Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 1 vs Newcastle @ Campbelltown Sports Stadium, Leumeah / Dharawal

Who will win? Round 1: Wests Tigers v Newcastle

• Wests Tigers 13+

Votes: 3 27.3%
  • Wests Tigers 1-12

Votes: 2 18.2%

Votes: 1 9.1%
  • Newcastle Knights 1-12

Votes: 4 36.4%
  • Newcastle Knights 13+

Votes: 1 9.1%

Mate, I think you're flogging a dead horse with Benji.
Nothing will happen for at least half a season, he is safe till then.
TBH, I think it will depend on what the new signings (mainly Luai) thinks about it.

Mate I was responding to our bright spark @Tiger Ted who gave him less. You and I agree on half a season. I’d like to him resign and be a man about it as opposed to the axe.

I already voted for the no confidence motion in Benji as soon as he was appointed for the reasons that are unfolding. I wasn’t alone.

I blame our masters for giving him the keys to ferari and to a lessor extent himself for thinking he was up to it.

22% success rate kllls all club hype.

At the moment Benji is struggling, he cuts a sad figure really. Slow motion train crash.

Nothing personal.

Not that I’d make time in my life to befriend him. Much rather our ugly lot here.

I like Ted’s stuff, he shoots straight and true. Fair enough I reckon.

I’d prefer Benji to succeed…but he won’t.

Admitted I wouldn't of watched the game as closely as any of you guys but what I did see it was the same old Luai.

Did he leave the left side?

looking at his numbers. The kicking game seemed shared with Galvin and he had less runs than Galvin

I still have him as the best 6 in the game. He is great at playing eyes up footy but just not organising.

The timing of the pass for your try is Luai at his best. Problem is you see it maybe 2 times a game

overall Luai was poor, he was extremely passive and let Galvin, who had his worst game in first grade, be the dominant half. Galvin always wants the ball, he’s young and enthusiasti, Rome needed to calm him down and take control.

I feel there were a few reasons for this. It was his first game and he seemed to not want to be a hog and limit the guy who was already in the team. He didn’t look 100% fit and the fact that he didn’t take our drop outs show his quad probably still not right. Also not having api there to know when to give him the ball.

worth noting that our attacking game plan was non existent. We were generally taking 4 hit ups in the 20 then doing a left shift where Luai was first reciever and galvin second. I saw a comment elsewhere that the tigers were playing for repeat sets as opposed to points and that’s exactly how it seemed.

he still had some good plays, the saving of a try chasing down the ponga break was an effort play we don’t often see from a Tigers player. He also put in 2 very good grubbers that should have got line drop outs but ponga was too good.

The Knights are also a good team, they’ve made the finals 3 of the last 4 years, have 5 origin players and the NZ 9. They were full strength against the current 3 time wooden spooners who were missing 5/6 of their 17 including 2 of the spine. They were $1.65 favourites. If you go into the knights forum they expected to belt us. No one here is expecting miracles.

im hoping we see a totally different and more dominant Luai next week with api back

Another thing....I keep on hearing from people on here that Newcastle are not a good team. Yes, they were poor yesterday but they certainly did not get the rub of the green yesterday. Plus, they have made the finals in three of the last four years. Yes, they are a good side that I think don't play to their potential. They are a better side on paper than ours.

agree

also apparently the knights have a crazy winning record in low scoring games

i was disappointed with the showing, however we were also missing 2 of our spine and a couple of centers

if we dish up the same shit with api and Bula agaiant a mosesless eels then I’ll be very worried

Should factor in that Benji is puppet master.

JL and/or Galvo are not exactly given free reign, it’s more structured than this.

I wonder at what point Benji decided to defend the lead-maybe when they started running amok? But we weren’t up to it, fitness and focus.

Maybe we got a bit chilled in the head after they missed so many calls and blew so many chances. I’m not sure.

But I tend to agree with Benji, we should have won that match, dissapointed rather than devastated.

I wonder what the plan is to toughen us mentally? I’m not saying it’s easy, but it’s necessary.

I wonder if the tape is going to help? I’d probably not worry about it as a group thing. A 2 point loss.

I’d take each player through their game and try to be constructive. Some will need longer than others.

You can’t hang anyone out to dry in player public right now when we are supposed to be learning to play footy together. Praise the good things they did too but under the dark, miserable and inescapable shadow of yet another glib loss.

WA Tiger

If fitness is so important how can it be so difficult to achieve..The preseason will only consist of a 20km run every second day, working their way up to a marathon ..There’s no game plan at the end of preseason anyway.. the players skill level doesn’t change over that time. So every second day off to recover from the run and they’ll be much better prepared and likely to win games as the fittest team in the comp .. what am I missing.

Not really sure what you're getting at but the reason why you want to be fitter than everyone else, or at least as fit, is to make good decisions under fatigue, and execute your skills under fatigue. Like not missing 58 tackles.

If you can't see out 80 minutes and the other team can, you won't be winning unless you've absolutely smashed them off the park prior to fatigue setting in. It's one of the main reasons why teams like Melbourne are always there or there abouts.

WA Tiger

Not really sure what you're getting at but the reason why you want to be fitter than everyone else, or at least as fit, is to make good decisions under fatigue, and execute your skills under fatigue. Like not missing 58 tackles.

If you can't see out 80 minutes and the other team can, you won't be winning unless you've absolutely smashed them off the park prior to fatigue setting in. It's one of the main reasons why teams like Melbourne are always there or there abouts.
Read it again. This plan would achieve that

There was a guy I used to work with who did ultra triathlons. He told me he played a local game of soccer and he was completely exhausted.

Fitness is sport specific and some people are also just fitter.

I don't think fitness was the problem though.

WA Tiger

There was a guy I used to work with who did ultra triathlons. He told me he played a local game of soccer and he was completely exhausted.

Prob right. The kiwi Peter snell won a gold medal in the 1500m and 800m in 1964 olympics.. the first track and field medal for nz……and the first of this “double” for any athlete since 1920.. his coach used a revolutionary method at the time of running long distances for hours on the road to get that stamina up, to better the rest when it got tough in the second half, esp the last 200m

You are joined by both Seibs and Ivan in your thoughts. That’s how they train, endurance replicating game environment.

And Seibs makes them train like this for well beyond match duration.

He said once, this resilience training, it takes some time for players to acclimatise to it.

So you will find the players who where retained by Manly are rarely gassed as early as other sides.

I’m not a matter of throwing them at army special forces for a couple of weeks during pre season.

The body has to remember and embrace the particular demands in it.

I don’t know what Benji and his team are doing on a routine basis. It would be interesting to know.

Siebs has strong academics in the area and I think he was teaching at uni level for awhile. Same with Des.

Sports specific training and skill based games.

You'd think every club would do this though.

I think that’s right, I’ve just read and heard about Seibs and Ivan focus on it.

There were interviews after the panthers (smug era) gf 2 and the sports specific training was credited with keeping a lot of them going ( through bad injury). It was very impressive.

The human body isn’t designed for rugby league in any shape, way or form. Each regular player has to be crafted to suit its unnatural needs.

That’s before skills, abilities and the mental challenges chime in.

It’s interesting to me that you can get great physical specimens, that can’t cope with the balance of the needs. Or you get a Heath, who is smaller but very courageous. If I could wave a magic wand and give him an extra foot in height and 10kg extra muscle to handle the full on assaults a bit better, I’d get on with it.

All he can do is keep working hard to reach his potential and no question he’s got a great attitude and will give it a white hot go.

simmo05

I'm not trying to do that but he has been poor and we have Latu who may be better than him. I'm concerned about the tunnel vision with Galvin.

He was poor and Benji and the coaching staff need to see he was poor in the trials as well.

You look at Mason. I reckon he has been great. At the same time I don't think he should be in first grade right now. He is a back-up option. The hype around Mason is just much much lower and he can develop his game over the next couple of seasons without a massive price tag and media exposure.

I thought Luai was decent but he didn't create enough. It was his first game with the club though. I expect a lot better over the course of his contract.

Here are some other questions that I think the coaching staff needs to consider:-

1. Do we have too many left side dominant halves - Luai, Galvin and Latu ?
2. Is Galvin a lock in the Yeo mold but too small right now ?
3. Is Latu more likely to create something compared to Galvin by himself ?

I also think we need a centre who can create something and Seyfarth didn't do enough but I think these are much smaller issues than sorting out our attack.

I think you need to be able to score points to do well in this comp. Last night is a classic example. We stopped points but we couldn't score.
Galvin will move to the forwards in a couple of years, too big for a half. Plus he will bail on us eventually, he has already shown he is not loyal. Fainu is our long term half back, if we don't lose him with the clubs mouth firmly around Galvin's old fella

JL and May driving to the game together is pretty healthy at this point. May sounded very relaxed and still pumped out a great game, especially impressive when things are chaos at home. I think he’s only going to improve from here. Frightening!

Taylans in court tomorrow. Very tense.

I guess Police would be focused on the victim and getting her to court to adopt her statement and face cross examination.

A lot at stake for everyone.

As these things go, I suspect everyone will be going through the last minute preparations this afternoon.

Still wondering what his defence is? He must have one if he’s pleading not guilty.

But it’s a quality issue I spose.

WA Tiger

Problem is Benji needs to back track on the “Galvin do whatever you want if you see it”..as that was really just a confidence booster and assumed he was good enough to be looking at all the options..