Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Major Difference Between Dragons and The Roosters, Raiders.

True_Believer

And the strong are only getting stronger while the weak get weaker. Corey HN breaks his contract with the team coming dead last to sign immediately with the team challenging for another grand final appearance. Dogs get even weaker, Raiders get even stronger.

And this statement here is why we struggle to sign the players we need. We are near the bottom - what motivation is there for CHN to come to us? We are only a couple of teams higher than the one he is leaving. Unless we offer significantly more money for him to come over, there's nothing enticing him. And then we stuff our cap and get stuck with a player who ends up doing nothing because we have a coach who can't get the best out of players.

Crush

And this statement here is why we struggle to sign the players we need. We are near the bottom - what motivation is there for CHN to come to us? We are only a couple of teams higher than the one he is leaving. Unless we offer significantly more money for him to come over, there's nothing enticing him. And then we stuff our cap and get stuck with a player who ends up doing nothing because we have a coach who can't get the best out of players.
So what's the answer? Don't want to pay overs for established players but also talented juniors leave because they want to play with the best clubs!

True_Believer

So what's the answer? Don't want to pay overs for established players but also talented juniors leave because they want to play with the best clubs!

As I've said elsewhere, the first step is getting rid of the coach. We need a recognised quality coach that players want to play for. Until that happens, I don't think it matters who is in recruitment or what players we have. Once that happens, we can start to assess the quality of squad and the performance of recruitment.

Unfortunately, I'm not sure there is anyone out there that fits the bill - we've pretty much missed our window of opportunity.

TruSaint

The Question is what motivates players to switch camps / or to chose one club over the other.

Money first, then comes coach/manager, opportunity for trophies/ rep duties, facilities, development, lifestyle etc.

When one lacks the most of the latter in that list, you end up paying overs. EG, Titans.

Our coach is bog average, our facilities nowhere near the elite, and our opportunities for silverware some time away.

Its a balancing act, which is why keeping Mary on board after the early meeting this year was a mistake. No point sacking him now, as whoever comes in will be a band aid solution. 2021 needs a new head coach, and a clear direction from the board that "top 8 isn't our goal", as was mentioned by Frizell last week.

Knowing full well the snail-pace that any decision by our illustrious board make , they have probably only now decided to make a play for David Fifita .

Too late you pack of bogans - you have missed the boat yet again . :snail:

True_Believer

The Question is what motivates players to switch camps / or to chose one club over the other.

Money first, then comes coach/manager, opportunity for trophies/ rep duties, facilities, development, lifestyle etc.

When one lacks the most of the latter in that list, you end up paying overs. EG, Titans.

Our coach is bog average, our facilities nowhere near the elite, and our opportunities for silverware some time away.

Its a balancing act, which is why keeping Mary on board after the early meeting this year was a mistake. No point sacking him now, as whoever comes in will be a band aid solution. 2021 needs a new head coach, and a clear direction from the board that "top 8 isn't our goal", as was mentioned by Frizell last week.

Exactly - only I would say sometimes money comes second when the coach/premiership looks really good.

Unfortunately for us, we only have money at the moment. And we definitely can't afford to pay 1.3 mill a year for forward. Or for any player for that matter. I'd be spewing if we did. Then I'd really be going off at recruitment.

TruSaint

Exactly - only I would say sometimes money comes second when the coach/premiership looks really good.

Unfortunately for us, we only have money at the moment. And we definitely can't afford to pay 1.3 mill a year for forward. Or for any player for that matter. I'd be spewing if we did. Then I'd really be going off at recruitment.

I have read a few reports on sports in general. Not nRL.

Money is the main factor, but some will take a pay cut initially if they see $$$ at the end of their career. IE, through image rights, advertising, endorsements, post career opp's etc and that only comes when the player is top of mind, that being in an elite club. That generally involves a top line coach.

Football ( soccer), NBA and NFL were referred to.

Mjab

I've always respected Graham, but saying we lost an international isn't really telling the story. He had no real impact on games for a while, was sad to see him be so easily handled towards the end.

In saying that, our recruitment seems to have no strategy. Nor does our selection each week.

For mine, it reflects our playing style. Too scared to lose, so just be conservative and lose anyway.

We are two buys away from having a genuine top 8 side. A skilled backrower and a prop with some heart. Give Blacker a game, see if he can solve a part of that. I don't see Lawrie as an answer to either moving forward.

We would be a top eight side if we didn’t have the peanut in charge and some better selections

Dragon David

The difference between the Dragons and the Roosters is that we get rid of juniors and sign rejects and wallow in the mire while the Roosters re-sign their players and drink champagne. Keary re-signing on $930K pa over 3 years and Tedesco to re-sign in a a couple of months on a figure yet to be determined. Keary could get more from other clubs but is happy with the amount in order to stay at the Roosters.

The Roosters maintain their strength in the competition while we continue to fall behind.

Dragon David

Here we go. The NRL are looking at changing the rules to allow SBW to play for the Roosters. What is good for one club is not applicable for others. Where is the fairness? OK people would say that this will help promote the game but this would only apply to the Roosters. It doesn't help the Dragons or other clubs. I might be a bit envious but when this traitor plays for the Roosters, I will not be following this sport.

The Roosters do not need a boost. They need to come back to the field.

getsmarty

Here we go. The NRL are looking at changing the rules to allow SBW to play for the Roosters. What is good for one club is not applicable for others. Where is the fairness? OK people would say that this will help promote the game but this would only apply to the Roosters. It doesn't help the Dragons or other clubs. I might be a bit envious but when this traitor plays for the Roosters, I will not be following this sport.

The Roosters do not need a boost. They need to come back to the field.

100% correct....with all the Players the Warriors have lost and the sacrifices that they have made to get the game up and running, the NRL...should be telling him that's where he needs to play...

I caught a glimpse of the end of the Channel 10 news and I think it was a Tigers player who said " I don't know how they can fit SBW into their cap, with the side that they currently have "....it is obvious to all and sundry...

The end result will be people walking away to watch other sports....its already happening...I know heaps of friends who's kids comment that the AFL is a fairer system because any given week lower teams can upset the teams at the top....

getsmarty

Paul Gallen’s warning over ‘dangerous door’ Sonny Bill Williams’ Roosters exception opens
NRL Premiership
  • July 28, 2020 7:43pm
  • by Staff writers
  • Source: FOX SPORTS
86acde4219667328796f93651749e861

Sonny Bill Williams during the 2013 Grand Final.Source: Supplied
Paul Gallen has fired a warning shot to the NRL over Sonny Bill Williams’ expected return to the NRL with the two-time premiership winning Sydney Roosters.
Williams, who is on a monster contract with the Wolfpack could earn as little as $150,000 with the Roosters for a two month stint, which has raised alarm bells at other NRL clubs.

“I think they’ve got to be totally transparent in what he earns,” Gallen said on 100% Footy.

“Sonny Bill, as good as he is - and he’s a freak, we all know that - Sonny Bill has been renowned for doing his best for himself, to make as much money as he can.

“He’s earning $100,000 a week, roughly what his contract’s worth overseas. Is he going to come back here for $150,000 for four months?

“I can understand why there’s 15 other clubs scratching their head and you have a hell of a lot of fans going, ‘Hang on a second, what’s going on here?’”

Gallen believes that Williams’ return sets a dangerous precedent for other big money players with opportunities to chase lucrative overseas deals in the NRL off-season.

“You know what the dangerous part about this is? If we break the rules for Sonny Bill to let him back in the game, what happens if Kalyn Ponga at the back end of his career wants to go and play Japanese or French rugby, somewhere that plays over the summer, and he can earn a million dollars to go and do that?” Gallen said.

“What are the Knights supposed to say? What are the NRL supposed to say? No?

“Does that [SBW deal] open the door for other blokes to go and do now something in the summer?”

6a3ae8a9069a70db37e0b5de3fac0dc0

Sonny Bill Williams is on a $10 million deal with the Wolfpack, but could earn just $150k with the Roosters.Source: Getty Images
However Gallen has little doubt that Williams will make a big difference to the Tri-colours as they aim for a third straight NRL title.

“He’ll play a major role and be a major asset to this Roosters side,” Gallen said.

“I think it’s a huge advantage for the Roosters. He comes on and plays in the back-row - if you’re playing 20 to 30 minutes a game, he can play on an edge or in the middle of the field.

“He doesn’t get enough credit for the second half of that 2013 grand final. They had a shocker in the first half, he came out and single-handedly almost [won the game], brought them back into the game.

“I think it’s just such an advantage for the Roosters, as good as they are already, to be playing this bloke for the last [four] rounds of the competition for 20 or 30 minutes.”

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...k/news-story/eeaecebfcfaff4fd097b4f26b04a8b15

It's amazing how the leading teams think completely different from the also-rans when it comes to recruiting...take for instance why Roosters are signing SBW knowing very well he will be underdone to play long minutes.

Roosters sign SBW to give the team extra lift in the dressing room in the last 6 weeks of the comp to ensure potential success and on the other hand, The Dragons sign a reserve grader who was to replace an international to stick in the freezer until the comp finishes even with $300K in the kitty to spend.....

The Raiders lose Bateman and sign CHN ...

Amazing!!

The difference between the Dragons and the Roosters is that we get rid of juniors and sign rejects and wallow in the mire while the Roosters re-sign their players and drink champagne. Keary re-signing on $930K pa over 3 years and Tedesco to re-sign in a a couple of months on a figure yet to be determined. Keary could get more from other clubs but is happy with the amount in order to stay at the Roosters.

The Roosters maintain their strength in the competition while we continue to fall behind.

From an outsiders perspective the main difference comes down to one little thing.

There are literally thousands of different types of this particular thing, this thing is in every corner, crevice of your organisation. All it takes is one person or a clique not to uphold them and the cancer starts. It is a long road to ensure all people involved in any capacity of the organisation hold this dear to them & it takes only a single moment to destroy them

Standards.

Slippery Morris

It all is down to the board and their demands. Roosters and Storm boards demand success and will do whatever they can to get it. Saints unfortunately are happy to roll the dice and see what they get and are happy with "Just making the 8". To them that is success. We have heard how much they gloat about making the 8 which is sad where as other teams are disappointed. Because of their rich history they know they will still have the fan base so make no effort. I doubt the Storm or any club would be happy to have only made the 8 twice in 7 years. They would have gone through 2-3 coaches in that period.

As for cattle, Saints have quite a few rep players so it is not as if they are paying with rubbish.

We say it every year but this off season will be key to see how many if any changes will be made. We expect to see so many yet end up disappointed. I am expecting the same. The JDB excuse will save them again. If that has had so much impact, the IF JDB gets off they should sue the pants off the NRL to show us fans that they really do mean that it has and it is not just an excuse.

hazzbeen

I've always respected Graham, but saying we lost an international isn't really telling the story. He had no real impact on games for a while, was sad to see him be so easily handled towards the end.

In saying that, our recruitment seems to have no strategy. Nor does our selection each week.

For mine, it reflects our playing style. Too scared to lose, so just be conservative and lose anyway.

We are two buys away from having a genuine top 8 side. A skilled backrower and a prop with some heart. Give Blacker a game, see if he can solve a part of that. I don't see Lawrie as an answer to either moving forward.
Right on what you say (to scared to lose) that's how its been for a long time , have a go and try things play what's in front of them and if you do lose at least you have had a go ...... The shackles may be off the last couple of weeks and that is not anything to do with the coach ....

Slippery Morris

The difference between the Dragons and the Roosters is that we get rid of juniors and sign rejects and wallow in the mire while the Roosters re-sign their players and drink champagne.

I don't believe Saints get rid of their juniors it is more like they treat them like crap and the Juniors ask to leave. Garrick, Leilua, Herbert etc top examples. They left because they were not given a proper crack by the dud coach. Instead of giving them a crack, he stuck with guys like Latimore, Lafai, etc that forced these young kids to leave for greater pastures. Looks like Saints develop good kids but for other clubs to benefit whilst they pick up duds to block their paths to making first grade. Pity the board cannot see the blatant obvious.

Forbes Creek Dragons

F$$$ the Rorters, hate them. Stain on the game. League will not function without grassroots, they do nothing for grassroots I’d love it if they folded. I prefer the Sharks, Melbourne and even feel a bit sorry for Brisbane, I quite like Manly.