Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

LOL @ Roosters

lotm said:
Renowned League Expert said:
It seems like a fair enough request to me. The Roosters have had to play behind the eight-ball for too long.

Hopefully this could even things up a little.

but seriously, those asking for the abolishment of the cap don't understand what it's for, and don't understand what's best for the game.

Who's asking for the salary cap to be abolished? Certainly not the Roosters.

I don't think YOU know what the salary cap was introduced for. It was brought in to protect clubs from themselves; to stop them from going broke. The evidence of this lies in the salary caps during those first few years, during the mid 80s. The poorer clubs such as Wests and Cronulla were on caps of $1.1 million, while the financially solvent clubs had a cap of $1.6 million.

It's pure ignorance that people think the cap was designed to "level the playing field". It wasn't. It may well be a _side-effect_ of the salary cap, but it certainly isn't and wasn't the reason for its introduction.

The NRL may well promote it as such, but they're not fooling anybody who understands anything about the game.

lotm

mate, you seem to have trouble understanding that there were multiple reasons for the cap's introduction. other people have more than a two-dimensional thinking pattern.

lotm said:
mate, you seem to have trouble understanding that there were multiple reasons for the cap's introduction. other people have more than a two-dimensional thinking pattern.

I was there when the cap was introduced and it had NOTHING to do with spreading the talent, and everything to do with keeping clubs solvent. Like I said, if it does spread the talent somewhat, it's a welcome by-product ... but it's certainly not the reason it was implemented.

lotm

:roll:

if you don't think that the administrators at the time knew that equalisation was going to be a result, and you don't think it was a factor (regardless of degree) in their decision, then you're incredibly naive.

lotm said:

if you don't think that the administrators at the time knew that equalisation was going to be a result, and you don't think it was a factor (regardless of degree) in their decision, then you're incredibly naive.

I don't you think you read what I wrote. I'll repeat it. It's a welcome by-product. But that's all it is. If the cap was, as you say, introduced as a "leveller", why then did the less solvent clubs have a lower cap than the others? Surely it would be the other way around?

lotm

lotm said:

I don't you think you read what I wrote. I'll repeat it. It's a welcome by-product. But that's all it is. If the cap was, as you say, introduced as a "leveller", why then did the less solvent clubs have a lower cap than the others? Surely it would be the other way around?
i don't think you read, or comprehended, what i wrote. i never said the cap was introduced solely, or even primarily, as an equaliser, but it definately had some influence on their decision.

labelling it a by-product of, rather than a factor in, the decision suggests equalisation was unexpected. it wasn't.

lotm said:
lotm said:

labelling it a by-product of, rather than a factor in, the decision suggests equalisation was unexpected. it wasn't.

It suggests nothing of the sort.

lotm

so are you saying that the administration knew, before it was put in place, that equalisation would be an effect of the cap?

Simon

If the Roosters think it costs to much to live is Sydney the answer is simple. Move to Wellington, Gold Coast, Central Coast, Adelaide or Perth. What do I care anyway, as far as I'm concerned they can move to England and play in the English Super League. That way their salary cap will be increased.

ozzy_ozman

Seriously... why do you goosters fans consider the salary cap as "illegal"?

As a doggies fan... i reckon the salary cap is fair as it keeps the competition even.

If the rorters do get their way by scraping the salary cap than there will be one club in the comp and that is the roosters once they buy all the best players in the comp and that why... it will keep uncle nick politis happy :mrgreen:

m0j0

ozzy_ozman said:
Seriously... why do you goosters fans consider the salary cap as "illegal"?

Why does everyone generalise when talking about Roosters fans? I've never said I consider the cap illegal. I think this current idea of a concession for the Roosters is ludicrous and I sincerely hope that it's nothing more than a bit of politcal showmanship. Even if it is, I'm getting sick of the management bringing on all this crap and I wish they'd just stick to playing the game.
The cap should be the same for all clubs and there should be no concessions. I agree to an annual increase of the cap in line with CPI, but that's it.

Ahhhhhhhhhh The roosters,

How important can one club be ?

How high can one opinion be of ones self ?

Is it more expensive to live in the eastern suburbs than it is in the northern beaches ?

Do the roosters actually give 2 flying farks about anyone else but themselves, or the game of rugby league ?

Ahhhhhhhhh the roosters. :roll: :roll: :roll:

DJ1

I don't think YOU know what the salary cap was introduced for. It was brought in to protect clubs from themselves; to stop them from going broke. The evidence of this lies in the salary caps during those first few years, during the mid 80s. The poorer clubs such as Wests and Cronulla were on caps of $1.1 million, while the financially solvent clubs had a cap of $1.6 million.

Actually, the cap was introduced in 1990 by the NSWRL. The cap limit was $1.5M but certain clubs requested a lower cap, one down to $800K to assist in paying back loans to the NSWRL.

In 1991 all caps were equalised at $1.6M

Pantherjim.

Gunna Matter said:
They deserve a special concession for all the ratsack and cockroach baits they have to use.

:lol: :lol: :lol:

parra_panther said:
Since when are the Roosters players obligated to live in the eastern suburbs?

Spot on! Ryan Girdler commutes from the Northern beaches for training and games at Penrith. I've heard Danny Buderus commutes from Casino to train and play at Energy Australia Stadium.

I actually found it quite amusing when the Raiders CEO Simon Hawkins said:"It is quite appealing living in the eastern suburbs. They would find it easier to attract players because of this."

I sincerely hope he was taking the p*ss because I've lived in the Eastern Suburbs for a year while I was working as an New Graduate R.N. at St. Vincents Hospital. For the life of me I can't see why anyone would want to live there, unless of course, like Cogblurter, that's where they were brought up.

What is so "appealing" about living in the Eastern Suburbs? From my experineces there I certainly don't miss:

1. The narrow, 19th century, horse and sulky streets with 21st century traffic banked along them.

2. Going insane trying to find a park at Eastgate shopping centre to get your weekly grocery shopping done.

3. One way streets, "No U turn" signs, "No right turn" signs, "No left turn signs" and "No thru traffic" signs

4. "break your arm" hill-starts on Randwick's infamous Carrington Road

5. Pollution

6. Congestion

7. Junkies

8. Metho-men

9. The weekly Saturday night torture of trying to find a straight night club.

10. Unsheathed hypodermics lying on footpaths (and people complain about stepping on dog muck! :roll: Honestly!)

And finally:

11. 3 bedroom, 1900's butterboxes with no garage, no backyard and bad wiring that landlord's like to charge $600 a week to rent!

Pantherjim.

Campbell,P-4040201L.jpg

borat

Roosters plan a 'joke'
By Dean Ritchie
August 26, 2004

NRL club chief executives last night ridiculed and laughed at the Sydney Roosters' bid for salary cap concessions to compensate for eastern suburbs living.

Shane Richardson, chief executive of neighbouring Souths, said: "I thought it was April Fools Day."

The Daily Telegraph yesterday revealed the Roosters board would meet tonight, with sources claiming the concession request could be as much as $200,000.

Roosters officials claim the cost of living in Sydney's east was considerably higher than the cost of living for players in regional or outer-Sydney clubs.

But club CEOs were vehemently against the Roosters move.

"It's a joke," Richardson said.

Asked if the Roosters' plan could be permitted by the NRL, Richardson said: "Absolutely not. I can't believe they are serious.

"They used the Swans as an example. The Swans got concessions was because they are an expansion club. The Roosters have been in since 1908 - they're hardly an expansion club."

Parramatta chief executive Denis Fitzgerald, tongue firmly in cheek, agreed with the Roosters' idea.

"I read it was a $200,000 concession - it should be $500,000," Fitzgerald said.

"Living in the eastern suburbs means they have obligations.

"They have to spend more on hairdressers, pedicures and manicures.

"Clothes. We wear Lowes out west. They all get around in Trent Nathan.

"Restaurants. The first course at Otto equals a dinner for six at Parramatta Leagues Brassiere. Schooners out here are $2.50 compared to $7 at The Establishment.

"And the BMWs they drive demand premium petrol rather than the standard petrol for Commodores.

"All these costs mount up.

"I support the Roosters push for a substantial salary cap increase but only for the Roosters under these unique circumstances."

Canberra chief executive Simon Hawkins said every clubs has "advantages and disadvantages."

"We have trouble pulling established players out of Sydney but have an advantage attracting players from the country," Hawkins said.

"It is quite appealing living in the eastern suburbs. They would find it easier to attract players because of this.

"For every negative there is also a positive."

Brisbane chief executive Bruno Cullen said he read the story with a "wry smile on my face".

"Give them points for trying but every demographic has its pluses and minuses," Cullen said.

"I'm not sure all the Roosters players live in the area anyway. If they do they probably enjoy the lifestyle."

Manly executive director Paul Cummings described the Roosters concession bid as "ridiculous and stupid".

"If the NRL did approve it, it would then go for all clubs," Cummings said.

"Obviously the Roosters are serious but I don't know what about."

Wests Tigers CEO Steve Noyce added: "There shouldn't be any concessions in the salary cap."

The Daily Telegraph

I don't normally agree with Dennis Fitzgerald, but on this occasion, I love your work!!

Fibroman

When I look at the USA at the Athens Olympic Games I draw parallels with the roosters.

They both have red white and blue with an abundance of stripes.

They both think they are the best and most powerful in the worl/NRL.

The majority of their athletes/players 'rate' themselves like there is no tomorrow.

They rely on money to get where they are.

Their money comes from places that you would vnever imagine.

They are hated by the majority of the world/NRL.

Loud mouths every which way you turn. Eg. Phil Gould!

*edited*

princessjen

If there was no salary cap there may as well be no NRL. All the teams who aren't rich would be losing, and the rich clubs would be winning its simple. I'm sorry, but even if I was a roosters fan I'd get bored with seeing my team win just because they were getting more money. There would be no satisfaction. Already the Flegg and Premier League is dominated by the roosters because they have heaps of money.
I for one would be annoyed if they got rid of the cap. The roosters can't expect special treatment; or maybe they can, cos they always seem to get it.