Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Manly don't want Hasler in 2012

ManlyMania

Hey, Manly are a lowlife, Blacktown-sur-mer club with a sordid history of backstabbing other clubs to survive. Manly are a disgrace to Australian sport - there is nothing to be proud about. Rugby league will be a better game when you bludgers are playing second grade on the sunshine coast.

However, I genuinely wish you all the best.

i love how we won another - it must burn you all day long.....:D

Ozzy

Hadn't really noticed. Don't concern myself too much with NRL until the Bears are in.

In any case, the premiership is ancient history and, soon, Einstein, will your club be.
:? They are the reigning Premiers. What would you call the Bear's Premiership, Stone Age?

Doga

I reckon some Dogs fans will be in for a shock in 2013 (or whenever Des takes control). They cannot expect immediate results - it took Des years to build Manly up into a premiersip winning side, and it'll be the same at the Dogs, no matter how many Manly players and staff they poach.

So talk it up Doggies, but I'm pretty sure the Sea Eagles will have your measure for a few season yet.

I am sure you are right there.

Personally I want him to pick our roster apart and do what ever he wishes with it.

We seem to be a team who prides itself on having ample backup. Perfect for NSW Cup.

MSIH

The NRL needs teams like Manly. Without the hatred they derive, it's just another nail in the NRL coffin which the AFL will gladly hammer in.

We seem to be a team who prides itself on having ample backup. Perfect for NSW Cup.

being serious for a moment, this is worth noting. I remember thinking back in 06 or so 'our NSW cup side is full of first graders, we have loads of depth! what could possibly go wrong!'.

Problem is, first graders in NSW cup generally indicates not so much excellent depth, but that you're struggling for quality so badly that NSW Cup duds have actually played reasonable amounts of firsts.

[FKN-SIK];7877574 said:
Game. Set. Match

Not really, it wouldn't make much sense if i'd said we hotel corridor trained most of the Dogs we bought, considering only one of them had an accident. :sarcasm:

The NRL needs teams like Manly. Without the hatred they derive, it's just another nail in the NRL coffin which the AFL will gladly hammer in.

f**k the AFL. There are no nails in the NRL coffin.

I hate you Manly scum.

Now thats the footy talk done... I don't wish bad on any club really. League can't afford any of the clubs to fail or for the dreadful publicity that would create for our code.

Good luck Manly, hope the internal trouble sorts out quickly.

Oh and again, I hate you a lot!

[FKN-SIK]

Des to be offered a payout...

The Manly board is currently discussing a payout figure for coach Des Hasler in a bid to end the club's civil war.

The committee has been bunkered down at Manly Leagues Club since 2pm and will table an offer to the two-time premiership winning coach in the hope he leaves the Sea Eagles immediately.

Hasler has a year to run on his Manly deal before joining the Bulldogs in 2013 but the acrimony at the club is such that it would be almost impossible for him to fulfil the final year of his contract in 2012.

The Sea Eagles boss is at odds with coach-in-waiting Geoff Toovey, who is accusing Hasler of stealing key staff ahead of his move to Canterbury.

Hasler doesn't talk to under-siege COO David Perry, blaming him for the mass exodus of off-field talent since last month's grand final win.

Recruitment manager Noel Cleal, assistant coach Kelly Egan and digital manager Jessica Ivers have already gone to Canterbury, while highly-regarded video analyst Will Badel is also in the Dogs' sights.

Hasler's good mate, former Manly media manager Peter Peters, was shown the door after the grand final while several leading players, headed by star five-eighth Kieran Foran, are expected to follow the coach out of the club over the next 12 months.

Ironically at the same time the Manly board is gathering, the Bulldogs are also meeting across town to discuss the latest developments at Manly.

If Hasler accepts a release, he will be free to join the Dogs from next season.

One Sea Eagles insider told Sportal before the meeting: "It can't go on like this – something has to give,"

"They aren't going to offer Des a full payout on his last year but they hope to reach a compromise."

"Whether Des accepts is another thing but it must be brought to a head for the sake of the club."

"The atmosphere is very nasty at the moment."

http://www.sportal.com.au/league-news-display/des-offered-payout-146838

Manly should just sack him already. The longer he sticks around the longer opportunity he has to convince his staff and players to jump ship in 2013.

Tommax25

The sooner De$ is gone the better IMO. Thankfully we finally got some good news with a few of the coaching staff resigning, including Donny Singe, Dave Warwick (who was reportedly about to sign with the dogs) and Luke Williamson.

Aren't you a Manly fan? Please show a bit more respect, Des has done so much for the club, a true legend. He is not at fault for this mess, and tbh neither are the dogs (although the buying every coaching member and being linked with half the team isn't a great look), its the Manly board. Des went for LESS money so f**k off with the De$ bullshit. It was about being treated poorly, the club being run by a bunch of knobs, and possibly the appeal of the challenge of winning the comp at another club, cementing his legacy as one of the top coaches of all time, like Bennett.

dogslife

Aren't you a Manly fan? Please show a bit more respect, Des has done so much for the club, a true legend. He is not at fault for this mess, and tbh neither are the dogs (although the buying every coaching member and being linked with half the team isn't a great look), its the Manly board. Des went for LESS money so f**k off with the De$ bullshit. It was about being treated poorly, the club being run by a bunch of knobs, and possibly the appeal of the challenge of winning the comp at another club, cementing his legacy as one of the top coaches of all time, like Bennett.

There might be some hope for you yet. Apparently Des has "done his dash" with the rest of the supporters though apparently

oval

I know you're talking to another poster, but here's my 2 cents anyway.

I respect Des Hasler for all he has done for the club, and I will always hold him in high regard, but his actions over the past few weeks have left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth. He wants to leave the club, that's fine, but it's gone beyond that. It's like he is getting revenge on the board by ripping the club apart, without considering what he is doing to the MANLY WARRINGAH SEA EAGLES - the entity - and the fans. It makes me think of a child having a tantrum and taking all of his toys away with him. So try as I might to have good will towards the bloke, I can't help but be pissed off. And the board, well they can just go and f**k themselves deep in the butthole.

Carn Toovey - do us proud!

DoggiesBro

i see it more as a in war the soldiers/medics/staff follow the man leading in battle not the bloke sitting back at camp.

Tommax25

There might be some hope for you yet. Apparently Des has "done his dash" with the rest of the supporters though apparently

I just know who to direct my ire towards, and its not the man who lead this club from 2nd or 3rd last to 2 time champions. Its the f**kwit boad members who think they are bigger than the club, which is ironic because thats pretty much the problem they had with Des, that he had too much power. Here's a tip for them: if you are having success then WHO GIVES A SHIT HOW HE DOES THINGS!

So I bear little ill will towards Des because I think you'd agree that all things being equal (i.e. board not treating Des and various other Manly icons like shit) he wouldn't be leaving Manly. I think he'll be back one day, once the cancerous elements of the club are gone, and hopefully as a coach whoose legacy has been cemented as one of the greats by winning a title at the dogs (assuming Manly don't win all four years ;-)).