Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

LOL @ Manly!!!

Ronnie Dobbs

Fully expect our team to look different next year, successful clubs that win premierships cant expect to hold on to all the players that get them there. Fact of life, its choosing who to keep and build around for another run is the key and DCE is clearly a guy we need to do that.

What do people think he is worth??

250. He's had a single season. A magic one at that, but he's not a factor a lot of the time. He's Hodkinson with speed.

Player market is crazy. DCE has a lot of balls doing this to Manly. They gave him a start and the vultures are circling.if he wins the Dally M then he cab ask for the money he wants.

ceagle

Also pays to read more than the title of the articles in the papers. Cherry-Evans wants to stay at Manly, his manager wants him to stay at Manly. This is just another player manager playing games to get a better commission. Think of it like the threats to go and play yawnion, fumbleball or whatever that never eventuate. Orr knew Manly would say no to the release (he more or less said he didn't expect to get it) but it's a card he felt he had to play. Glenn Stewart is contracted until 2014 so no worries there. We may lose Brett but if we do that will free up the cash to keep the other 2. No way will Manly lose all 4. It's just more of the same media agenda that's been going on for the past 6 months.
DCE never asked for a release, his manager proposed it to the club if his deal isnt upgraded for next year.

eozsmiles

Yeah, a bit hard to lol at the premiers. To win two comps in 4 years, one with virtual rookie halves and garbage props, is pretty sharp.
Other clubs should really have a look at how they do things. From being virtually out the door and having no players under contract other than Menzies, and go on to win two comps in a few years time and make the finals 7 years in a row is the benchmark for footy in the salary cap age.

They will have their lean years but I dont know when. I thought they would be crap when Hodgkinson was their 7, I thought they'd suck when DCE got the gig. Made the 8 one year and won the comp the next. I won't be betting on Manly getting a wooden spoon.

Manly should upgrade him $150k this year, $250k next year and let him, know they'll look after him the year after.

You'd loose the Stewart brothers before Foran and DCE IMO.

The AXXXMAN

Isnt this the point of a salary cap? Or would the OP prefer another Melbourne Storm-like cheating scandal.

f**king idiot.

eozsmiles

DCE never asked for a release, his manager proposed it to the club if his deal isnt upgraded for next year.

He technically has to be released to sign an upgraded deal anyway. The DT enjoy using the word as it scares fans and implies he wants to leave today.

taxidriver

any fan of any other club who says they wouldn't want to enjoy the success manly fans have enjoyed in recent times is full of BS

Pugzley

They won the comp and then had to shed some players. Which put them in a better light than those Victorians.

hardbaby

The fact that so many supporters from so many different clubs, many who admit their hatred of manly, agree that this is not a lol topic would indicate that the league needs to make some modifications to the salary cap.

The cap evens out the comp nicely but there needs to be better rewards for grading/developing players, particularly juniors.

Otherwise we will end up with a team of hired guns and the tribalism that defines league will be a thing of the past. I hate soccer. Let's not be like soccer.

firechild

Agree. It is hard for fans (especially kids) to stay loyal when the players they cheer for each week get punted from the club due to salary cap restrictions. Manly are on the verge of losing Brett Stewart who is on the verge of being a 10 year player for the club. His brother is a year behind and Watmough and King are already there. The NRL needs to encourage these blokes to remain at the club they started with.

Fingerbang

I am another....born in Manly, Uncle played for Manly, hated them since early 70's, but refuse to laugh at them despite what is happening. Also, they are still premiers for another 6 and a half months at least. Sound ludicrous to lol at the reigning premiers.

Now if this were to happen to Nick Politis and his c**ks, the tears of laughter would be flowing for a very long time.

Agree. It is hard for fans (especially kids) to stay loyal when the players they cheer for each week get punted from the club due to salary cap restrictions. Manly are on the verge of losing Brett Stewart who is on the verge of being a 10 year player for the club. His brother is a year behind and Watmough and King are already there. The NRL needs to encourage these blokes to remain at the club they started with.

FMD

you idiots got half your players from other clubs and now you're all having a sook because some might leave

if the NRL encouraged blokes to remain at clubs they started with you couldn't field a team

Manly will be in some real financial strife when this when the current era of on field success finally ends.

My crystal ball certainly doesnt foresee that happening in the immediate future.

I am another....born in Manly, Uncle played for Manly, hated them since early 70's, but refuse to laugh at them despite what is happening. Also, they are still premiers for another 6 and a half months at least. Sound ludicrous to lol at the reigning premiers.

Now if this were to happen to Nick Politis and his c**ks, the tears of laughter would be flowing for a very long time.

It did in 2005...

Tommax25

Ha gotta laugh at Manly self destructing.

Losing Cherry-Evans, Foran, Stewart Brothers. Club with big financial problems.

Get ready for your Wooden Spoon years coming up!!:D:D:D

I'll never understand this thinking. If your club was offered a guarenteed premiership and then years of losing your best players, rebuilding from scrap and suffering from mediocrity and missing the finals you would 100% take it. This kind of thing is the result of sucess. 2008 and 20011 premiers>losing players, and we're not going to lose all 4 lol

Some people are sados :?

firechild

FMD

you idiots got half your players from other clubs and now you're all having a sook because some might leave

if the NRL encouraged blokes to remain at clubs they started with you couldn't field a team

B. Stewart
G. Stewart
K. Foran
D. Cherry-Evans
A. Watmough
J. King
D. Lussick
V. Mauro
J. Buhrer
M. Oldfield
D. Williams
S. Matai
M. Ballin

Are all regular starters at Manly that have never played first grade at another club. But hey, why let facts get in the way of another Parra whinge?