Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Luke Burts back

IFR33K

I don't think it's anything to do with his expertise or his popularity. I think he is a very smart coach - smarter than most of the ones currently coaching, and he's obviously popular with at least some fans and players.

But I'm also fairly certain expertise - the technical side of coaching - is very overrated compared to other coaching factors such as leadership and player development. That's why coaches have assistants - to provide technical advice and deal with the fine detail.

Case in point - when do you ever hear Wayne Bennett or Des Hasler talk tactics? I'm not saying they don't have a good grasp of the tactical side of the game; I just don't think they care about them as much as the ex-coaches and wannabe-coaches like Taylor and Kimmorley.

As for popularity, we all know some of the most loved people are also the most hated. It's a fairly nebulous trait.

But is it as stupid as a potential employer asking a job applicant why they are currently unemployed?

Lol. I needed that.

Your record of never being wrong will stay intact. You'll even be appauded around LU. Win win for everyone.

Hi iFreak this is Tony Williams. Come on bruz don't be like that.

619601-tony-williams.jpg

What if he turns out to be the first coach since Monie to win us a premiership? How long would you extend him for?

Not up to me to extend his contract, that is for the board. If he wins us a premiership I personally in raptures of joy and will personally congratulate him and each member of the board plus Glenn Duncan for securing him to the club.

Tell us again, which year do you think SK will win the comp. never laughed harder in my life.

Have some patience bruz. Me and Kearney have both won premierships. We know what it takes, and you should too because I told your uncle's friend all about it. Have faith iFreak. You are a cool guy.

509px-Tony_Williams_(10_August_2008).jpg

oldmancraigy

That's exactly how I feel.
Good, level headed post.

I think that by saying that Ando does not have a current NRL gig reflects on his expertise and popularity is as stupid as saying that because a hot chick is single after a break up that there must be something wrong with her.

Anyway, enough about Ando as he's yesterday's newspaper. Let's hope that SK is 8 from 32 after this week. A win will improve his FG win record from 21% to 25% and get us away from last.

EDIT: OK even if we win this week, we'll still be last.

<sigh>

Ok - so now Suity is feeling people and Gronk thinks Ando is a hot chick?

I gotta stop reading these forums....

Casper The Ghost

So I admit I was wrong about Anderson and you put shit on me? I'm guessing it's because you still rate him, am I right?

I was wrong about Brian Smith and Jason Taylor too, so I won't be surprised if I turn out to be wrong about Steve Kearney. Actually, the fact Smith still has a job intrigues me so the jury is still out on him. He sure as shit can build a club.

For the record I was spot on about Michael Hagan. Good motivator and decent tactician. Shit club-builder. His demise in 2008 said more about the problems at our club than anything about Hagan's ability as a coach. That's why I think the Eels coaching job is a poisoned chalice.

But yeah, I thought Anderson was a great coach in 2009. Bit disappointed with him in 2010, and after he stayed unemployed (sorry, getting heaps of work in the media and in schoolboys footy) by the end of 2011 I was convinced the club made the right call turfing him.

If the board axe Kearney I will trust their judgement. And I don't know any of them personally.

You regularly come across as a 3P nerd-agent Poo Poo.
Nothing much with your agenda has changed since your intellect erupted.

Casper The Ghost

Mate you started it.

You reckon Daniel Anderson doesn't want to coach because he's cashed up and doesn't need the stress. How do you know this? The good coaches would want to coach for the challenge; look at Wayne Bennett chasing his dream of coaching premierships with three different clubs.

If Anderson was fair dinkum he could be chasing his third grand final loss with three different clubs. His mentor Brian Smith finally achieved it in 2010 and he's still going strong.

And what about William Hopoate f**kwit?
The good players would want to play for the challenge.....

You are a total dickhead Poo Poo.

Taking two years away from the NRL ---- no --- he should be chasing his second premiership,
what a wanker Will Hopoate is,
he's a gutless scardy cat who can't play at the top level,
he's useless and has been found out
he found a Morman hole to hide in....

Your arguments are mostly a sinking ship full of holes PooPoo.

dickhead.jpg