Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

K Locke ------> Salford

sup42

Those games will be roughly equal to NRL games in terms of skill and quality.
Locke is a proven success against the best of them in the NRL.

The rest should be pretty breezy, even Tomkins stated that the ESL is completely different in that you're only really watching out for the big teams among plenty of soft games.

But like I said Locke will succeed *if he wants to*.
The other factors that R&S mentioned could turn his trip into a failure, I personally think he was better off at somewhere like the Dogs.
Yep I agree with that. Those four clubs will be like playing top eight sides in the NRL except Lockes in one of the Breezy teams.

The ESL's history is littered with players that went over with that attitude you alluded to and they got dealt too.

Sam Moa still gets rubbished up there....Andrew Johns in his brief appearances are interesting....a number of pundits bemoan how that move disrupted and weakened their side....which is an oddity of switching to a new team in a different competition , I'm sure if Johns had a season he would have killed it by seasons end.

I cannot believe how immature Locke is. Last year Wiki named and shamed 6 players as dickheads and said shape up of leave the club, 5 have grown up and playing great footy (especially Matulino) this season yet Locke has let everyone down. I applaud McFadden for changinging the culture and demanding 100% from everyone and the way the team is playing you can see the dividends. But Locke wanted to keep acting the fool. He hasnt even played 1 game for Salford yet If u read the last paragragh of the article he says he wants to come back to the NRL when hes finished his contract WTF!!!!!! what kind of loyalty is that, the guy hasn't even arrived there yet. Im always critical of the Warriors management but they got this 100% right and I applaud them for that. I will always remember Locke as a very gifted player with huge talent that never wanted to grow up!!!

vvvrulz

Stupid really, yes he might have been annoyed for not getting the wing spot but from what I hear he hasn't really fought much for it in reserve grade.

I'm a Locke fan genrally but good riddance.

Warrior@Heart

26 tries in 6 seasons says it all really. He's not a great playmaker, not a great try scorer, not a great ball runner, just average at all aspects. Hope he goes well in ESL but i'm glad he's gone if i'm being honest, he's young enough to carve out a great career in England so I hope he commits himself and matures as a player.

Penrose Warrior

Don't let the door hit your arse on the way out. Could have been our #1 for as long as he wanted, if he wanted.

Probably sooked about the Tomkins signing, which would never have happened if he'd worked hard enough and stayed away from the other shit.

Seriously, NRL players failing to turn up to training sessions makes me shake my head so furiously it might fall off. Who the f**k do they think they are?

sup42

I will follow his career in the ESL now.

Good Luck Kev. I'm not too thrilled about the training thing if true. Still it will all be water under the bridge when Kev moves on I wish him the best.

Blair

Don't let the door hit your arse on the way out. Could have been our #1 for as long as he wanted, if he wanted.

Probably sooked about the Tomkins signing, which would never have happened if he'd worked hard enough and stayed away from the other shit.

Seriously, NRL players failing to turn up to training sessions makes me shake my head so furiously it might fall off. Who the f**k do they think they are?

I think the new coach told him that he (Locke) and some of his mates are no longer in charge.

vvvrulz

I think the new coach told him that he (Locke) and some of his mates are no longer in charge.

How the f*k did it come to Locke and friends ever thinking they were in charge of anything?
Glad some rubbish attitudes are being weeded out.

SpaceMonkey

Who were the others players that Wiki called out over their attitudes? I'm assuming SJ and Hurrell were two and they've both responded well, and I'm assuming not any of the imports, or Mannering and Manu as those two never give less than 110%. The Lousis would be the others I'd suspect but neither of them are doing much at the moment, though to be fair thats been mainly due to injury.

vvvrulz

Who were the others players that Wiki called out over their attitudes? I'm assuming SJ and Hurrell were two and they've both responded well, and I'm assuming not any of the imports, or Mannering and Manu as those two never give less than 110%. The Lousis would be the others I'd suspect but neither of them are doing much at the moment, though to be fair thats been mainly due to injury.

Packer for sure was one of them.

shinobi

Saw locke out at the casino here in sydney on sunday night wished him good luck and said it was sad to see him go he said thanks and kept it moving. I think people are downplaying what he had to offer I think at his peak he was better than what tomkins is offering us right now.

Campion

would take a good player with a great attitude than an excellent player with a poor attitude though. especially given Warriors 'bad culture' problems and so on.

Patorick

I cannot believe how immature Locke is. Last year Wiki named and shamed 6 players as dickheads and said shape up of leave the club, 5 have grown up and playing great footy (especially Matulino) this season yet Locke has let everyone down. I applaud McFadden for changinging the culture and demanding 100% from everyone and the way the team is playing you can see the dividends. But Locke wanted to keep acting the fool. He hasnt even played 1 game for Salford yet If u read the last paragragh of the article he says he wants to come back to the NRL when hes finished his contract WTF!!!!!! what kind of loyalty is that, the guy hasn't even arrived there yet. Im always critical of the Warriors management but they got this 100% right and I applaud them for that. I will always remember Locke as a very gifted player with huge talent that never wanted to grow up!!!
So: Johnson, Locke, Matulino, Packer.

Who were the other two then?

Blair

Someone said Ben was one of them but I'd struggle to believe that with his form in recent years.

Attitude is just as vital to a player as having two legs. Locke never had it, I doubt ever will.

Matulino looked to have given up at the business end of last year. I saw that as one of the main reasons we didn't make the finals.

sup42

If you made a list of players that have been off for one reason or another it's little wonder we have been rubbish for a couple of years in this competition.

Wiki has his list this is mine.

Lockes attitude has lots to be desired , a lead candidate with Johnson in why game plans weren't adhered to.

Packer was a bully and bad influence.

Johnson was full of himself some of his comments to the media in the past about Halves and coaches not always agreeing were straight out amateur and none of the good players serve their coach up like that.

Hurrell has an appalling attitude to training and he loves the camera too much.

Laumape is quick to have a sook when things aren't going his way ( there were reports of him having a look around at the Waikato chiefs set up after Hurrells flirtation with Union.....another poster claimed Ngani was having a sook about Alwood ).

Laumape decided to spend the off season on the piss.

Dane Nielson has serious issues off the field can't go into what those.

Nathan Friend had the wrong mindset about sharing his Hooking minutes , I get that he is battling to keep his Family looked after and the one year contracts aren't very nice , but the first time the Coach tried to pull Friend from the field he was refusing ( can't remember if it was Elliot or Maca who said that...pretty sure it was Elliot ).

Ben Matulino was one of Packers Boys...when they Flicked Packer Matulino tweeted about Rats and Sinking ships.....somehow we were supposed to believe that wasn't a reference to the Warriors during that sensitive time.

The Lousi Alumni tweeted about Sam Tomkins having signed / them or Gub I forget which exactly....it was a shared Joke in any case ( read thick as thieves ) that prank was at the height of the tense negotiations with Wigan which even though worst kept secret in the NRL came about due to legal contractual ' no open negotiation ' clauses in Tomkins contract.

Manu in his own way was the model of the wrong reaction after making screw ups on the field......fans do not want to see the grinning high fiving carry ons of these guys.....no one likes that stuff....so glad the Warriors have started knocking off the ' that's ok he will run hard in the next set ' weak mindset.

Feleti Martel came back from preseason two stone overweight. You have to do some serious pigging out to achieve that. Well done keep it up one day you might make the blues...what a freeloader.....him Hurrell and Laumape are campaign wreckers.

Tomkins dropping the ball and being in the wrong place to defend Low Kicks. What's wrong with this guy..? he's being paid Millions.......almost as much as Shaun Johnsons upgrade and he's deliberately not concentrating out there.....the Raiders need a Fullback.....I hope he goes there.....

Andrew Mcfadden probably ruined my dream of having a tier one coach....like Sheens.....Cappy probably stuck the Knives in Elliot too. Bennett might have come here had the Warriors not jumped the gun and given a guy who can't get over the top of a beaten up Souths team when they're about to Whither and die....as Gregan said to Wilson " Four More Years ! "

Finally.......wots all this Tosh about this Jim Doyle ?
Who the bleep is Jim Doyle ? wots he ever done for the Warriors ?

Dude sounds like a foreigner when he talks........

( half of that list is pure tongue in cheek , taking the mickey, things are actually looking up but there is some truth in the bad eggs spoiling the mix at the Warriors and losses coming out of players slack attitudes )

Scott

WTF!!!

My take on it is, the bad eggs are slowly but surely being cut loose. Packer last year and now Locke. These are probably the worst eggs. In this day & age with all the contract law you can't just go firing people. You have to be very careful legally.

If you look at Penrith for example, they moved on Jennings, Gordon & Lewis all within 18 months of Gus/Ivan arriving. Now some was about salary cap, but I reckon it was more about culture than any thing else. They are a pretty good model & I think we are heading down that road.