Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kiwi Test Team!

No way in the world Jennings will be a kiwi

Having watched 4 games at the ground the past 2 weeks, Matai and Soliola would be my centres, Sa would get a chance at 6, Nightengale would be in the side, Fa'alogo would make it and Halatau would be my utility

Perret yet to convince me, SKD good young player who may be worth a shot with Manu gone but Covell probably a safer player, Tuiaki not 100% convinced on

mean_maori_mean

No way in the world Jennings will be a kiwi

Having watched 4 games at the ground the past 2 weeks, Matai and Soliola would be my centres, Sa would get a chance at 6, Nightengale would be in the side, Fa'alogo would make it and Halatau would be my utility

Perret yet to convince me, SKD good young player who may be worth a shot with Manu gone but Covell probably a safer player, Tuiaki not 100% convinced on

This will be the team named - if they thomas. obviously webb in for perrett if they get him back.

1.Perrett
2. SKD
3. Sa
4.Soliola
5. Covell/ Nightengale
6. Roberts
7. Leulauai
8. Cayless (possible co-captain)
9. Luke
10. Lima
11. Sbw (El Capataine)
12. Pritchard
13. Mannering

14. Fien - hope he doesnt get picked, would rather Hohaia or halatau, actually anybody
15. Asotasi
16. Fa'alogo
17. Smith
18. Stanley
19. Eastwood

Might have to sort out how to write me a signature - so I can start F*&* OFF Fien (F.O.F) Foundation.

If they dont get thomas back. Roberts to half and either play benji or bring in matai and play sa at 6.

Also Covell aint a definant - but betcha selectors will use the fact he is a goal kicker as a reason. Not noing he aint that good at kicking and other players such as nightingale can kick.

I wouldnt mind having Matai on the wing - he might not get picked b'coz he gives away too much penalties.

Tbh I wouldnt be suprised if selectors didnt know who Nightengale is.

Eastwood - would be in with a chance b'coz of bennett. In fact he would be almost garunteed.
Hes a south Auckland boy - in a nice way he is 'overweight' and quite 'useless' right now. Heaps of potential. Hes crap (right now)

If we had another quality in-form prop - Asotasi would be watching in t.v

also - tbh I would rather have Jeremy Smith/ Fa'alogo instead of Mannering - just as defensively strong but offer much more on attack.

blain

im leaning towards a leulaui and SBW halves partnership.. he has the ball skills and alot of clubs are having big five-eights atm. i dont think a roberts and leu partnership can get the best out of our forwards.

ozbash

Might have to sort out how to write me a signature

I got some cool Mad Butcher pics you can borrow, mediocre_maori_mediocre

your team would have the weakest backline i have seen in quite a long time.

Time you changed your sauce :)

Eastwood will start.

Murphdogg1

This will be the team named - if they thomas. obviously webb in for perrett if they get him back.

1.Perrett
2. SKD
3. Sa
4.Soliola
5. Covell/ Nightengale
6. Roberts
7. Leulauai
8. Cayless (possible co-captain)
9. Luke
10. Lima
11. Sbw (El Capataine)
12. Pritchard
13. Mannering

14. Fien - hope he doesnt get picked, would rather Hohaia or halatau, actually anybody
15. Asotasi
16. Fa'alogo
17. Smith
18. Stanley
19. Eastwood

Might have to sort out how to write me a signature - so I can start F*&* OFF Fien (F.O.F) Foundation.

If they dont get thomas back. Roberts to half and either play benji or bring in matai and play sa at 6.

Also Covell aint a definant - but betcha selectors will use the fact he is a goal kicker as a reason. Not noing he aint that good at kicking and other players such as nightingale can kick.

I wouldnt mind having Matai on the wing - he might not get picked b'coz he gives away too much penalties.

Tbh I wouldnt be suprised if selectors didnt know who Nightengale is.

Eastwood - would be in with a chance b'coz of bennett. In fact he would be almost garunteed.
Hes a south Auckland boy - in a nice way he is 'overweight' and quite 'useless' right now. Heaps of potential. Hes crap (right now)

If we had another quality in-form prop - Asotasi would be watching in t.v

also - tbh I would rather have Jeremy Smith/ Fa'alogo instead of Mannering - just as defensively strong but offer much more on attack.

So who is the left field selection that was talked about???????

Dont mind that side too much MMM, would have Halatau over Fien though, he has been sensational for the Tigers the past 2 games

I like Sa's inclusion, and Soliola playing well too. Having said that, Matais passion and commitment could be valuable in the big games as well. His return 2 weeks back v Parramatta was inspirational, and Stanley hasn't done anything this season

Roberts cops a bit of flak, but i don't mind his game. Has a huge kicking game which could be valuable, and can be very elusive with the ball in hand as well. Another thing in his favour is a combination with SBW.

Beatswood is a handy enough player for cover as well, Perret and SKD worry me to an extent, not convinced they are that safe as yet, but they were good on the tour last year and deserve another crack

mean_maori_mean

Dont mind that side too much MMM, would have Halatau over Fien though, he has been sensational for the Tigers the past 2 games

I like Sa's inclusion, and Soliola playing well too. Having said that, Matais passion and commitment could be valuable in the big games as well. His return 2 weeks back v Parramatta was inspirational, and Stanley hasn't done anything this season

Roberts cops a bit of flak, but i don't mind his game. Has a huge kicking game which could be valuable, and can be very elusive with the ball in hand as well. Another thing in his favour is a combination with SBW.

Beatswood is a handy enough player for cover as well, Perret and SKD worry me to an extent, not convinced they are that safe as yet, but they were good on the tour last year and deserve another crack

Stanley - I think they were just really impressed by both his character, maturity and talent for such a young kid. It would be good to see them back him. I think he has impressed alot of people.

Matai - I would like him as much as I have being annoyed at him in the past. I love the intensity and the passion he plays with. And I hope they pick him - even ahead of Sa.

Dont overstate Halatau - he has been lucky to be included in tigers 17 the past year. But he has been good and having some experience and a good head on him - he will definately come close.

Lauaki and Tuimavave - tbh I dont think neither will make the world cup squad.

Alehana

doesn't luke kick for goal for souths? he could be the goal kicker and that would mean we could have a decent winger instead of covell just because he can kick

mean_maori_mean

hard out.

But remember luke will not be playing 80mins.
Selectors wont realise that nightengale can kick, benji can kick goals, Hell I betcha Cayless can toe hack them over.

How about we worry about stopping and scoring tries before we worry about converting them.

Do they remember wellington? Only time we needed a kicker was after they kept on scoring.

Covell is sh*te.

mean_maori_mean

someone please set me straight. a 19 man squad is being named tommorow, or sunday?

I think they'll name it tomorrow avo - give time to get decline by ESL clubs, put up a fight blah blah.

I think they should wait b'coz if they dont get those players then they might want to make changes.

Give themselves another week to see if benji is algood.

LeagueMad

1 Perrett
2 Nightengale
3 Soliola
4 Matai
5 Kenny Dowall
6 Roberts
7 Leuluai
8 Cayless
9 Luke
10 Asotasi
11 Mannering
12 Pritchard
13 Williams
14 Blair
15 Lima
16 Rapira
17 Hohiaia

This is my team , starting lineup as they play in the NRL , its crazy putting SBW in the halfs , at lock he has free reign on both left and right side edges , has an unbeleivable offload , rotate roy with Lima , cayless with Rapira , blair rotates with pritchard and mannering in 2nd row , Hohiaia is cover for the halves hooker and the backs , We can beat australia up front terrorize the backs with williams on the edges , kick early in the tackle count 2nd or 3rd bomb inglis and folau early not at the end of completion , Aussie always compress their D line look to go early over the top perrett and SKD pushing up , No powerplays look for tip on's and 2 to 3 passes , lot's of 2nd phase play ,
I'll say it straight this bullsh*t that its gona be 40+ nah we can win this , there's nothing better than a Kiwi team with its back to the Wall , I love being the underdog , 1 Word boy's CADDLEDOG all in brawl first min , then after that drive anything with green and yellow into the middle of next month ,
World Cup in Oct , NZ going to win it australia going to get knock out by Samoa in the semi's we gona play England in the final Bring on next Fiday night

Alehana

1 Perrett
2 Nightengale
3 Soliola
4 Matai
5 Kenny Dowall
6 Roberts
7 Leuluai
8 Cayless
9 Luke
10 Asotasi
11 Mannering
12 Pritchard
13 Williams
14 Blair
15 Lima
16 Rapira
17 Hohiaia

This is my team , starting lineup as they play in the NRL , its crazy putting SBW in the halfs , at lock he has free reign on both left and right side edges , has an unbeleivable offload , rotate roy with Lima , cayless with Rapira , blair rotates with pritchard and mannering in 2nd row , Hohiaia is cover for the halves hooker and the backs , We can beat australia up front terrorize the backs with williams on the edges , kick early in the tackle count 2nd or 3rd bomb inglis and folau early not at the end of completion , Aussie always compress their D line look to go early over the top perrett and SKD pushing up , No powerplays look for tip on's and 2 to 3 passes , lot's of 2nd phase play ,
I'll say it straight this bullsh*t that its gona be 40+ nah we can win this , there's nothing better than a Kiwi team with its back to the Wall , I love being the underdog , 1 Word boy's CADDLEDOG all in brawl first min , then after that drive anything with green and yellow into the middle of next month ,
World Cup in Oct , NZ going to win it australia going to get knock out by Samoa in the semi's we gona play England in the final Bring on next Fiday night

Wow, i like ur confidence, wish i could feel that way as well, at the start of the yr i thought our juniors eg SKD, paea, Filiga would be superstars by now and we'd win the world cup, altho i still think we can win it, i'm not as confident, hope they play buy ur gameplan friday and it pays off.

LeagueMad

Got to have some faith alehana , if we play the same way we get the same result , I say let's change it up a bit wot u reckon

1. Sam Perret
2. SKD
3. Steve Matai
4. Sia Soliola
5. Nightengale
6. Setimata Saa
7. Ben Roberts
8. Nathan Cayless
9. Nathan Fien
10. Roy Asotasi (c)
11. Frank Prtichard
12. Simon Mannering