Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ken Irvine set to be dethroned?

Stagger Lee

Ken Irvine is a lightweight*

The NSW born Brian Beven scored 757 tries

He played for Eastern suburbs - Warrington - Blackpool

In his first season, he scored 48 tries for Warrington. Within four years at the club he had surpassed the club try scoring record of 215... On five occasions Brian Bevan was the top try scorer in England. His best season for try scoring feats was in 1952–53 when he amassed a total of 72 tries.

Bevan scored a hat-trick of tries or more in a single game 100 times. Twice he scored seven tries in a single game.

He died in 1991 - and I'm frankly surprised he is not referenced more.

*not really - But Bevan is the real try scoring hero

http://www.therfl.co.uk/the-rfl/history_and_heritage/rugby_league_hall_of_fame/brian_bevan

POPEYE

Irvine weighed 73kgs and played against blokes who couldn't get near him, nothing to do with toughness

Beven or Bevan according to stats scored 670 of his 757 in first class footy not that it matters a shit

What matters is the thread has been saved from the rubbish tip

no name

Any thread discussing personal records for the Melbourne players between '06 and '10 will always end up about the salary cap scandal. (Probably rightly so IMO)

POPEYE

Any thread discussing personal records for the Melbourne players between '06 and '10 will always end up about the salary cap scandal. (Probably rightly so IMO)

Good onya mate, at least you called it for what it was, non of this 'cheating' hysteria

Sea_Eagles_Rock

If Menzies finished his career in Australia, the record would be his.

Stewart has a high strike rate. If he continues for 4 more years he will get close. He is only just 30. He has to do with Diabetes though. Outstanding effort really.

Slater will probably fall short.

Somebody will break this I think.

At current rate semi will only need to play 247 games to beat Irvine.

And he is 22.

But zero chance really

I like how it has stayed Ken Irvine for so long.

I'd say Semi is probably the best chance of the current crop of players at the moment, or Alex Johnston who also has a fantastic strike rate. But it's impossible to say they will score 200+ tries this early in their careers, they have to stay fit and score 20+ tries most seasons you would think.

Sea_Eagles_Rock

I doubt it. He needed 32 more, which is how many he had scored in the previous 4 years.

He scored 58 in 128 games in the ESL in 5 seasons.

He was out injured parts of 2006/7 which dragged his percentage right down those years. 2008 he was 50%. Clearly he didn't miss many games in the ESL. Sliding doors I guess.

yobbo84

I'm probably poking a voodoo doll in resurrecting this thread, but... Alex Johnston has to be a fair chance now.

He only turned 27 in January. He is contracted with Souths until the end of 2025.

He has now scored 147 tries in 178 games.

Here's the real kicker though. When playing on the wing, he has scored 124 tries from 117 games. More than a try a game over 100+ games. That's ridiculous.

I mean he even scored 22 tries from 22 games in 2017 when we stunk it up, finished 12th and Madge got sacked.

To break the record he would have to score 66 more tries from the 80-90 games he has left on his contract (at which point he'll still only be 30 years old).

If he stays fit he would have to go very, very close.

I'm probably poking a voodoo doll in resurrecting this thread, but... Alex Johnston has to be a fair chance now.

He only turned 27 in January. He is contracted with Souths until the end of 2025.

He has now scored 147 tries in 178 games.

Here's the real kicker though. When playing on the wing, he has scored 124 tries from 117 games. More than a try a game over 100+ games. That's ridiculous.

I mean he even scored 22 tries from 22 games in 2017 when we stunk it up, finished 12th and Madge got sacked.

To break the record he would have to score 66 more tries from the 80-90 games he has left on his contract (at which point he'll still only be 30 years old).

If he stays fit he would have to go very, very close.

will depend on how the bunnies fare over the next 3-4 seasons. If you’re still pushing top 4 he is likely bag 15 tries a season but if you fall away that could drop dramatically. Once his contract is up it will likely be down to how close he is.

I still believe had Brett Morris not done his knee last season he would have gone close to the record. He would have finished 2021 on around 185-190, it’s likely a team like the Dragons would have given him a year or two to break the record.

Brett Stewart was another who would have been close had he not missed 2 years in his prime through injury. Would have got himself close enough that Manly may have just given him another 12 months to break the record.

Apey

Some blasts from the past in this thread. Where'd user_nat go? A rare good Broncos fan of the time.

soc123_au

I'd say Semi is probably the best chance of the current crop of players at the moment, or Alex Johnston who also has a fantastic strike rate. But it's impossible to say they will score 200+ tries this early in their careers, they have to stay fit and score 20+ tries most seasons you would think.
Good call.

Fl
Browsing through some stats in my free time and discovered Ken Irvine's record of 212 tries may not be around for much longer. My tip to make the challenge is Keith lulia, on the weekend he scored a whopping 4 tries and was unlucky not to get more.

At 27 years old some may say time is not on his side but his skillset is ageless and following current trends with people like Steve Menzies playing well into the late 30's I think the record is well within reach. If we conservatively assume he plays 8 more years and retires at 35 (he very well could play longer) and lets just say the tigers don't even make the finals once in that time he will play at least 208 more games of first grade.

Keeping up his current trend of 4 tries per game that is a crazy 832 more tries to add to his tally. However I am a reasonable man and I understand it is possible that doesn't happen. Allowing for some brief loss of form or injuries we can cut that in half to 416 tries. Still an impressive figure to add to his current 40 tries.

Some crazy things happen in the Nrl and it may turn out he doesn't score such a huge amount of tries and maybe he even only just breaks the record, still I reckon if Ken Irvines tally is going to fall it will be Keith Lulia who will do it.
Flamed out at 40 did young Keith Lulia.