Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kiwi Test Team!

mean_maori_mean

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=197602

St george supports think rangi isn't that good, hes got potential thats 4 sure, is he ready for test berth now? would a few more games in first grade before test debut be better for him? same could be said for paea, if Leuilui (bad spelling) doesn't come down, we r most probablly going to have to have 1 of these players in the team (if SBW doesn't play in halves or benji doesn't either), which 1 would it be? we could use Sa'a also. but if all these wern't possible which 1 would we pick?

What position is Halatau anyway? he used to be a hooker but where does he play now?

tbh who gives a fughk what they think there team is sh*t and coached by an idiot.

Rangi was in good form early in the year every time he touched he did something positive and was developing his game from purely ad-lib football to a bit more structured.
Too many changes from jobless Browny. Change in Personnel, team structure.

One week he not give gasnier enough ball - gould and co. say give him the ball, next weeks he give him the ball early and he gets bagged again for putting expectation on the centre blah blah blah.

Not sure if they have info on try assist but he would be up there.

Give him a shot - behind a good forward pack and some strong centers he could be a really be an attacking spark.

And since when do give up a stuff what ? I much rather watch him my self and make my own assesment than base it own browny or some fans opinions.

Paea is a player of the future - but Rangi surely would be ahead in the line.

Last year we wastest a spot on the worst halfback in the NRL in smith. I would much rather use this opportunity to see what Chase my offer us.

Defensively he is not that strong - but with guys like soliola, sbw, mannering and the better smith we should be alright.

I feel for rangi at such a sh*t club - these guys are essentially playing for contracts for the dictator who arrives next year.

I say lets back a guy like rangi. cna play 6/7 or 9. Hell if they were consiriding a handicap like j-ro, picked one in smith.

Im all for picking rangi. Dont think the selectors are though.

Revelation 3:20

tbh who gives a fughk what they think there team is sh*t and coached by an idiot.

Rangi was in good form early in the year every time he touched he did something positive and was developing his game from purely ad-lib football to a bit more structured.
Too many changes from jobless Browny. Change in Personnel, team structure.

One week he not give gasnier enough ball - gould and co. say give him the ball, next weeks he give him the ball early and he gets bagged again for putting expectation on the centre blah blah blah.

Not sure if they have info on try assist but he would be up there.

Give him a shot - behind a good forward pack and some strong centers he could be a really be an attacking spark.

And since when do give up a stuff what ? I much rather watch him my self and make my own assesment than base it own browny or some fans opinions.

Paea is a player of the future - but Rangi surely would be ahead in the line.

Last year we wastest a spot on the worst halfback in the NRL in smith. I would much rather use this opportunity to see what Chase my offer us.

Defensively he is not that strong - but with guys like soliola, sbw, mannering and the better smith we should be alright.

I feel for rangi at such a sh*t club - these guys are essentially playing for contracts for the dictator who arrives next year.

I say lets back a guy like rangi. cna play 6/7 or 9. Hell if they were consiriding a handicap like j-ro, picked one in smith.

Im all for picking rangi. Dont think the selectors are though.

i agree

Can Marshall and Luke get a spot in the kiwis?

1 Perrett, hohia
2 SKD
3? Matai, soliola, chase, shortland(bolter) perrett
4?
5 Manu
6 Marshall
7? Rangi chase, Marshall, roberts
8 Asotasi
9 Luke
10 Cayless
11 SBW
12 Mannering
13 Smith

R hohia, fien
r Lima
r Pritchard
r halatau

mean_maori_mean

Can Marshall and Luke get a spot in the kiwis?

1 Perrett, hohia
2 SKD
3? Matai, soliola, chase, shortland(bolter) perrett
4?
5 Manu
6 Marshall
7? Rangi chase, Marshall, roberts
8 Asotasi
9 Luke
10 Cayless
11 SBW
12 Mannering
13 Smith

R hohia, fien
r Lima
r Pritchard
r halatau

Fien can f off?? I would rather Howie Tamati pick himself out of retirement than this aussie get picked.

Who would really want him in our team??

Luke was one of the top hookers in the game in the first few rounds. He will walk into the team if he plays this week.

Also halatau has being good this year at centre, and bench utility. Im not saying pick him.

Pick Luke at 9 and Hohaia at 14. At worst pick Deno.

Shortland a bolter - you are kidding me - the guy would have to score about 7 tries this week to make the team.

Eastwood has more chance of getting picked in centre.lol. And he is awful for a guy who reckons he can offer back cover. Is he smuggling in Steak and Cheese pies into brizzie??

Alehana

What about this guy for contention of hooker (if luke cant play), Masada Iosefa, havent seen any of him, but he made kiwis squad as a replacemnt in UK tour, and apparantely has been doing heaps well this year.

Changa

Perrott
Talanoa (is he not eligable?)/Tuiaki
Stanley
Matai
SKD
Roberts
Marshall (injury permitting)
Cayless
Luke
Asotasi
Rapira
SBW
Sa

Prichard
Lima
Mannering
Chase

Will need a ball-playing lock imo due to the weakness in the halfs and the lack of options available, ideally teams use a fullback for this role but there is a shortage in the ranks of ball-playing fullbacks for NZ. Gives extra kick option. 3 props starting will help shoulder the load of Cayless and Asotasi.

shinobi

What about this guy for contention of hooker (if luke cant play), Masada Iosefa, havent seen any of him, but he made kiwis squad as a replacemnt in UK tour, and apparantely has been doing heaps well this year.

Supposedly tearing up the NYC.

I will say it now, Sam Perrett will be fullback (webb isnt coming).
Lance will play of the bench, and thomas leuluai will be halfback

blain

well it looks like marshall SOULD be good touch wood, half back..... i reckon hohaia will be if leuluai isnt available.

perrett
SKD/tuaki
matai
ropati??? if injured still stanley
vatuvei
marshall
hohaia
asotasi
chase
cayless
SBW
smith
mannering

lima
luke
kidwell
pritchard

D

Deleted member 10972

NZ pack is pretty straightforward.

When fully fit:

Asotasi
Luke
Cayless
Pritchard
Mannering
SBW

Faiumu
Eastwood
Rapira
Lima

With Tuimavave, Moimoi as the reserve props, J Smith, Fa'alogo and Sa as the reserve backrowers, & Halatau as the reserve utility forward (hooker/lock/centre).

Kidwell deserves the NZ jersey back about as much as Yileen Gordon deserves an Australian jersey. Kidwell has been very poor this season, Asotasi and Fa'alogo have been shining lights in a poor team.

roughyedspud

the 5th round of the challenge cup has been drawn,wigan & wakefield are the only super league teams not to draw another SL team

so if the SL clubs keep to their word you can have thomas leuluai

Micistm

the 5th round of the challenge cup has been drawn,wigan & wakefield are the only super league teams not to draw another SL team

so if the SL clubs keep to their word you can have thomas leuluai

Wow, that's so big of them...ONE of our players for an international test. And that's why the rep game is ****ed:lol:

roughyedspud

it was big of them to give you the option of having players if they did'nt draw another SL club......now stop being a baby about and fly lulu halfway around the world for a a$$ whooping....lol

Murphdogg1

To be honest i would rather have only Leuluai available than only Webb

We have two fullbacks in good form playing at NRL level (Hohaia/Perrett)

Leuluai is really a class above anyone else we can pick at 7 (AT THE MOMENT)

Plus he brings some test experience which our backline really needs

Im thinking a team of

1 - Perrett
2 - SKD
3 - Matai/Stanley
4 - Soliola
5 - Vatuvei
6 - Marshall
7 - Leuluai
8 - Cayless
9 - Luke
10 - Asotasi
11 - Pritchard
12 - SBW
13 - Mannering

14 - Hohaia
15 - Lima
16 - Blair
17 - Sa

the second row and props is obviously where we have a bit of depth so other players come into contention

But something close to that could really give the Aussies a run for their money on paper. Its how they respond as a team which is important.

Micistm

it was big of them to give you the option of having players if they did'nt draw another SL club......now stop being a baby about and fly lulu halfway around the world for a a$$ whooping....lol

Lol, don't get me wrong mate, the clubs pay their wages and I understand why they want the players they pay for- BUT- It is hypocrisy of others to suggest NZ doesn't take mid year tests seriously and will never move forward without picking their best possible team (You've said that yourself) when that selection is severely limited by Club teams and comps. We have a low percentage of our team actually based here, and with the difficulties of these mid year one off B.Ss why shouldn't we just treat them like a blooding players game? Even when Bluey had a UK mid year game the players were not released. If others don't take it seriously and let the Kiwis field their best possible side why should we?

And as for Webby, this sounds a bit funny. Not returning calls etc. Don't know what to make of this, maybe he's decided playing for the Kiwis now doesn't suit. If that's the case, I feel quite disheartened and cheated by that, and hope changes will be made to residency and elligibility laws because of it. Disappointing.

1 - Perrett
2 - SKD
3 - Matai
4 - Soliola
5 - Vatuvei
6 - Marshall
7 - Leuluai
8 - Cayless
9 - Luke/Fein
10 - Asotasi
11 - Pritchard
12 - SBW
13 - Mannering
14 - Hohaia
15 - Lima
16 - Blair/ Rapira
17 - halatau

I think the next two weeks will finalise the team for 6,9 and the bench spots

Gurdy

1 - Perrett
2 - SKD
3 - Matai
4 - Soliola
5 - Vatuvei
6 - Marshall
7 - Leuluai
8 - Cayless
9 - Luke
10 - Asotasi (c)
11 - Mannering
12 - SBW
13 - Fa'alogo

14 - Hohaia
15 - Lima
16 - Blair
17 - Sa

18th Man - Eastwood

I like the looks of this team - my only worry is lack of match fitness for Matai, Marshall & Luke. Hopefully Soliola is starting to get back into his form of a couple of years ago.

Alehana

1.Perret
2. Stanley
3. Sa'a
4. Soliola
5. Tuiake
6. Marshal/robers
7. Thomas L
8. Cayless
9. Luke
10. Asotasi (c)