Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Manly in the gong.

I think KFlann can put his time at the bulldogs to one side and know that he fell to the recent bulldog curse that makes players worse whilst at Belmore.

He was good at the Roosters and has been good with us. Especially his defence.

JDB was our best. A beast.

Eisunhuth was all class
Young Flanno is giving his all

has been great in defence and solid in attack

He hasn’t let the team down in any of our games

Happy for the bloke and his Dad

R&WTILLIDIE

Young Flanno is giving his all

has been great in defence and solid in attack

He hasn’t let the team down in any of our games

Happy for the bloke and his Dad
Any player that scores a try and points to the St George emblem becomes my favourite player. In all seriousness. I hope he succeeds like all other Saints players. Do your best, give your all, and us supporters will love you for it

since77

My wife went out for drinks with a friend last night. When she got home she found me pacing around the front rooms of the house with about 20 minutes to go. "Are they losing?" she asked. No, but there's 20 minutes to go and they are trying very VERY hard to lose, I answered. The Dragons really need to stop winning the hard way! I am coming down with my third serious illness in 6 weeks but I still asked my wife to pour me 2 rums after the game to calm my shredded nerves.....
Anyway we're now 2 & 2 and I suspect our season will look like that for a lot of it. We're going to jag some games we are meant to lose and lose some games we are meant to win. But I see improvement.
Luciano is looking really good.
Zac is consistently in our top players each week - no coach has managed to get that out of him so far.
I am warming to young Kyle - he's never going to do anything brilliant but he's a good foil for Hunt. He's doing a good job so far.
I really liked DeBelin off the bench. I thought that was his best game for ages.
Marshke adds some zip from dummy half and I thought he should have come on a bit earlier - Liddle looked gassed in the second half. Can't see Mulheison getting that bench spot back.
Sloan is improving each week. Still going to have some rocks and diamonds moments but geez he has that Nathan Blacklock look to him when he looms up in support and broken play - you can't coach that natural attacking talent.
Loving what RFM brings to the team. Eisenhuth I think better used off the bench.
Lawrie can go get fitted for a reserve grade jersey - I've never understood the raps on him - he's bog average and he's kidding himself if thinks he's ever going to be in the conversation for a rep jersey. A very average plodder.
And a huge congrats to the Wollongong crowd - that's what a home crowd should look like. Kogarah last week was a disgrace.
Big game against the Knights coming up.

Illusion

Good to see the smiles on their faces!!
Its good to see we are happy as well , doesn't matter how they got the win but they did ....... We all get frustrated and rant and rave on here with the loses , the Board over the years with their bad decisions , but all it takes is a few wins and it brings everyone together ....... So for F**KS sake keep winning .......

Illusion

My wife went out for drinks with a friend last night. When she got home she found me pacing around the front rooms of the house with about 20 minutes to go. "Are they losing?" she asked. No, but there's 20 minutes to go and they are trying very VERY hard to lose, I answered. The Dragons really need to stop winning the hard way! I am coming down with my third serious illness in 6 weeks but I still asked my wife to pour me 2 rums after the game to calm my shredded nerves.....
Anyway we're now 2 & 2 and I suspect our season will look like that for a lot of it. We're going to jag some games we are meant to lose and lose some games we are meant to win. But I see improvement.
Luciano is looking really good.
Zac is consistently in our top players each week - no coach has managed to get that out of him so far.
I am warming to young Kyle - he's never going to do anything brilliant but he's a good foil for Hunt. He's doing a good job so far.
I really liked DeBelin off the bench. I thought that was his best game for ages.
Marshke adds some zip from dummy half and I thought he should have come on a bit earlier - Liddle looked gassed in the second half. Can't see Mulheison getting that bench spot back.
Sloan is improving each week. Still going to have some rocks and diamonds moments but geez he has that Nathan Blacklock look to him when he looms up in support and broken play - you can't coach that natural attacking talent.
Loving what RFM brings to the team. Eisenhuth I think better used off the bench.
Lawrie can go get fitted for a reserve grade jersey - I've never understood the raps on him - he's bog average and he's kidding himself if thinks he's ever going to be in the conversation for a rep jersey. A very average plodder.
And a huge congrats to the Wollongong crowd - that's what a home crowd should look like. Kogarah last week was a disgrace.
Big game against the Knights coming up.
With you on Lawrie , too slow ........

Phantom V

I’m rapt we got the win. Proud of the resilience we showed in defence. As I said in a previous post, Flanno got the bench rotation spot on and thought we actually looked better once our bench came on.
Strong games from Sua, Flannigan,Hunt and Sloan. Glad to see the kid looking for the ball.

ON A SIDE NOTE:

Message to V’landys and co. The refs have too much involvement in games, more than I’ve ever seen. Six agains (or in our case lack of ) are a blight on our game, we need to go back to penalties. That last quarter of the game was a shocker from the officials!!

thebigredv

I feel it pertinent to mention something while reading through the thread. It was very clear that Lawrie had a bad match, a very poor showing from him but I see it as a bit of a overreaction from fans.

Blake doesn't often have a bad match like that. He may not be the menacing rip-roaring forward we all want but for some years now he has been putting his body on the line for the Dragons through some very dark times for our club. A forward's job is pretty hardcore and he has been more consistent than any other bar JDB.

That's not to say he might not need a spell in the reserves or to be moved on soon enough, but he 100% doesn't deserve the hate in my opinion. He looked pretty shattered even during the team song.

Another example, last week Tuipoilotu was a "useless wasted signing" and this week people are giving him the green light for a first grade berth. It's all a bit helter-skelter. We haven't loved the attitude of our players but sometimes the fans are just as fickle. I don't think we should be turning on Lawrie but wishing him well to improve.

Illusion

I’m rapt we got the win. Proud of the resilience we showed in defence. As I said in a previous post, Flanno got the bench rotation spot on and thought we actually looked better once our bench came on.
Strong games from Sua, Flannigan,Hunt and Sloan. Glad to see the kid looking for the ball.

ON A SIDE NOTE:

Message to V’landys and co. The refs have too much involvement in games, more than I’ve ever seen. Six agains (or in our case lack of ) are a blight on our game, we need to go back to penalties. That last quarter of the game was a shocker from the officials!!
Agree with the 6 agains , its becoming like touch footy ....... bring back the penalties , that will stop all the wrong doings ........

Illusion

I feel it pertinent to mention something while reading through the thread. It was very clear that Lawrie had a bad match, a very poor showing from him but I see it as a bit of a overreaction from fans.

Blake doesn't often have a bad match like that. He may not be the menacing rip-roaring forward we all want but for some years now he has been putting his body on the line for the Dragons through some very dark times for our club. A forward's job is pretty hardcore and he has been more consistent than any other bar JDB.

That's not to say he might not need a spell in the reserves or to be moved on soon enough, but he 100% doesn't deserve the hate in my opinion. He looked pretty shattered even during the team song.

Another example, last week Tuipoilotu was a "useless wasted signing" and this week people are giving him the green light for a first grade berth. It's all a bit helter-skelter. We haven't loved the attitude of our players but sometimes the fans are just as fickle. I don't think we should be turning on Lawrie but wishing him well to improve.
Mate not turning on Lawrie , I have always liked him he gives his all , but average player not athletic enough for todays game ....... If and when we pull some high profile forwards where does he fit in ? I hope the guy has a great year and proves me wrong ........

Parko1310

I'm personally not turning on Lawrie.. I've never rated him at all and have never got any of the plaudits he gets. He is immensely overrated by a large portion of the fan base. Yesterday was not an unfamiliar showing from him, he just made one or two errors more than he usually does. The rest was standard Blake Lawrie which was just awful. Notice how our leg speed, play the ball speed, threat in attack and arguably most importantly our defensive line speed all increased significantly when he was off the field. It's not a coincidence. He is by far and away the worst front rower in that 17 yesterday. Not just on yesterday's performance either. He was hooked yesterday, that much was clear. Usually when he's on for his second stint he'll finish the game.. and I was so relieved when Ray came on and Flano took Lawrie off. It was only at that point that I relaxed and thought we'd won the game. I know he won't be dropped because of the win.. but I'm hoping that showing is what some fans, club management and coaching staff needed to see that he is not good enough. We will not win a grand final with Blake Lawrie in the side, so ship him off when we sign some front rowers. Trying hard is great, but if I try really hard to build a house without any talent or ability to do so, that house will probably collapse. Me trying hard doesn't make me a good builder.

since77

Personally I'm not turning on Lawrie because he had a shocker yesterday. I've just NEVER rated the guy.
I can't dispute he plays with heart but I've just always seen a very VERY average player. In his case, heart's just not enough.
I watch a lot of NRL. And in every game I see a forward killing it in other teams and think to myself geez that guy would look great in a Dragons jersey. I can never imagine a situation in which a fan of another team watches Blake Lawrie and wishes he were in their team. He's just average. So bloody average.
I just think we've got better options in our top 17 than Blake Lawrie.
It's not hate, just reality.

Blood Shot Eyes

I hope the Easter Bunny left you several chocolates BSE and that your drive from the Gold Coast down to the McDonald Jones Stadium on Friday night is an enjoyable and safe trip.

A win against the Knights would be awesome. Cheers.
Thanks David for your kind words.....yes another win would be satisfying.....let's hope the Warriors soften them up today in NZ

That is more like it Dragons. Eagles were the better team in the first 20, their defense was brutal, but we weathered the storm and showed character. Despite us making them play like schoolboys at times we still had less possession but did more with the ball. Our line defense was a brick wall in the late stages when they tried a comeback. Deano will be pleased.

Pleased with what I am seeing from Tyrell Sloan. Is a changed player, shows, more intent even aggression now in the tackle and bringing back the leather. He has also turned into a scoring machine as he is following the ball carrier more. Give him a few cms of space and he will make you pay. Tyrell seems a happy young man these days. See him post match with his little girl.

Blood Shot Eyes

We could have won with bigger margin.

1. Rava's try got disallowed because he did not dive and his foot got pushed into touch (couple of Millis).
2. Sulli's try. A Manly player did a somersault somewhere in the ground, not anywhere near Sulli! Manly got a penalty!

Anyway, second half, we kept dropping and pushing passes. I hope we don't take this game to Newcastle. But our defense worked hard against those repeat sets.

With about 2 or 3 minutes to go Manly throw a pass that went two metres forward. Referee and touch judges missed it. Lucky for us nothing came out of it.

Anyway, it was a great win boys. Keep it up. Go Dragons.
As for Manly and their forward passes there were heaps of them during the game particularly in the 1st half....it was amazing the lack of action from the officials