Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Josh Kerr

St Georgio

The signing is smart and a good one for the club.

I wont be hoping for Scumulla to post 40 on us mate... No way.
Tru we have endured 4 years of mediocrity another 4 weeks of humiliation I can live for the long term benefits of having a coach that know what he is doing, the brand of footy I have been subjected to is boring and diabolical.

TruSaint

Tru we have endured 4 years of mediocrity another 4 weeks of humiliation I can live for the long term benefits of having a coach that know what he is doing, the brand of footy I have been subjected to is boring and diabolical.

My friend nowhere in my post did i disagree with that.

Just kept it in perspective.
Im as sad as you are. In terms of the signing Im happy, and no way brother will i hope for a smashing by the Sharks.

No disrespect to you. I get the passion.

Dragsters

Have not seen him play.

I thought Nelson Asafa-Solomona would be a good target for us as I reckon we need the size, height specifically, as it is one area we have really lacked for some time.

NAS is listed as 200cm (6 feet 7 inches) and Kerr is listed at 198cm (6 feet 6 inches) so very close.

Interestingly, positions are listed as prop, second row, hooker and centre so he must have a broad skill set and some speed for a big bloke.

Lets hope he goes well.

https://www.melbournestorm.com.au/team/profiles/josh_kerr.html

Slippery Morris

He will need to get here early to learn all the structres, defensive patterns, set plays etc. Alot to learn to be part of this well drilled unit that averages 2 tries and concedes at least 4 a game.

If he has signed with the Dogs then he's a knob or whoever is telling him its a good move is a bigger knob.

He will waste away in the NSW Cup for a few years and probably fade into obscurity.

dragonreddy

If he has signed with the Dogs then he's a knob or whoever is telling him its a good move is a bigger knob.

He will waste away in the NSW Cup for a few years and probably fade into obscurity.

Don't you think he will play first grade Coast ,to me he looks likely, probably his weight may be the only issue.

Sigurd

Reports on JA he's off to the dogs ..

Can't be true. Surely not. I know they have 10 times the TPAs we do (thanks Doust) but even so, they have to pay to keep the Morris brothers (remember the story about Brett Morris going to play fullback and being paid much more as a result?), the forward pack which is almost half made up of internationals with a hooker who isn't exactly pushing on like he was expected to but who is still under contract.

TruSaint

Can't be true. Surely not. I know they have 10 times the TPAs we do (thanks Doust) but even so, they have to pay to keep the Morris brothers (remember the story about Brett Morris going to play fullback and being paid much more as a result?), the forward pack which is almost half made up of internationals with a hooker who isn't exactly pushing on like he was expected to but who is still under contract.

They are releasing 3-5 players.. Dont have the players names at hand..

Sigurd

They are releasing 3-5 players.. Dont have the players names at hand..

I know about Tony Williams but the others still have to be paid if they are being released while still under contract and it remains part of the salary cap. They would have had to upgrade Klemmar, they have a winger on fullback money, a massively overpaid halfback and hooker and their own juniors to pay as well. With Rein and Marshall leaving, Widdop in the last season of his contract, Lafai and half a dozen other reserve grade recruits likely to be released, I can't fathom that we wouldn't be able to outbid the Dogs.