Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Luke Burts back

Maroubra Eel

Mate you started it.

You reckon Daniel Anderson doesn't want to coach because he's cashed up and doesn't need the stress. How do you know this? The good coaches would want to coach for the challenge; look at Wayne Bennett chasing his dream of coaching premierships with three different clubs.

If Anderson was fair dinkum he could be chasing his third grand final loss with three different clubs. His mentor Brian Smith finally achieved it in 2010 and he's still going strong.

You started with DA before I mentioned anything. I just pulled you up on your bullshit.

So you think it's likely that the only reason Anderson isn't coaching in the NRL is because he doesn't want to?

When did he announce his retirement?

So you think it's likely that the only reason Anderson isn't coaching in the NRL is because he doesn't want to?

When did he announce his retirement?

Not sure why you and the BigUnit are trying to discredit DA. Many (the majority I would say) here thought that he was shafted and not given the latitude (aka low KPIs) that SK currently enjoys. I have not seen many here that have stated that he should be re-appointed as coach however as simply he and the club have moved on.

Not sure why you and the BigUnit are trying to discredit DA.

This came about because I was called on never admitting to being wrong. I gave the example of admitting I was wrong about Daniel Anderson - why I don't rate him any more after I thought he was a genius in 2009.

I think the fact that he hasn't gotten back into coaching in the NRL is telling. Sure there could be a few reasons why he hasn't but none of them are convincing reasons for why he should have been retained.

Many (the majority I would say) here thought that he was shafted and not given the latitude (aka low KPIs) that SK currently enjoys.

I reckon each coach is responsible for his own negotiations with the club, and even the way a coach handles the board is a good indicator of how he can handle the players.

I have not seen many here that have stated that he should be re-appointed as coach however as simply he and the club have moved on.

There have been plenty of childish and emotive statements (not from you) about the board being forced to reinstate Anderson and issuing public apologies, publicly condemning Kearney, telling Casper he was right all along, blah blah blah. I'm sure you've seen them yourself.

But my issue is really with people assuming that sacking Anderson was an obvious mistake and therefore proving the board is inept. I think that's highly unlikely, as shown by the fact that Anderson is currently still out of a job. And whatever the reasons for that are, they are surely good reasons for the board terminating his contract early. Whether he didn't want the stress or he was only in it for the money or whatever.

So if sacking Anderson was the right move, maybe the board aren't a f**king three ring circus, and maybe they have exercised good judgement all along. Perhaps they are doing the right thing by retaining Kearney, and they can see everything falling into place for a bright future here.

I'm just trying to keep the options for discussion open, because it seems plenty of Eels fans have closed the book on how to fix the club - that sacking Kearney and Bentley, and toppling the current board will return us to the glory days of pre-2009 where we won premierships year after year and were never frustrated with the team's fortunes.

I really think things had to get worse before they got better and we're seeing that now. Maybe I'm wrong and maybe things are just going to get worse but that outcome seems far less likely.

Ike E Bear

I was excited when it was announced that Anderson was coming to the club.

I don't think he was the main problem with the team when he was cut, but think - to a certain extent - he'd lost the players, so I accepted the necessity of it.

I was excited when it was announced that Kearney was coming to the club.

I don't think he is necessarily the main problem with the team, but I think he has to take a fair share of the responsibility.

I don't want him to be sacked, but I would obviously like a change in fortunes and will accept any decision that tries to achieve that.

Boy, this club really does put you through the wringer as a fan. I've grown accustomed to perennial disappointment. They show just enough every few years to barely keep the ember of hope burning.

I don't think he was the main problem with the team when he was cut, but think - to a certain extent - he'd lost the players, so I accepted the necessity of it.

I don't think he is necessarily the main problem with the team, but I think he has to take a fair share of the responsibility.

I don't want him to be sacked, but I would obviously like a change in fortunes and will accept any decision that tries to achieve that.

Boy, this club really does put you through the wringer as a fan. I've grown accustomed to perennial disappointment. They show just enough every few years to barely keep the ember of hope burning.

That's exactly how I feel.
Good, level headed post.

This came about because I was called on never admitting to being wrong. I gave the example of admitting I was wrong about Daniel Anderson - why I don't rate him any more after I thought he was a genius in 2009.

I think the fact that he hasn't gotten back into coaching in the NRL is telling. Sure there could be a few reasons why he hasn't but none of them are convincing reasons for why he should have been retained.

I reckon each coach is responsible for his own negotiations with the club, and even the way a coach handles the board is a good indicator of how he can handle the players.

There have been plenty of childish and emotive statements (not from you) about the board being forced to reinstate Anderson and issuing public apologies, publicly condemning Kearney, telling Casper he was right all along, blah blah blah. I'm sure you've seen them yourself.

But my issue is really with people assuming that sacking Anderson was an obvious mistake and therefore proving the board is inept. I think that's highly unlikely, as shown by the fact that Anderson is currently still out of a job. And whatever the reasons for that are, they are surely good reasons for the board terminating his contract early. Whether he didn't want the stress or he was only in it for the money or whatever.

So if sacking Anderson was the right move, maybe the board aren't a f**king three ring circus, and maybe they have exercised good judgement all along. Perhaps they are doing the right thing by retaining Kearney, and they can see everything falling into place for a bright future here.

I'm just trying to keep the options for discussion open, because it seems plenty of Eels fans have closed the book on how to fix the club - that sacking Kearney and Bentley, and toppling the current board will return us to the glory days of pre-2009 where we won premierships year after year and were never frustrated with the team's fortunes.

I really think things had to get worse before they got better and we're seeing that now. Maybe I'm wrong and maybe things are just going to get worse but that outcome seems far less likely.

I think that by saying that Ando does not have a current NRL gig reflects on his expertise and popularity is as stupid as saying that because a hot chick is single after a break up that there must be something wrong with her.

Anyway, enough about Ando as he's yesterday's newspaper. Let's hope that SK is 8 from 32 after this week. A win will improve his FG win record from 21% to 25% and get us away from last.

EDIT: OK even if we win this week, we'll still be last.

<sigh>

Amen brother. The Bride said to me the other night if most fans (NRL, soccer etc) around the world have to put up with the crap that I do ? I was unsure how to answer that but fear that we do cop far more than our fare share of grief.

I think that by saying that Ando does not have a current NRL gig reflects on his expertise and popularity is as stupid as saying that because a hot chick is single after a break up that there must be something wrong with her.

If she's a hot chick there probably is.

mickdo

"It's not me, it's you" :lol:

IFR33K

Poo poo I got off the phone with DA, he thinks your nothing but a SK c**k smoking prick.

I really hope things turn around at this club, I honestly do, I want to see the club colours held high and proud.

Our last game was better, but was still not good enough, we looked quite well beaten, when we look at our attack the Sharks had enough to quash any attack we launched, we are still quite one dimensional. If the ball goes to Jarryd, he will either run or jink and pass to the wing to early most of the time it will go out over the sideline, at the moment that is not good enough.

Listening to those who have spoken to the board or have an inside word, we must stick with Kearney, regardless the cost, we can lose this year, we can give him a further year to prove his metal and plans for the club.

These are perilous decisions, and ones we can only guess at. I am quite sure that the members of the board know that the future of the club is in their hands, and I am quite sure they will do what they believe is the right thing for the club.

Having said all of that, if the club and coach Kearney have not come good, then come the winter solstice of 2013 a bitter wind will be blowing around Parramatta.

I think that by saying that Ando does not have a current NRL gig reflects on his expertise and popularity

I don't think it's anything to do with his expertise or his popularity. I think he is a very smart coach - smarter than most of the ones currently coaching, and he's obviously popular with at least some fans and players.

But I'm also fairly certain expertise - the technical side of coaching - is very overrated compared to other coaching factors such as leadership and player development. That's why coaches have assistants - to provide technical advice and deal with the fine detail.

Case in point - when do you ever hear Wayne Bennett or Des Hasler talk tactics? I'm not saying they don't have a good grasp of the tactical side of the game; I just don't think they care about them as much as the ex-coaches and wannabe-coaches like Taylor and Kimmorley.

As for popularity, we all know some of the most loved people are also the most hated. It's a fairly nebulous trait.

is as stupid as saying that because a hot chick is single after a break up that there must be something wrong with her.

But is it as stupid as a potential employer asking a job applicant why they are currently unemployed?

I don't think it's anything to do with his expertise or his popularity. I think he is a very smart coach - smarter than most of the ones currently coaching, and he's obviously popular with at least some fans and players.

But I'm also fairly certain expertise - the technical side of coaching - is very overrated compared to other coaching factors such as leadership and player development. That's why coaches have assistants - to provide technical advice and deal with the fine detail.

Case in point - when do you ever hear Wayne Bennett or Des Hasler talk tactics? I'm not saying they don't have a good grasp of the tactical side of the game; I just don't think they care about them as much as the ex-coaches and wannabe-coaches like Taylor and Kimmorley.

As for popularity, we all know some of the most loved people are also the most hated. It's a fairly nebulous trait.

Sorry that's just dribble. Clutching at straws etc.

But is it as stupid as a potential employer asking a job applicant why they are currently unemployed?
DA isn't unemployed ya tosser. Phil Gould must be a shit coach because he's not working as a NRL coach as well.