Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Least favourite TV Commentator

Worst commentator of all time

AlwaysGreen

So crappell's mate warne gets a gig. Warne mates clarke and the saffa/pom wanker gets a Gig.
Slater who licks Warnes and crappell's arse gets a gig.

Gayshaw gets a f**king gig.

Its been a piss in the pocket mates club for years now it's going to get even worse.

Meanwhile Jimmy Maxwell is still recovering from his stroke and will probably be replaced by some afl loving Victorian.

Mute button at the ready.

some11

Blowing smoke up each other's arses with no one around to keep the commentary on topic?

I can't wait!

Timbo

They've gotten rid of the only two worth feeding.

Please let Nine lose the rights next time. Or at the very least let Fox get a simulcast deal.

OVP

Is a mod able to edit the poll ? Looks like Kevin Pieterson has just signed on with nein.

On the subject of Matador Cup commentators, Ryan Carters has a future in the box somewhere IMO. He's been doing some of the games on the CA app and he's mic'd up in the game today, he sometimes sounds a bit like he's reading a pre-prepared speech but he's an exceptionally eloquent cricketer and really has a head for the game.

Stewbum

Healy is terrible but occasionally drops a good line in about NSW bias in selections or rorting the Matador Cup. If you could ask him to fit his pro-Queenslander comments into sixty seconds then piss off he would be okay.

Timbo

After that ridiculous interview last night I'm looking forward to a massive agenda riddled summer from Clarke.

Honestly, I love cricket. It's my favourite sport. But with this insane commentary lineup I don't know if I'll be able to enjoy it this year.

TIGER14

Healy is terrible but occasionally drops a good line in about NSW bias in selections or rorting the Matador Cup. If you could ask him to fit his pro-Queenslander comments into sixty seconds then piss off he would be okay.

Haha, NSW have been dudded this year.
In the Victoria game the Vics had Finch and Wade rejoin the squad after Australia's games. Tomorrow they'll have Hastings.
In the Western Australia game, WA had Mitch Marsh come back.

NSW don't get Smith or Warner back, and have to keep resting Hazlewood and Cummins under CA direction for the upcoming Test series.

mozza91

Clarke has done a really good job commentating in his previous guest stints. So I don't have an issue with him getting a start. But Warne, Pietersen and f*cking Bradshaw? Christ those 3 will be painful.

JJ

Clarke's a narcissistic merkin, I wish Katich and Watson would be more candid, but they have a level of dignity and respect for the game that the likes of Clarke and Warne don't when they're are frantically trying to get headlines

undertaker

For those looking forward to Brayshaw no longer being in the Ch9 cricket commentary box, some potentially good news here that we've finally been waiting for:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...s/news-story/4b2d317ba895513bdb332dec876bf0cc

James Brayshaw is said to have placed a call to Seven bosses, sounding out the possibility of calling football next year, with Brayshaw having told friends he doesn’t expect to have a heavy cricket schedule this summer.

Could that mean he won’t be part of Nine’s summer of cricket team, a team that will welcome the polarising presence of Michael Clarke next month?

I really hope the part underlined in bold is true. This politically-correct, 'eeeeeeeeeeeeevery child is a winner' moron has been nothing but an infectious germ since he started at Ch9, who's brown-nosed his way up the Ch9 ranks, spruiking AFL at any opportunity (especially when he's commentating alongside Warne) and other mundane topics. Also his awful, high-pitched, teenage sounding voice still scars my mind and undoubtedly wrecked one of memorable moments of the 2013/14 Ashes: when Australia took the final wicket in Perth.

Clarke's a narcissistic merkin, I wish Katich and Watson would be more candid, but they have a level of dignity and respect for the game that the likes of Clarke and Warne don't when they're are frantically trying to get headlines

As much as I'm not a Clarke fan (in light of the fall-out from the 60 Minute interview), I'm all for the inclusion of Clarke and Pietersen if it means permanently getting rid of Brayshaw (meaning Warne is the only AFL Victorian in the commentary box). If Ch9 also got rid of Warne, I could put up with Nickelarse/Chappell/Taylor/Slater/Healy/Clarke/Pietersen as the commentary team.

However, if Clarke gets regularly partnered alongside Warne in the commentary box, I really hate to think what the dialogue could be

undertaker

Haha, NSW have been dudded this year.
In the Victoria game the Vics had Finch and Wade rejoin the squad after Australia's games. Tomorrow they'll have Hastings.
In the Western Australia game, WA had Mitch Marsh come back.

NSW don't get Smith or Warner back, and have to keep resting Hazlewood and Cummins under CA direction for the upcoming Test series.

NSW, with an understrength side, still won the Matador Cup quite comfortably. Had they had Smith and Starc (like they did last year, leading run-scorer and leading wicket-taker of the tournament) in the side, it would've been a no-contest.

They've gotten rid of the only two worth feeding.

Please let Nine lose the rights next time. Or at the very least let Fox get a simulcast deal.

So, was Lee/Hussey shafted or did they leave on their own terms? The article is very wishy-washy about that.

Unfortunately, international matches involving the Australian team, played in Australia, are on the anti-siphoning list. This means that a FTA network must televise them. Also, this complicates any potential simulcasting deal with Fox Sports, unless Fox offers to fork out a large amount of money, and potentially be forced to show Ch9's ads like they did with Ch10 during the Bathurst 1000. It would have to be on those terms, otherwise I don't ever see Ch9 agreeing to simulcast with Fox Sports.

Regarding the FTA networks, ABC and SBS simply don't have the money to compete with Ch7/9/10. Ch7 televise the Australian Open tennis which has rated well for many years, so they won't be giving that up anytime soon. As the tv rights are a bundle (consisting of Tests/ODIs/T20s/Matador Cup), that automatically rules out Ch7. Therefore, Ch10 is realistically the only other network that could compete with Ch9 for the tv rights