to, but make it clear that if you're not motivated, if you're not towing the line and not trying to improve yourself and the team - then you don't play first grade.

We need some self-respect about the place before we get any respect from prospective recruits or from our opposition. The way the club handles recruitment and selection reeks of a club devoid of confidence in itself. With good reason, of course... but we need to dig out of it sometime, and selecting the same underperformers week after week only sends the message that it doesn't really matter too much how you go as long as you've got a contract.

Still Nutty

I think the problem is they like Stone a little too much. That's never a good sign (e.g. Hagan). I can't remember who it was but I remember someone once saying that the best coaches are the ones that their players respect but don't necessarily like.

If they felt Stone was genuinely under pressure they'd lift their game but I reckon deep down they know that our management is soft so he'll always be safe.

And I think this is part of the issue....they will 'lift' this week because they know it's time to put the effort in again. NOT because they are ashamed of the effort they put forward last week( and most weeks) but because they know that will give them another 3-4 weeks out of the spotlight because random levels of mediocrity is all that is expected of them. The other factor that will 'lift' them is Scott because I'd bet he won't accept that level of indifference.

And re the Buderus quote - that clearly shows he is not the right person for the job. It's not that I don't think he would make a good coach down the track but he needs to serve his apprenticeship away from Newcastle...he reminds me a fair bit of Nathan Brown who had the same problem when they put him into the coaching role at the Dragons.

The thread from Knightmare on the 'Rabble' is exposing all of this and more at the moment...its a shame the people that have the power don't take the time to read and understand the depth of bewilderment there is out here

Allstar Knights

I don't know if Mamo is FG ready yet, but at least he's a guy that has a proper dig every game. Not sure who I'd bring him in for, but if our efforts our still pathetic then I think I'd rather support players that will at least have a crack.

Bring it home Knights

I know it's not going to be a popular comment, but I still think that for 30 minutes of our last game, we played with as much intensity as I have seen in a long time. Yes we were sh!thouse in the second half, but you can't take anything away from the first half when we were running very hard and getting quick play the balls.

... and then the moment something went remotely wrong, every single one of them put the cue in the rack and decided to save themselves for next week/month/year. So soft in the head.

Adversity? pssht, that's just that thing you run away from before going to the pub with your mates as far as our playing squad is concerned.

What shits me about Joey is he won't put his hand up and offer the club anything other than soundbites. If he turned around tomorrow and offered to coach the place Stone would be out on his arse. We need Joey, Bedsy, and Matty etc. to speak up and go public about their heartbreak. Media pressure and acknowledgement is what we need. Joey is probably as embarrassed as anyone. If he blew up and said he didn't bust his arse and deliver two comps to see it fall apart through the gutlessness of his former teammates and coaches then people would take note.

Rod

Joey doesn't really owe us anything IMO.

Plus I reckon (and he's said the same in the past) that he couldn't hack being a head coach.

Burns

What shits me about Joey is he won't put his hand up and offer the club anything other than soundbites. If he turned around tomorrow and offered to coach the place Stone would be out on his arse. We need Joey, Bedsy, and Matty etc. to speak up and go public about their heartbreak. Media pressure and acknowledgement is what we need. Joey is probably as embarrassed as anyone. If he blew up and said he didn't bust his arse and deliver two comps to see it fall apart through the gutlessness of his former teammates and coaches then people would take note.

Echo that. While I don't think we need Joey coaching, as that would be the definition of jobs for the boys, it would be appreciated if some of our 'legends' were more vocal active in their thoughts on the club as a whole.

TooheysNew

What?

Echo that. While I don't think we need Joey coaching, as that would be the definition of jobs for the boys, it would be appreciated if some of our 'legends' were more vocal active in their thoughts on the club as a whole.
But... but... they might upset Hages or Stoney! That would make old boys day really awkward, and we can't have that.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

I totally agree with the assessment of the game, BUT that just shows these blokes are talented and just mentally weak or that they dont care...

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Joey doesn't really owe us anything IMO.

Plus I reckon (and he's said the same in the past) that he couldn't hack being a head coach.

Given the revolations about his career that came out in '07 id be inclined to agree. And i dont blame him for a second, its probably the toughest job in the comp, just ahead of reffing

macavity

But... but... they might upset Hages or Stoney! That would make old boys day really awkward, and we can't have that.

And here is one of the major problems with the club. The old boys will always toe the line because they don't want to make waves.

Except Butts. Butts don't care. He is more qualified to be CEO than Mids and probably should have got the gig if we were going to keep it in house.