Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Manly don't want Hasler in 2012

oval

I just know who to direct my ire towards, and its not the man who lead this club from 2nd or 3rd last to 2 time champions. Its the f**kwit boad members who think they are bigger than the club, which is ironic because thats pretty much the problem they had with Des, that he had too much power. Here's a tip for them: if you are having success then WHO GIVES A SHIT HOW HE DOES THINGS!

So I bear little ill will towards Des because I think you'd agree that all things being equal (i.e. board not treating Des and various other Manly icons like shit) he wouldn't be leaving Manly. I think he'll be back one day, once the cancerous elements of the club are gone, and hopefully as a coach whoose legacy has been cemented as one of the greats by winning a title at the dogs (assuming Manly don't win all four years ;-)).

What you say makes sense, although I can't agree with that part!

I wish the Dogs zero success under the Hasler regime, and I hope Manly flogs the absolute shit out of them every time the two teams meet!

Isn't it the board that is keeping the club afloat? You can find a new coach and video analayst but I'd suggest there isn't many people willing to pump millions of $'s into Manly to keep them from going bust. Makes me laugh when people slate the board, without them Manly would be long gone.

Red&BlackBear

Isn't it the board that is keeping the club afloat? You can find a new coach and video analayst but I'd suggest there isn't many people willing to pump millions of $'s into Manly to keep them from going bust. Makes me laugh when people slate the board, without them Manly would be long gone.

What's to say that Toovey won't get the same treatment by the board by the end of next season? When do you say enough is enough? The board might keep the club afloat financially but without Hasler, the coaching staff and the playing roster they wouldn't be competitive and therefore would've gone bust awhile ago regardless. To run a football club it takes unity on all fronts, as soon as that's out of sync then there will be major problems.

Plus you said it yourself, there isn't many people willing to pump millions of $ into Manly, so why let go of arguably the corner stone and most attractive part of the club? Which is Hasler and the playing roster.

Canard

I reckon Dogs fan glee will slowly dissipate when its announced that Zorba the Greek is to be there new football manager.

Football teams all seem to go gaga over what is essentially one man with a clipboard, I don't get the fascination with buying a coach these days.

What's to say that Toovey won't get the same treatment by the board by the end of next season? When do you say enough is enough? The board might keep the club afloat financially but without Hasler, the coaching staff and the playing roster they wouldn't be competitive and therefore would've gone bust awhile ago regardless. To run a football club it takes unity on all fronts, as soon as that's out of sync then there will be major problems.

Plus you said it yourself, there isn't many people willing to pump millions of $ into Manly, so why let go of arguably the corner stone and most attractive part of the club? Which is Hasler and the playing roster.

change of coach, Manly play next year. Board walk and leave a $2million hole in Manly's income they don't. I'd take an arrogant millionaire keeping my club afloat over a succesful coach. Ideally of course Manly would be self sufficient and able to appoint a board that is there to take the club forward but this is the NRL and that seems unattainable for most teams at the moment.

MSIH

I just know who to direct my ire towards, and its not the man who lead this club from 2nd or 3rd last to 2 time champions. Its the f**kwit boad members who think they are bigger than the club, which is ironic because thats pretty much the problem they had with Des, that he had too much power. Here's a tip for them: if you are having success then WHO GIVES A SHIT HOW HE DOES THINGS!

So I bear little ill will towards Des because I think you'd agree that all things being equal (i.e. board not treating Des and various other Manly icons like shit) he wouldn't be leaving Manly. I think he'll be back one day, once the cancerous elements of the club are gone, and hopefully as a coach whoose legacy has been cemented as one of the greats by winning a title at the dogs (assuming Manly don't win all four years ;-)).

And you had the hide to question firechild's allegiance? That's disgusting mate.

You should be hoping Toovey is an even more successful coach than De$, and therefore we'll have no need for him to return.

DoggiesBro

And you had the hide to question firechild's allegiance? That's disgusting mate.

You should be hoping Toovey is an even more successful coach than De$, and therefore we'll have no need for him to return.

You still trying this de$ crap, he took less money. grow up and get over it already.

ceagle

f**k, the worst thing about this are all the unsubstantiated statements and rumors about the situation, everyone at the club who doesn't want to stay, leave already so we can just get on with football.

DoggiesBro

f**k, the worst thing about this are all the unsubstantiated statements and rumors about the situation, everyone at the club who doesn't want to stay, leave already so we can just get on with football.

agree, gotta laugh at the new one about forans "manager" coming out saying hes undercontract till 2014. if des goes he still has the clause for that reason lol.

and from what kierans parents and dymock have said i would agree it sounds more then likely to happen especially with the money the dogs will throw at him.

ceagle

agree, gotta laugh at the new one about forans "manager" coming out saying hes undercontract till 2014. if des goes he still has the clause for that reason lol.

and from what kierans parents and dymock have said i would agree it sounds more then likely to happen especially with the money the dogs will throw at him.
Mate, no one knows the details of any of the get out clauses, and no one knows what Foran's parents said (please don't source me to the telecrap)

This is why I hate rumors, I wish Foran would come out and just say if he was leaving or staying. I don't believe anything I have read in the papers, 90% of the time its bullshit.

jonno_knights

Could see this coming a mile away. Early coach signings just do not work & shouldn't be allowed to happen. Completely destabilises the club he's leaving

The Supercoach Hagan kept the ship right for a top 4 finish. But we all know who really coached his sides at Newcastle :lol:

not sure if it's been said... but maybe it would've been better for the club not to win the premiership :lol:

DoggiesBro

Mate, no one knows the details of any of the get out clauses, and no one knows what Foran's parents said (please don't source me to the telecrap)

This is why I hate rumors, I wish Foran would come out and just say if he was leaving or staying. I don't believe anything I have read in the papers, 90% of the time its bullshit.

ok ill believe what you say over the media. sorry.

anyway, its known foran has a clause, dymock himself said he thinks des being with the dogs will have a big sway on his decision. does that not give you some alarm bells there?

i'm not saying its a done deal or any crap like some, although i would be extremely suprised if foran doesnt end up with the dogs given the fact we lack a 5/8, he is close with des, and the fact we will have as much money as anyone to throw at him.

POPEYE

Win a competition fair and square . . . albeit a change for Manly . . . suddenly the wheels fall off and the club is in dire straits.

'Cheat' and get punished for refusing to relinquish what's rightfully theirs . . . Melbourne still rock solid and carrying on with hardly a ripple.

Stick together, stand by your convictions and don't throw loyal supporters to the wolves