Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights make cashed up bid for Origin players Snowden and TLL

Serc

How the Sharks let the Kade out of the bag
February 18, 2011

Cronulla thought Kade Snowden was locked in. They were very wrong, writes Chris Barrett.
By 2.50 yesterday afternoon, 20 minutes after Kade Snowden and Shane Flanagan were scheduled to front up for a news conference at Toyota Stadium, there was more than a slight whiff that something was up. Player, coach and club officials were nowhere to be seen.
Had the young front-rower somehow not received the message that Cronulla were proudly unveiling him on a fresh two-year contract?
A modest media contingent was gathered in the Sutherland Shire aside from the Herald. Snowden might be one of the better emerging props in the game but this was not Greg Inglis or Wayne Bennett putting pen to paper.
What should have been a run-of-the-mill announcement, however, quickly and quietly turning into an unexpected afternoon of panic.
Unbeknown to a bemused media pack, Snowden was holed up across the field inside Cronulla Sutherland Leagues Club with Flanagan and Darren Mooney, the club's general manager of football.
Mooney had received a call from Snowden's manager Todd Buckingham about half an hour before the press conference was due to start, saying there had been a last-minute complication in the 24-year-old extending his deal with the Sharks.
Snowden, rattled by an enormous late offer in the range of $400,000 to $500,000 a season over four years, was sent home, considered in no condition to face any probing questions. The NSW Origin rookie of last year had agreed terms on a two-year contract with Cronulla on Wednesday night, and the Sharks considered his actual signing a formality.
So convinced were they of their retention coup, apparently achieved in the face of a concerted effort by Snowden's former club Newcastle to snare him back, that they issued a press release just before noon announcing the news along with interview opportunities with the player. Then, at 2.40pm, when Snowden should have been midway through talking to journalists came another scheduled release from the club, containing comments from Flanagan, captain Paul Gallen and Snowden himself.
''I'm really happy to have re-signed with the Sharks,'' Snowden was quoted as saying. ''I basically started my career here, all the boys are my best mates and I love playing for the Sharks. Pre-season has gone really well to date, we're all very keen to get out on the field and play some footy. Shane went really well when he took over at the end of last season and this pre-season things are really falling into shape. I'm very happy things have worked out.''
As it turned out, Snowden's words were a little premature - 20 minutes after the send button was pushed on that release, a despondent Mooney appeared on the Toyota Stadium turf, wandered over, apologised, and said the presser was off. No further details at present, he added.
Thoughts immediately turned to the Knights, but they quickly denied they had made a 11th-hour play for Snowden, saying they had withdrawn their offer for him on February 9. The Sharks, in the second of another two public statements they would put out before day's end, would say only that a third party had contacted Snowden with a counter-offer, but little reading between the lines was required to know they believed the mining magnate was on the other end of the line.
Snowden, who the club said was ''under a lot of stress'', spent much of what was left of the afternoon with Gallen, perhaps the best man to convince him his future lay in the Shire. The Sharks, thoroughly flabbergasted by the whole affair but sympathetic to Snowden's situation, said they would give the prop more time to come to a decision.
Even after yesterday's drama, they remain hopeful that he will re-sign with the club. When and if he does, it will be some press conference.
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...t-the-kade-out-of-the-bag-20110217-1aya0.html

Serc

Knights and Tinkler deny approach
Chris Barrett and Brad Walter
February 18, 2011

NATHAN TINKER'S sports company has rejected claims the prospective Newcastle Knights owner made a $2 million offer to Kade Snowden that led to the NSW Origin prop reneging on a deal to stay at the Sharks.
Tinkler Sports Group chairman Ken Edwards and Knights chief executive Steve Burraston both moved quickly to deny any approach from their organisations to Snowden after the 24-year-old Newcastle junior yesterday failed to front a news conference called to announce his re-signing with Cronulla.
The Herald is aware of allegations that Tinkler had personally contacted Snowden less than an hour before the scheduled 2.30pm conference to significantly trump the Sharks deal.

Nathan-Tinkler-200x0.jpg
In denial ... Nathan Tinkler. Photo: Vince Caligiuri

It is understood the deal that Snowden had agreed to on Wednesday night was worth about $300,000 a season for two years, whereas the alleged Tinkler offer was supposedly valued at between $400,000 to $500,000 a season over four years.
Tinkler is in negotiations to buy the Knights and details of an offer are being finalised before he and the Newcastle board take the deal to club members to vote on, which is expected to happen sometime next month after the competition starts on March 11.
The mining magnate has been linked with an approach to master coach Wayne Bennett and Snowden is said to be his favourite player.
Sharks officials remain hopeful of re-signing Snowden and issued a statement last night in an attempt to clarify the bizarre events that resulted in the club earlier announcing in a press release quoting the Blues representative that he would be staying put for a further two years.
"The club agreed to terms last night with Kade and his management for the 2012 and 2013 seasons and the club informed his manager that a press conference would be held today," the media statement said. "Shortly before the press conference Kade was contacted directly by a third party with a substantial counter offer. It was an unfortunate situation and Kade wasn't in the right frame of mind to front the media at the time.
"Despite speculation this afternoon, the Sharks have been in contact with the Newcastle Knights chairman [Robert Tew] and CEO [Burraston] and they have confirmed that the club has not made any other offer.
"Pressure that has been applied by a third party and the timing of such, has placed Kade under a lot of stress today, and we felt that it was in his best interests not to hold the press conference this afternoon.
"Kade is comfortable with the deal put forward by the Sharks, however, due to the unforeseen circumstances that have arisen at the last minute, the club has agreed to give him some additional time to comes to terms with recent developments."
Burraston confirmed the Knights had been in negotiations with Snowden but said they had withdrawn their offer to him on February 9.
"We've had no negotiations with Kade Snowden and his management since that time," Burraston said. "Any offer that came in recent times has not come from the Newcastle Knights."
Edwards told the Herald: "We are not in a position to sign anyone, that is a matter for the Knights. Our dealings are with the Knights board and until such time as the deal goes through and is approved by the Knights members we have no ability to sign players."
Edwards also denied that the Tinkler Sports Group had directly approached any players from other clubs, saying: "It would be inappropriate to do so."
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...nd-tinkler-deny--approach-20110217-1ayat.html

Serc

Kade Snowden all about loyalty ... unless

AT 1.15pm yesterday, NSW prop Kade Snowden told The Daily Telegraph exactly why he wanted to remain with Cronulla for the next two years.
"I'm old school," Snowden said. "I am all about loyalty and respect. That is the way I was brought up. I love Cronulla and all the boys are my best mates. Loyalty means a lot to me."
Fifty-five minutes later the precise extent of that loyalty was revealed when Snowden refused to attend his own press conference in the face of a $1.6 million counter offer, believed to be from the Newcastle Knights.
In a day of high drama, Cronulla trumpeted Snowden's retention in a press release that invited the media to interview him at Toyota Stadium at 2.30pm.
But Snowden did not show up after receiving a rich new offer - worth significantly more than Cronulla's - just 20 minutes before the press conference.
His going AWOL at the last minute has embarrassed Cronulla officials, who were forced to abruptly cancel the media conference without explanation.
Another press statement at that point read: "Confidential discussions are ongoing and we cannot go into details at this point in time."
Sharks coach Shane Flanagan and club chairman Damian Irvine held an emergency meeting yesterday afternoon at Cronulla Leagues Club and will meet with Snowden today in a bid to settle the drama.
It is not yet known whether Snowden will honour his deal.
"He was rattled by the phone call [with the offer]," Flanagan said.
"It was an offer for big, big money. His heading was spinning, so we gave him the afternoon off.
"Kade hasn't told us he won't honour the contract. We are hoping to sort it out. Kade is a good, solid kid. He is 100 per cent behind what we're doing."
Snowden has agreed to terms with Cronulla but has not formally signed a contract.
There was also a sub-plot to the new offer. Newcastle privately claimed it came from Nathan Tinkler, the multi-millionaire who is set to buy the club and is a massive fan of Snowden.
However, Tinkler's management vehemently denied they had made an offer.
Flanagan rang Newcastle chief executive Steve Burraston yesterday afternoon to ask whether Newcastle had made a late bid. Burraston denied it. "It's nothing to do with us," Burraston said.
Snowden had been in deep contract discussions with Knights coach Rick Stone in recent weeks. There were even suggestions he had agreed to terms.
A Tinkler Sports Group representative said last night: "We are making a bid for the Knights but until the members have their vote, it would be inappropriate, presumptuous and disrespectful to enter the player market."
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...t-loyalty-unless/story-e6frexnr-1226007830294

Serc

Nathan Tinkler looming large over NRL

MINING magnate Nathan Tinkler is yet to get his hands on the Newcastle Knights, but he is already making his presence felt across the NRL.
Tinkler, whose $100 million bid to take over the club is due to go before members next month, was in the crosshairs yesterday after embarrassed Cronulla officials were forced to cancel a press conference trumpeting the re-signing of NSW prop Kade Snowden.
The Sharks were seething, making an official complaint to NRL chief executive David Gallop amid speculation Tinkler had launched a last-ditch bid to stop Snowden - a Newcastle junior - finalising the two-year extension.
"I have spoken to the Sharks," Gallop said.
"Certainly at first glance it appears that the player agreed to a contract with the Sharks and while the Tinkler Group are only a potential stakeholder of the Knights, it is difficult to see how an offer can be made to the player."
The Knights were initially interested in Snowden, but dropped negotiations last week due to salary cap pressures. Snowden subsequently informed Newcastle officials on Wednesday night he planned to stay at Cronulla.
Ahead of yesterday's press conference, Cronulla released a statement in which Snowden was quoted as saying: "I'm really happy to have re-signed with the Sharks.
"I basically started my career here, all the boys are my best mates and I love playing for the Sharks."
Then, less than 20 minutes before yesterday's official press conference was due to begin, Snowden received a mystery phone call encouraging him to reconsider his position.
Newcastle chief executive Steve Burraston rang Cronulla coach Shane Flanagan to reassure him no one from the Knights had made the call. But Burraston has no control over Tinkler, given he has no formal role with the club.
A spokesperson for the Tinkler Sports Group denied any approach to Snowden and said: "The TSG is not in a position to do that and it would be disrespectful to the members of the Knights if we were to enter the playing arena before the members have the right to vote."
But that didn't stop the rumour mill kicking into top gear. There was speculation last night Snowden was only the first target of Tinkler, who is intent on bringing Newcastle players back to the club. Other potential targets include Greg Bird and Jamal Idris, although the Gold Coast has an option on its contract with Bird and the Bulldogs are ready to begin talks with Idris.
It is understood Tinkler has also phoned Wayne Bennett as he attempts to convince the seven-time premiership winning coach to join the club next season. Bennett is off-contract with St George Illawarra and is widely expected to link with South Sydney in 2012.
However, should Tinkler gain control of the Knights, it has the potential to set up an intriguing battle between two of the game's larger-than-life figures. The Rabbitohs are co-owned by Oscar-winning actor Russell Crowe, who is believed to have targeted Bennett to take over from John Lang.
Sharks officials remain confident Snowden will be at the club next year, although they are giving the star frontrower space to collect his thoughts.
"We came to a verbal agreement with Snowy," Sharks coach Shane Flanagan said.
"He copped a bit of pressure from a third party later in the day which threw it all out of whack.
"He was certainly in no state to be presented for questioning. From our point of view we're giving Snowy some time to let him digest and have a deep breath."
The latest setback couldn't come at a worse time for the Sharks. On Monday night, the club is due to vote on a proposal that could determine whether the club survives beyond this year.
Asked whether he was confident Snowden would honour his agreement, Flanagan said: "I would like to think so. Snowy certainly hasn't told us he's not.
"It's this third party that's thrown it all about, not even at the 11th hour, but at the 13th hour."
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/new...g-large-over-nrl/story-e6frg7mf-1226007826249

timka4

I haven't fully read into what Tinkler's involvement with the club means for us and the actual club itself.
But it seems like Tinkler really wants the Knights too succeed and if he can get good players / coaches here it'll almost be the best thing that has happened to us over the past 3 or so years wouldn't it? Or even more

Although I don't see Bennett coming here post 2011

Sacrolishes

Man this is nuts. I just hope this doesn't cause members of the Knights to start freaking out that their 'worst nightmares are coming true' that there is a big money man controlling every decision the Knights try and make! I'm as excited as everyone in here about Tinkler and the possibility of it being himself trying to get Snowden and Bennett to the Knights. We need it. Just hope all the member ( or at least 75% of them :p ) see so as well!

On another note. If Tinkler is behind all this.. and Snowden signs with us.... Will there be reason for the NRL to launch an investigation? Considering Tinkler is not even with the Knights yet, is it even legal?? haha.

Crazy stuff. If Snowy has a deal with the Sharks he needs to honour it. Last thing we want to be like is Russell 'contracts are nothing' Crowe.

Alex28

Crazy stuff. If Snowy has a deal with the Sharks he needs to honour it. Last thing we want to be like is Russell 'contracts are nothing' Crowe.

I guess Kade will be a done deal you would think. I don't mind him backing out of a deal if he hadn't signed anything and if it is verbal then in this day and age it means nowt. Bennett must be seriously strongly considering us now as he has a future boss who can get him what he wants.
Conflicted much mate?

;-)

macavity

I am hoping this is a "mate" of Tinkler's trying to curry favour and Tinkler has nothing to do with it, if only because it could get our club into Melbourne-style trouble.

There may be no honour amongst theives (or mining magnates), but there should be honour in business, and even moreso in sport.

If this is true it is a very bad precedent to set -

How is he going to treat his stakeholders?
Is he going to sack coaches/staff/players like he sacks trainers?
Is he going to try to screw the club in the takeover?
How can we accept "trust me" from him - if he doesn't respect other people's undertakings, how easily will be disregard his own?

I hope that Burro and Tew are making sure things are rock solid in the agreement - IF this is true, I don't think we can trust him unless we have it in writing. I have a strong feeling that it is still a fair way from over the line, and we are going to see another bullying tact through the media very soon - to push it through before the state election.

This has me concerned, not excited.

sharknows

I guess Tinkler is demonstrated how he became so rich. No scruples or morals. Are the knights to become the new Melbourne with him at the helm? I hope not....but it's looking that way.

I sincerely don't care how we get quality players as long as we do.

The important thing is the end, not the means to me and 90% of other supporters for the club I reckon.

roopy

If Souths can sign Inglis through a dodgy third party deal that allegedly makes him a role model for WA aboriginals who have never heard of him, all bets are off.
I'm a bit sorry that the Sharks are our 'victims', but rich clubs have been doing it to us for years.

Same here I do feel very bad for the Sharks, but not bad enough I wouldn't be over the moon if he was in a Newcastle jumper for 2012 instead.

B-dos

lol... geez mac.. youve made an art form out of taking a non-issue and turning it into more and more evidence big bad tinkler is going to ruin us

i like most it seems are quite pleased we (potentially) have someone with ambition in charge and who seeks to get the best results on the field. playing within the rules to maximise success is 'honorable' in most peoples books

Sacrolishes

Mac is correct in what has said tho. If he is going behind Knights officials to get this done then there goes out the window what he said to us in the beginning that he wouldn't interfere with the clubs dealings!

I wouldn't have a problem with him doing this if he had already brought us out. BUT he isn't and I think as it would stand.. this would be illegal!!

The vote isn't until first week of March. ( I think ) I actually find hard to believe the Sharks let alone Kade would wait that long to make a decision, especially considering he was meant to sign Yesterday!!