Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kemble Names 17 V GB

mean_maori_mean

Fast Eddie said:
Roberts and Leuluai would have done me. And if Hoheia had to be in the team for goal kicking(Roberts can goalkick can't he?) then he should be coming on as an interchange hooker.

I would of kept roberts at 6, thomas at half also and then had Hohaia at starting hooker.

Usually too many small guys would create problems on defense but lance has pretty strong defense for a half.

I also would of had mannering in centres - . Would of love too see some of the more exciting kiwi nrl backrow prospects such as harrison and Teo get a shot. This will only increase hopefully with the development of some of those junior kiws and kangaroos like Fai, Pettybourne, setu. etc

Lauaki - not a big fan - its gonna take more than a few bump offs for me to gain confidence in this guy. But at least he is hungry the dropping of Smith etc will make these guys perform and they dont want to join him and covs as one test kiwis.

At least thomas and probably lance (is he goes to france) will be playing regular footy at halfback next year.

Rich102

I don't like the feeling going into this test. I reckon we are on another hiding to nothing, and Chalmers firing up the opposition and annoying the Ref. isn't going to help.
Good luck Kiwis - I think you will need it!

mean

Hopefully any off field activity is not going to be used as an excuse if the results don't go our way.

MKEB...

Just reading this from Kilgallen and mentioning about Roy Masters coaching techniques...Although the article is about Sam Perret

Pre-match psychology has moved on since Roy Masters dispensed steaks to his 1970s Western Suburbs team and urged them to slap each other in the face with 10 bucks worth of raw cow.

The Kiwis are giving a debut to their third-choice fullback against Great Britain, a 22-year-old who till midway through the season was a centre with possible confidence problems, yet who will sit calmly in the dressing room before kickoff tomorrow morning and look as if he is preparing for a pre-season game of touch.

The key element of Sam Perrett's preparation for the first test at Huddersfield is Maxwell Maltz's 1960 work Psycho-Cybernetics, a self-help manual which argues that by rebuilding your self-image you can bring success.

Perrett's self-image - dented by his Sydney Roosters' painfully bad 2006 season and a series of dropped balls which became singed into his memory - has had a complete reconstruction and he now happily describes himself as "totally relaxed".

"A lot of the top players think that way," he says. "You can look at it one way - it is huge playing for your country and it is the be-all and end-all; or it is just a game, and when you play relaxed like that, you play better."

It is not an attitude that diminishes a burning desire to capitalise on a very unexpected opportunity at test level. Kiwi coach Gary Kemble reports Perrett has already told him that he may have started as No3, but he wants to stay No1.

But Psycho-Cybernetics has taught Perrett that he should focus on the small things - such as catching those high balls. The book has made it into his kitbag for his first Kiwi tour. "I read it over and over," he says. "I will spark conversations every now and again (with teammates) and see how interested they are and if they are, I will give them a look for a bit."

Perrett could become a case study for the next edition. Always considered a centre or wing, he was shifted to fullback by the Roosters partway through 2007 when Australian test fullback Anthony Minichiello suffered a season-ending back injury. It was a shock, but Perrett now considers himself a fullback and while he's conscious that injury to Minichiello, Brent Webb and Krisnan Inu has brought him fortune for both club and country, he wants to stay there.

The Roosters began the year rooted to the foot of the table in an unsuccessful experiment with Chris Anderson as coach. Perrett was one of their few form players in a confusing time. "I stayed positive," he says. "You learn a lot from being down at the bottom. I learned how to relax, just ignored all the things going on around. I got pretty good at that: ignoring the rubbish."

New coach Brad Fittler, however, brought clarity, with a basic gameplan and licence to ad-lib around the edges, an approach that suited Perrett and kickstarted his Kiwi representative ambitions.

Perrett was born in Auckland and raised in Hamilton. He did not take football seriously till he moved to the Gold Coast. Then he won Queensland Schoolboy selection. Perrett was in a 2003 Australian Schoolboys team which included Karmichael Hunt at fullback and Benji Marshall in the halves. "The NZRL hadn't got into contact with any of us, that I know of, but I wish that they had said something," says Perrett.

He was always clear where his allegiances lay. "All the boys knew we were New Zealanders but we were not getting the opportunity."

The call didn't come till 2005, when Brian McClennan rang to say he was being watched.

Tomorrow will be his biggest game. He has only Roosters' under-19 and reserve grade grand finals to compare.

He was sick the week of the under-19 final, in 2004. "I was a bit rattled, and probably a bit in awe of the whole occasion, and struggling to do the little things right on the field. The next year, though, I just thought about the little things. I had a much better game."

I hope it gave Kemble Some ideas.

Source: http://www.stuff.co.nz/4251763a10713.html

Micistm

Revelation 3:20 said:
I will reserve my judgement on the coaching till the end of the tour

I agree, I'm starting to feel very uneasy about what's happened to the Kiwis in a short space of time...And suprise suprise, everyone in the NZRL putting 'High Performance' in front of their job title hasn't helped much!:lol:

This tour is pretty much make or break time. Hope the halves have good games. Especially Lance, he always seems to be the guy not wanted until there's a crisis gap, then expected to go in and have blinders immediately.

Kemble is not filling me with confidence, but he's there now and deserves the chance to prove he was not just picked from the Buddy ranks and can do the job. Gotta be rough getting the hiding the team got on his first game, but I'm sure his gameplan did not include missing tackles and errors.

playdaball

Beavers Headgear said:
Fire up you bloody negative bastards !!! :D

I went and had a piece of the $2.90 on offer at the TAB

Hopefully you only lost $5.00. Another donation to the TAB.

JJ

Unfortunately I haven't seen the game yet - but on face value that seems like a good result, I feared much worse...

Not really JJ

GB wernt flash and we sucked big time

Our backline is complete mud, no organisation, no moves no cohesion. But when they got the ball 1 on 1 they were impressive. Lance did some good field kicking but he needs to take the ball running forward, he was just standing still 15 metres from the play the ball then kicking.

Asotasi was great, gave his all but didnt have much support. Fui Fui ran out of gas as always and got hammered

JJ

RHYTHM AND STEALTH said:
Not really JJ

GB wernt flash and we sucked big time

Our backline is complete mud, no organisation, no moves no cohesion. But when they got the ball 1 on 1 they were impressive. Lance did some good field kicking but he needs to take the ball running forward, he was just standing still 15 metres from the play the ball then kicking.

Asotasi was great, gave his all but didnt have much support. Fui Fui ran out of gas as always and got hammered

I've just watched it, and tend to agree.

Asotasi is just flat out a great prop... Moi Moi is becoming a bit like Carl Webb - not really kicking on, and you have to wonder if 15-20 minutes of high impact collisions and a bit of intimidation is really worth it.

That kid playing prop (Burgess?) for the Poms looks amazing - he's 18??

Skinner

JJ said:
That kid playing prop (Burgess?) for the Poms looks amazing - he's 18??

Yeah...I put some sh*t on him in the International forum (as you do), but he looks
the goods alright.

Rich102

Did we have a game plan? (Or was "spin the ball two wide of the ruck and then hit it up" our total game plan?)
Perrett will certainly remember the game for the rest of his life!
Thomas was a bit like the Vicar's egg. Lance tried his best but too much time away from top level showed. (Let's be honest, plucking a player from reserve grade to play a test match in a position he hasn't played in for over a year is a big ask and shows more than a bit of desperation.) By contrast the Pommy half cut us the shreads time and time again.
Thought Roy and Sam had good games.
I thought the last pass for the first British try was a meter forward.
You got a run for your money Beaver, but they didn't get any of mine.
I don't really know whether to be pleased or disappointed - it left me feeling flat. Kemble has a lot of work to do before next week.

Only lost 5 bucks, not too worried about it

Was pleased with the effort, execution not always there, but a pretty young side going round together without any leadup matches, you expect some of that.

They will be better and only improve, for example Perrett won't make his stuffup again

I won't hang the blokes on todays performance, loss not good, but performacne and enthusiasm ok

Simple handling and passing was a let down again for this level of football.
Few rough calls from refs and sideline officals didn't help. If a player has to leave the field it should result in at least 10 mins, when it looks that bad on replay! Consistancy just isn't there!
Injuries also didn't help when you have big boys who run out of steam.
We seem to be missing the brains trust that Jones was,.
Halves combo much better than one against Aussie.
Everyone has covered the other issues! (no structure or game plan)

6/10