Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Massive LOL - Roosters as sentimental favorites????

Who'd a thunk it?

They have spent all decade as the "rorters" and being bagged and hated mercilessly primarily because they made GF's on the back of Fittlers brilliance - who they only got because Penrth f*cked up big time in 95. Yeah, ok, the biggest noise their home crowd makes is a small gathering of people in the corner of the Golden Sheaf saying "BRAVO" in a mildly raised voice, compared to the go-deaf-on-the-moon-from-the-noise concophany emitted by masses who follow Parra, Canterbury, Newcastle etc. Yet in the last decade the Roosters were treated like a suicide bomber in a school sports carnival. How their fans survived such a barrage of abuse from the League world is a credit to the three of them.

If the Dragons win, they will have the anger of the world cast upon them going by the plethora of "choke" rubbish that have swarmed like plague locusts onto the internet. It seems that the latest fad in pshychology is to bad St George in response to all of life's ills. Car broke down? Bag Saints. Missus took off with the kids and the Motorhead collection? Bag Saints. Some git flew a plane into your world trade centre? Bag Saints.

Saints have taken the heat off the Chooks. Even signing the person with the longest criminal record in recorded history hasn't diminished the charm.

Oh the irony.

Why people bag Saints is beyond me - just as why people bagged the Chooks for so long. Neither club has EVER produced as much evil as the likes of Melbourne, Canterbury and Brisbane have. Good luck to them (and Wests - but I reckon you'll be roadkill)

Danish

The only way you'd go deaf from parra fans is if you sat too close to the PA speakers

boxhead

I don't understand the constant bagging and whining either, Roosters and Dragons are both great teams.
I like Canterbury, I like Broncos and I like Storm too. Don't see why they are bagged either.

The Broncos were great this year, as were the Dogs last year - personally I cannot fathom the Henjack hate.

I don't hate Roosters. To be honest I never have. Fittler was one of my favourite players ever, Anzac Day is an awesome day, and Pearce and Carney are great to watch at the moment.

This could change in a little over a week though. A Grand Final defeat (Obviously we have to make it first) is a pretty surefire way to make you hate another team.

macavity

The only way you'd go deaf from parra fans is if you sat too close to the PA speakers

Parra's old game day manager now works for the Knights... and insists on playing a lame chant over the speakers for us now.

It is dead-set embarrassing.

I have told her so (in no uncertain terms), but she is adamant that playing awful out of time chants over the speakers is what all the cool kids do, because "it gets the crowd going"

in my experience, it makes the crowd stop what they are doing to complain about the stupid chant coming over the speakers.

MacDougall

Thanks to Braith Anasta's display last night, I will be supporting the Dragons in the GF if they beat the Tigers tonight.

Too pathetic, nobody who behaves like that deserves to be rewarded. I hope they go down in flames and misery.

I don't understand the constant bagging and whining either, Roosters and Dragons are both great teams.
I like Canterbury, I like Broncos and I like Storm too. Don't see why they are bagged either.

Is there anyone you don't like?

Fans are allowed to hate opposition clubs for whatever reason, that's what footy is all about and rivalries and hatred between teams and fans are great for the game.

Tom Ace

Thanks to Braith Anasta's display last night, I will be supporting the Dragons in the GF if they beat the Tigers tonight.

Too pathetic, nobody who behaves like that deserves to be rewarded. I hope they go down in flames and misery.

Damn shame.

I think loudstrat (or Misty) is in total fear of the roosters winning given who's coaching them..

I for one hope they do it.

:lol: f**k off, you were never supporting us to begin with, you've been sooking for ages

I think loudstrat (or Misty) is in total fear of the roosters winning given who's coaching them..

I for one hope they do it.
Why would I fear a Brian Smith premiership win when I spent a decade praying for one?

I hope they do it too, although any of the remaining 3 winning I'd be happy with.

However you have obviously forgotten the Smith years at Parra.

11Straight

Who'd a thunk it?

They have spent all decade as the "rorters" and being bagged and hated mercilessly primarily because they made GF's on the back of Fittlers brilliance - who they only got because Penrth f*cked up big time in 95. Yeah, ok, the biggest noise their home crowd makes is a small gathering of people in the corner of the Golden Sheaf saying "BRAVO" in a mildly raised voice, compared to the go-deaf-on-the-moon-from-the-noise concophany emitted by masses who follow Parra, Canterbury, Newcastle etc. Yet in the last decade the Roosters were treated like a suicide bomber in a school sports carnival. How their fans survived such a barrage of abuse from the League world is a credit to the three of them.

If the Dragons win, they will have the anger of the world cast upon them going by the plethora of "choke" rubbish that have swarmed like plague locusts onto the internet. It seems that the latest fad in pshychology is to bad St George in response to all of life's ills. Car broke down? Bag Saints. Missus took off with the kids and the Motorhead collection? Bag Saints. Some git flew a plane into your world trade centre? Bag Saints.

Saints have taken the heat off the Chooks. Even signing the person with the longest criminal record in recorded history hasn't diminished the charm.

Oh the irony.

Why people bag Saints is beyond me - just as why people bagged the Chooks for so long. Neither club has EVER produced as much evil as the likes of Melbourne, Canterbury and Brisbane have. Good luck to them (and Wests - but I reckon you'll be roadkill)
:clap::clap: Well said it's amazing how peoples attitudes change over time.

However you have obviously forgotten the Smith years at Parra.

definitely not, I thought he did a wonderful job despite falling short on several occasions.

you haven't forgotten what state the club was in when he took over in 97 have you??

The neutrals cheered on the Bulldogs in 2004 and that says it all really. We are the most hated team out there and Manly don't even compare because nobody talked about Manly when they were down only when they were winning premierships but the haters stuck to their guns against us and I've no doubt the Dragons will be the neutrals favourite.

Embrace the hate Roosters fans.