Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights Vs Roosters - Prelim Final '13

undertaker

And watch, something will happen next week in the Grand Final and it will not be ruled upon. We've been waiting for a referee f**k up to cost a team the premiership and I have a feeling that could be next Sunday.

But imagine if that happened to the Roosters? I'd probably lose it :lol:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6aA-aqDNJY

Well, I posted this video earlier as an example of what current referees lack today compared to years gone by. It was also a Preliminary Final (a.k.a. Grand Final Qualifier). Greg McCallum was one of the best referees in the games history, far better than Hollywood Harrigan (and without the media attention Harrigan had), AND he did not have the benefit of video refs back then. Now, most refs are too scared to make big decisions because of media scrutiny. Biggest example is in Golden Point where teams are never penalised for being offside with field-goal attempts.

Unfortunately, I see the current crop of refs have been greatly influenced by Harrigan by trying to keep the game as free-flowing as possible whilst letting all these manoevres that deserve to be penalised go unpenalised. The problem with the two-referee system is 1) there isn't enough quality in the current refereeing ranks to have double the amount of referees, which is required in the 2 ref system and 2) the WAY the 2 ref system is implemented.

Elaborating on that second point (and I think you will understand what I'm trying to say), in a half of footy, one team is reffed by one ref and the other team by the other ref. This is a mistake as most of the time, as I have observed of since it was implemented in 2009, one team gets away with far more crap than the other (mostly in the wrestling and keeping the 10m). If the 2-ref system is maintained, it should be amended so that the more better, experienced ref is the one "refereeing" the game, keeping the 10m and the other ref is the pocket ref.

undertaker

And watch, something will happen next week in the Grand Final and it will not be ruled upon. We've been waiting for a referee f**k up to cost a team the premiership and I have a feeling that could be next Sunday.

But imagine if that happened to the Roosters? I'd probably lose it :lol:

Although it didn't cost them the GF as they would've had to score a converted try to force the game into Golden Point, the closest case to what you described would be Parramatta in 2009. Down 22-16 with 3 mins to go after the Eels were playing like crap for 70 mins, down 22-6 with 10 mins to go before bagging two quick tries, the Storm clearly lose the ball on their own 20-30m line but the Eels are penalised for a strip. The Storm get down the other end and plot the field goal which cements the win.

However, I do feel it will be a matter of time before there is a monumental refereeing howler in a GF occurs that will be talked about for many years to come and next Sunday maybe the day.

Swarzey

Although it didn't cost them the GF as they would've had to score a converted try to force the game into Golden Point, the closest case to what you described would be Parramatta in 2009. Down 22-16 with 3 mins to go after the Eels were playing like crap for 70 mins, down 22-6 with 10 mins to go before bagging two quick tries, the Storm clearly lose the ball on their own 20-30m line but the Eels are penalised for a strip. The Storm get down the other end and plot the field goal which cements the win.

However, I do feel it will be a matter of time before there is a monumental refereeing howler in a GF occurs that will be talked about for many years to come and next Sunday maybe the day.

Yep, I agree with the Parramatta loss. It was incredibly tough to watch considering the fairytale run they had. It wasn't as bad as some of the decisions that have been made and have cost some teams this year but sadly, clean drops have been mistaken for strips for decades.

Given the quality of refereeing we've had this season and last, It has to happen soon. How much worse can it get?

Fairly beaten, depressing scoreline and circumstances but not exactly disgraced.

At least we knocked off Melbourne and don't have to endure Cam Smith's smugarse balls-in-mouth grin.

Noname36

Anyone who thinks JWH did anything wrong is surely geniused.

The butt hurt in this thread is immense.

The try off of SBWs forward pad was a disgrace but apart from that the refs were good. A close 5-4 penalty count in your favour.

Mate, I'm not going to blame the refs for most of the decisions because we were beaten easily. We completely lost the plot when Bedsy went down.

However that doesn't change the fact that JWH lifted his arm into Bedsy's head. At the end of the day that was the only thing I was really upset about. Imagine if it were Mini's last game and he were knocked out like that at the start of the game? You'd be livid... Especially when it was an intentional act by the opposition.

I still hope you blokes win the comp, but that act has really made it difficult for me to wish for success for either team.

But anyway back to the Knights - good season boys. Can't believe we made it that far after limping into 7th. At the end losing Snowy, Cuthbo and Gids really hurt us. We compensated for their loses as long as we could but we got found out when we came up against a superior forward pack in the chooks. Oh well. Getting this far will be extremely valuable for our young blokes and hopefully we can keep improving next year. Losing Bedsy is gonna hurt but hopefully we'll be okay once Gids and Clydesdale get an off season at hooker under their belts. Another positive is that we won't have to be without Snowy for too many more games either.

Tommy Smith

I wholeheartedly disagree.

JWH had his arm tucked into his side and braced for contact. Bedsy steamed in like the warrior he is and unfortunately got himself in a horrible position.

I was gutted for Bedsy. There's no player I have ever respected more in the game. And there's no player who has consistently performed as well as Bedsy against us.

He deserved so much more. But he's just one of many legends who found out that sport is unforgiving and holds no sentiment.

Look you guys did amazingly well to make it this far. The Bedsy incident was unfortunate and nothing more; and the SBW pass was embarrassing to the point where I didn't really celebrate the try.

But I think we can agree that the Roosters were a class above. Particularly in the forwards which was a shocking mismatch.

But congrats on the season and Goodluck next year.

Noname36

JWH had his arm tucked into his side and braced for contact. Bedsy steamed in like the warrior he is and unfortunately got himself in a horrible position.

I was gutted for Bedsy. There's no player I have ever respected more in the game. And there's no player who has consistently performed as well as Bedsy against us.

He deserved so much more. But he's just one of many legends who found out that sport is unforgiving and holds no sentiment.

Look you guys did amazingly well to make it this far. The Bedsy incident was unfortunate and nothing more; and the SBW pass was embarrassing to the point where I didn't really celebrate the try.

But I think we can agree that the Roosters were a class above. Particularly in the forwards which was a shocking mismatch.

Eh, have another look at it mate. Like you said, JWH had his arm braced for impact, but then he actually moves it into Bedsy's head in a second movement. There's no doubt in my mind it was deliberate, otherwise there was no need for him to move his arm from that braced position.

I don't think JWH intended for him to be knocked out cold like that, but it was still an awful look and made me feel sick. It was just made worse by the fact that it was Bedsy.

And the Roosters were definetly a class above. Losing our two best front rowers just before the semis really hurt us. Our pack managed to hold their own against the Dogs and Storm and get by on sheer determination but we got found out by the class of your forwards.

Good luck next week. If you can handle the likes of Lyon then I think you'll win. Manly's pack is great but yours is on another level to the rest of the comp.

Haffa

Hell no. I'm looking forward to watching them tear each other to pieces. If it's half as good as the first game it will be a special one.

Alex28

Clydesdale will be incredible. I have complete faith he'll be able to step up and become a great, great hooker. It will take some time, but he'll be phenomenal.

It will take some time. Because clearly Gidley will be hooker next year...

Johns Magic

I appreciate the post but I can't agree on the elbow. There was a definite second movement where he thrusts his forearm forward on contact, leading with the point of his elbow.

People might say it was iffy and you could give JWH the benefit of the doubt, but it is habitual with him. It is how he takes a lot of hitups these days, and is why his natural reaction the other week was to raise his elbow flush into McQueen's face. When something like that becomes a technique for a player it needs to be looked at because "unfortunate accidents" like this will keep happening.

But yes, you were the better team and deserved the win. I wasn't expecting us to win but I've got to say it feels like we weren't given much of a chance to pull off an unlikely victory which is the most deflating thing. It would have to have been a mammoth effort though because you guys were great.

Alex28

Elbow definitely lifted. Definite movement. It really was a game changer.

I just can't hack the number of marginal calls that went against us in the first half...

macavity

JWH had his arm tucked into his side and braced for contact

Are you fcucking blind?

ZZZZ-LEAD-THIN-Knights-20130928214239393682-300x0.jpg

Whats Doing

I see no difference with what happened with Mckinnon who was penalised for his arm tucked away to what JWH did last night. The point is there was contact with the head and should have been penalised. It is this inconsistency that is ruining the game.

Anyway, we were blown off the park by the speed and power of the Rooster's forwards.

The speed of Aubusson, Guerra and SBW was clearly a decisive factor and was clearly superior and is something we need to improve on for next year.

Well done to the boys and to reach the final 4 was a great achievement and needs to be built on for next year

If the rumours about Bennett being close to signing Russell Packer are true then we will go up another level next year aggression wise. We are doing very well in that department already.

When Packer is on... he's pretty good. Physical and large. He had a shithouse year this year, though... although I think he's been a bit dogged by injury, too. I would back Wayne to make something of him.

Also a bit of a filthy merkin with the pissing on the field thing.