Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights v Raiders Crowd - Over/Under 20,000

Karmawave

There was an article in the Daily Tele today stating that the NRL has a strong chance of breaking the all time first round crowd record this weekend.

In the article, it has pencilled in 20,000 for the Knights first game this weekend.

What's the verdict? Will the Knights have 20,000 at EAS in Round 1?

It will be a major concern if they don't to be honest.

Saturday night isn't the best night for attracting crowds at Knights games with people unable to attend due to other sporting commitments etc, so it will be interesting to see how many turn up when we have everything to play for and a feeling of optimism having not lost a game yet.

I'd love to see a crowd of 20,000 listed, but I am thinking 17 or 18 is more likely - and that would be disappointing for the Knights I am sure.

MC DUI

I'm thinking 17 to 18 as well, Saturday nights are never that great for the Knights.

antonius

As already stated Saturday night is prob the worst time for Knights games. A lot of the financial problems we had last year were because of the amount of Friday Night, Saturday night and Monday night games we had. Sunday arvo is the go in Newcastle. I reckon anything over 15,000 will be a bonus.

Jobdog

I'd like to think 20,000 could be achieved, but I think it'll be closer to the 17 or 18,000 mark

Hanscholo

I thought the article said 18k, but ill stand corrected. If expect 16.5 to 20 for that match, which is still pretty disapointing really.

Karmawave

There was no way in the world there was 17,000 people here the other night as stated in the " official " figures.

There would have been lucky to have been 15,000.

You can see on the TV even that both end bays were completely empty, and the hill certainly had alot of space.

Yet another Knights home game where they would be losing money. Not a good sign.

however, we did win the match.

expect a bigger crowd next week... and if we keep putting wins on the board, more and more disillusioned fans will get back on the bandwagon.

Karmawave

Karmawave said:
I'd love to see a crowd of 20,000 listed, but I am thinking 17 or 18 is more likely - and that would be disappointing for the Knights I am sure.

Well if we are giving ourselves pats on the back Job Dog... ;-) :lol:

Knight87

I don't know why ppl are fretting out over the crowd attendances and the comparison with the Jets. To put things in perspective, there was 17,233 ppl on Sat night. In the last A-League season, the Jets (out of 10/11 home games) only had one crowd figure higher than 17,233 (that was its finals match vs Central Coast, which got 22,960). So, I hope that puts things into perspective

KniGhTs BaTTLeR

Knight87 said:
I don't know why ppl are fretting out over the crowd attendances and the comparison with the Jets. To put things in perspective, there was 17,233 ppl on Sat night. In the last A-League season, the Jets (out of 10/11 home games) only had one crowd figure higher than 17,233 (that was its finals match vs Central Coast, which got 22,960). So, I hope that puts things into perspective

Not really. Who cares about the Jets im more worried about how people have started to abandon Knights games? 5 years ago we would have had 20,000 without even breaking a sweat but they will come back I guess.

KniGhTs BaTTLeR said:
Not really. Who cares about the Jets im more worried about how people have started to abandon Knights games? 5 years ago we would have had 20,000 without even breaking a sweat but they will come back I guess.
it's simple, andrew johns retired and brian smith cleaned the place out. the crowds will return when we put the runs on the board.

nothing to freak out about - anyone who actually thought about it for 3 seconds should have seen this coming a mile away. if we don't perform and continue to be cellar dwellers, then we have issues.

Karmawave

Knight87 said:

The difference is, the Newcastle Knights have publically declared in the past, that it takes a crowd of 18,000 people for the club to break EVEN financially at each home game.

All this means that any crowd less than 18,000 means a loss for the club, and the ' hope ' that a 20,000+ crowd can make up for it later in the year. Besides that, there was no way there was 17,233 people there last weekend.

Given the Knights lost $1.2Million last financial year, the club cannot afford another season of poor crowds.

The club can lie all they like about the official attendance, but the crowd there the other night was a financial loss for a club that without the sponsorship we get, would really be struggling.

Just another reason that the upcoming board elections are incredibly important for the future of the club.

A change at board level is required.

Hopefully every member is aware of the dire financial state of the club, and recognises that the board needs improvement and that their votes are imperative to the future of the Knights club.

The Knights have no reason NOT to be one of the most profitable clubs in the competition, but a more proactive board and management is required if we are to achieve being a truly professional NRL team. We have an entire region to market to after all, and we are the only NRL club in the area. The current board takes its supporters for granted - thats half the problem.

Big Tim

perverse said:
however, we did win the match.

expect a bigger crowd next week... and if we keep putting wins on the board, more and more disillusioned fans will get back on the bandwagon.

I think it also has to do with the opposition.

See the crowds when we play a Sydney based team.

macavity

Karmawave said:
A change at board level is required.

Hopefully every member is aware of the dire financial state of the club, and recognises that the board needs improvement and that their votes are imperative to the future of the Knights club.

The Knights have no reason NOT to be one of the most profitable clubs in the competition, but a more proactive board and management is required if we are to achieve being a truly professional NRL team. We have an entire region to market to after all, and we are the only NRL club in the area. The current board takes its supporters for granted - thats half the problem.

suggestions?

the wedding planner? the butcher? maybe the bitter ex-player?

who is going to turn things around mate?

Karmawave

My grandmother and her bingo crew could run the club better than the way its being run currently mate.

So Im guessing the butcher, the baker and the candlestick maker might be a decent option ;-)

jhonny bravo

Knight87 said:
And Guess what day that was a nice warm Sunday afternoon. That just goes to show that people in newcastle will support anything played on a sunday afternoon. More Sunday games please.

it's easy to criticize the board on the financial situation of the club, but coming up with genuine solutions is a different matter altogether.

since i'm not privvy to what actions are already being taken i wouldn't even know where to start.

Karmawave

perverse said:
it's easy to criticize the board on the financial situation of the club, but coming up with genuine solutions is a different matter altogether.

since i'm not privvy to what actions are already being taken i wouldn't even know where to start.

The financials are just an outcome from what is a far greater problem - the club fails to have any common business sense and simple marketing techniques.

People can criticize Tony Butterfield all they want for being a whinging ex player, but the reality is he has valid points about the failings of the club. None are more highlighted than the points he made in regard to our 20th anniversary last year.

You would have hardly knew it was the Knights 20th anniversary, and there was hardly any 20th anniversary specific merchandise available for purchase. As was pointed out, the 20,000 odd T Shirts the Knights were able to sell each year when winning the premiership bought a massive cash boost into the club - and simple merchandise like this wasn't even available during the 20th anniversary year in 2007.

There are lots of solutions being offered to the club, but there is a big difference between offering assistance, suggestions and ideas, and the club actually taking any of the suggestions on board and making a difference.

Its disappointing to continually hear that the reason behind much of these problems is because of our financial situation - but isn't it common business sense to spend some money to make some money?

There are countless ideas that are low cost or free that can enhance the Newcastle Knights immediately.

For too long the fans have been taken for granted, and there has been far too much reliance on Andrew Johns pulling a crowd through the gates. There is no room for complacency in 2008, when you are running a professional sporting team.

There could not be a better blueprint for future success than the South Sydney Rabbitohs. While they will lose alot of money last year, they have already reduced the net loss this year, and will be making money in 2009. Simple marketing techniques, involvement with fans, lots of quality available merchandise, and basic business common sense is all it has taken to turn the Rabbitohs from a laughing stock to the image they currently have.

In Newcastle we have a massive advantage of being a one town team, and instead of utilising this to profit as much as they can, there is too much sitting on hands and simply expecting fans to turn up to games because we are winning games.

People say success on the field leads to success off it - but I counter with success on the field starts with success in the front office.

There is no better example of that than South Sydney - whos image and marketing and promotion was enhanced first and foremost before Round 1 last year - only to lead to an appearance in the semi finals after the initial groundwork was laid by the great efforts of staff at Souths. That type of effort is infectious.

In Newcastle, the biggest enhancement we can make as an organisation is to accept we can do better, and make a difference.

If egos were removed from the equation, one look around at how other clubs are run, is all it should take to see that we are doing something seriously wrong.

I assure you I get no enjoyment out of continually writing what may seem like negative statements about the club - but there are plenty of us who are genuine fans who care, who are more than happy to be proactive, be a part of the solution and not just whinge.

There is so much that can be done, and it really isn't going to take that much to make a huge difference.

A few tweaks and ideas here and there can be the difference between losing 1.2M and losing 200,000.