Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Luke Burts back

MrT

You can say that Bellamy makes ordinary players look good, but he has always had a world class spine to work with.

The best hooker the game has ever seen; closets the best fullback of all time; a test class halfback and a very talented emerging 6 (as a slight salary cap concession to replace inglis).

At origin level he hasn't had the same class and continuity of spine and looked average.

All acquired through cheating too of course

Yeah but Bellamy made these players. That has to count for something. Not like he bought them from other clubs once they were stars. look I hate them for what they did But I hope Parra send him a blank cheque to sign for 2014 onwards. He's off contract same time Kearney is. If we dont have a go then we're not fair dinkum

What else is there?

well you can watch our Harold Mathews side play in a semi this saturday or instead head to Ringrose and watch our state cup side against the Vulcans and maybe even turn up early on sunday and watch our NYC side....

or you can stay at home turn channel 9 and have a bitch on LU...

Springs

You can say that Bellamy makes ordinary players look good, but he has always had a world class spine to work with.

The best hooker the game has ever seen; closets the best fullback of all time; a test class halfback and a very talented emerging 6 (as a slight salary cap concession to replace inglis).

At origin level he hasn't had the same class and continuity of spine and looked average.

All acquired through cheating too of course

Bellamy brought all those players through. And they all except Widdop were acquired before the first year they broke the cap. Not to mention before Cronk and Widdop he had Orford, Hill, Finch and Inglis as halves.

You wouldn't know what clubs wanted him.

I know the Eels didn't want him. How bad are you going when even the Parramatta Eels don't want you?

Nah jokes, I know he could coach heaps of clubs if he wanted to. He's just making too much coin at the ABC and Joeys.

I think there might be an opening at Westfields Sports now that Mark Horo is at Penrith. Maybe Anderson could go and coach there if he gets some free time?

What happenned Poo Poo, were you the trampled on school nuffie who created a whopping, looking good, being right ego clutching at straw, a shadow personality designed to compensate for your self-esteem inadequicies? Gees..... you consistently come up with a lot of add-lib crap. So what if you get it wrong - what about some humility and humbleness?

So I admit I was wrong about Anderson and you put shit on me? I'm guessing it's because you still rate him, am I right?

I was wrong about Brian Smith and Jason Taylor too, so I won't be surprised if I turn out to be wrong about Steve Kearney. Actually, the fact Smith still has a job intrigues me so the jury is still out on him. He sure as shit can build a club.

For the record I was spot on about Michael Hagan. Good motivator and decent tactician. Shit club-builder. His demise in 2008 said more about the problems at our club than anything about Hagan's ability as a coach. That's why I think the Eels coaching job is a poisoned chalice.

But yeah, I thought Anderson was a great coach in 2009. Bit disappointed with him in 2010, and after he stayed unemployed (sorry, getting heaps of work in the media and in schoolboys footy) by the end of 2011 I was convinced the club made the right call turfing him.

If the board axe Kearney I will trust their judgement. And I don't know any of them personally.

Maroubra Eel

Maybe Anderson enjoys what he's doing now. Maybe he's got enough coin and he doesn't need the stress of coaching first grade.

Just admit it Poupou, you wouldn't know.

So I admit I was wrong about Anderson and you put shit on me? I'm guessing it's because you still rate him, am I right?

I was wrong about Brian Smith and Jason Taylor too, so I won't be surprised if I turn out to be wrong about Steve Kearney. Actually, the fact Smith still has a job intrigues me so the jury is still out on him. He sure as shit can build a club.

For the record I was spot on about Michael Hagan. Good motivator and decent tactician. Shit club-builder. His demise in 2008 said more about the problems at our club than anything about Hagan's ability as a coach. That's why I think the Eels coaching job is a poisoned chalice.

But yeah, I thought Anderson was a great coach in 2009. Bit disappointed with him in 2010, and after he stayed unemployed (sorry, getting heaps of work in the media and in schoolboys footy) by the end of 2011 I was convinced the club made the right call turfing him.

If the board axe Kearney I will trust their judgement. And I don't know any of them personally.
This history reads like a massive case of overtrust in authority figures (for the pure sake of it), and an absence of independent thinking, imo. I wonder what industries actively encourage those traits...?

Maybe Anderson enjoys what he's doing now. Maybe he's got enough coin and he doesn't need the stress of coaching first grade.

Just admit it Poupou, you wouldn't know.

I agree he would definitely prefer coaching private school kids and writing stories for the ABC. I reckon that would be heaps more rewarding than coaching in the NRL. He's probably wondering why he ever wanted to coach in the first place. We would both agree coaching in the NRL is overrated.

Plus who needs the stress? Not Daniel Anderson, that's for f**king sure. He's got heaps of money.

If Wayne Bennett had've been smarter with his money he wouldn't have needed to take that job at Newcastle.

This history reads like a massive case of overtrust in authority figures (for the pure sake of it)

Not for the sake of it bart. In my experience successful people end up successful because they make good decisions. Therefore their judgement is worth more than that of most people.

and an absence of independent thinking, imo.

:roll:

I am one of about three people on this site that doesn't think our club's woes are all Kearney's fault.

But you're the independent thinker? :lol:

I wonder what industries actively encourage those traits...?

It is another feature of my experience that insecure men go out of their way to put shit on those who have served.

Once again you haven't let us down bart. Today must really sting for a coward like yourself.

Maroubra Eel

I agree he would definitely prefer coaching private school kids and writing stories for the ABC. I reckon that would be heaps more rewarding than coaching in the NRL. He's probably wondering why he ever wanted to coach in the first place. We would both agree coaching in the NRL is overrated.

Plus who needs the stress? Not Daniel Anderson, that's for f**king sure. He's got heaps of money.

If Wayne Bennett had've been smarter with his money he wouldn't have needed to take that job at Newcastle.

There you go just making shit up again. Maybe you should stop and think before you type.

To Poo's credit he fights to the end, never conceding defeat. He's like the Black Knight from Monty Python & the Holy Grail.

King Arthur: [after Arthur's cut off both of the Black Knight's arms] Look, you stupid Bastard. You've got no arms left.
Black Knight: Yes I have.
King Arthur: Look!
Black Knight: It's just a flesh wound.

holygrail0181.jpg

oldmancraigy

Yeah but Bellamy made these players. That has to count for something. Not like he bought them from other clubs once they were stars. look I hate them for what they did But I hope Parra send him a blank cheque to sign for 2014 onwards. He's off contract same time Kearney is. If we dont have a go then we're not fair dinkum

It's kind of true, but kind of crap at the same time.

Cameron Smith is the kind of player who would be the best in the world no matter which club he played for (and even if Langmack was his coach).

When you have 1.5 times as much money to offer as anyone else, then you can sign all the best young players and "bring them through". Sure, you need a system for them to thrive in, but you could easily argue that we're using the same system.
Give us Cam Smith (even the young version) in exchange for Matt Keating. Then swap our backrow for Melbournes, sign a couple more 500k players and see how awesome Kearney looks.

No slight on Bellamy, but don't give him TOO much credit. When you have the pick of the litter you should expect them to develop no matter what.

I'm not really that into it Stagger.

It's all cool, but you're more than happy to make patronizing and snide remarks about the clubs future plans, procedures on their player development, because well....we're just not winning in the top grade.

oldmancraigy

It's all cool, but you're more than happy to make patronizing and snide remarks about the clubs future plans, procedures on their player development, because well....we're just not winning in the top grade.

To coin an ME phrase:

How would you know if we're winning or not? None of us really would.

:shock:

[just trying to lighten the tension around here]

There you go just making shit up again. Maybe you should stop and think before you type.

Mate you started it.

You reckon Daniel Anderson doesn't want to coach because he's cashed up and doesn't need the stress. How do you know this? The good coaches would want to coach for the challenge; look at Wayne Bennett chasing his dream of coaching premierships with three different clubs.

If Anderson was fair dinkum he could be chasing his third grand final loss with three different clubs. His mentor Brian Smith finally achieved it in 2010 and he's still going strong.

Ratchy

Bellamy brought all those players through. And they all except Widdop were acquired before the first year they broke the cap. Not to mention before Cronk and Widdop he had Orford, Hill, Finch and Inglis as halves.

Smith made his debut in 2002 and Bellamy started coaching there in 03.

Bellamy's job has been greatly helped when OSullivan was at the club. O'Sullivan was that good he even forced the Broncos to change on how they do things with recruitment/development which is the job Nolan had a major part in building the current Broncos team ....it's ludicrous to think sacking Kearney and everything would be solved. The problems with Parramatta are much deeper than that.

Bigfella

To be fair stags I think most of them are doing that because they have a hard on for Daniel Anderson.

So it's probably fair enough if they death ride the club into the ground forever dont you think?