Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 10 vs Melbourne @ AAMI Park, Melbourne / Wurundjeri

Who will win? Round 10: Melbourne v Wests Tigers

• Melbourne Storm 13+

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • Melbourne Storm 1-12

Votes: 1 16.7%

• Wests Tigers 1-12

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Wests Tigers 13+

Votes: 2 33.3%

Nutz

Yep, though I thought Faataape's problem was his defence, though that can be taught, he certainly knows where the try line is.
He won't get better in KOE. He's had some issues like comig in off his wing and leaving his player unmarked but we are working a lot harder now on the inside cover. But at centre it's even a lesser issue unless he's burned on the outside. I don't think that would happen though unless the cover let's Papenhuyzen cut through between LG and centre.
I still think Naden with that gammy leg is a liability

He won't get better in KOE. He's had some issues like comig in off his wing and leaving his player unmarked but we are working a lot harder now on the inside cover. But at centre it's even a lesser issue unless he's burned on the outside. I don't think that would happen though unless the cover let's Papenhuyzen cut through between LG and centre.
I still think Naden with that gammy leg is a liability
If Naden couldn't last, then I'd be surprised if they let him play in this game, it's a big one for us.
As I believe a win here, would announce our presence in the comp.

Das Hassler

Faataape's listed as a reserve so Nayden might still be a (see how he's going) late scratching...costs nothing and no point in letting Bellamy know earlier than an hour before kickoff if so

Nutz

Faataape's listed as a reserve so Nayden might still be a (see how he's going) late scratching...costs nothing and no point in letting Bellamy know earlier than an hour before kickoff if so
Cheers Das, I hope they get this right.
For example. I'd rather a player cutting his teeth at 100% no limitations to a better player with limitations.
Naden is a player that has a dig but I'm still not convinced about his selection.

The storms forte is exploiting glaring opposition weaknesses & Naden will certainly be getting maximum traffic coming at him.Hence I have a bad feeling we are about to cop a flogging especially as they r coming off a loss & are at fortress AAMI park
TBH I was surprised that Saints didn't go after this area more last weekend. If I was the coach I would have. I reckon you're right TT. Bellamy will go after this.

At the same time, we should be making steffy work her arse off as it's only a matter of time before we get an off-load or make a clean break. And keep going there as long as she's on the field. One part of Bula's game he needs to work on is his support up the middle. If he can work on it this game I think we can have some success.

simmo1

We looked like a side that needed a rest V Saints, starting forwards have all played big mins and starting to tire. The effort in defence was the lowest Ive seen this year. Now another out of sydney game against a storm side who will be smarting. They'll get NAS, Warbrick back and Grant an outside chance. I think this could get ugly. 50+ wouldn't surprise.

You are right regarding the forwards. It's working at the moment, but I don't think we can continue to carry a 20min bench prop in Hunt with the starters playing such big minutes. Hunt needs to do more, or we just go with Sukkar or one of the back ups.

Benji needs to save May and Pole from themselves. I dont care how fit they are playing 65+ mins every week in the middle isnt sustainable. Hunt can easily play 10-15 more mins, Twal can play 60+, or like you said play Sukkar on an edge for a bit and move Seyfarth/Samuela into the middle for a stint.

Wizardman

Benji needs to save May and Pole from themselves. I dont care how fit they are playing 65+ mins every week in the middle isnt sustainable. Hunt can easily play 10-15 more mins, Twal can play 60+, or like you said play Sukkar on an edge for a bit and move Seyfarth/Samuela into the middle for a stint.
I couldn't agree more. They are awesome but its a massive ask for them to sustain it. I hope richo is looking at a good cover of depth forwards for 2026.

Nutz

I think your on the mark with this Vic.
We have to protect them from themselves. All the coconut milk in Asia can't prevent injuries.
I read in a AFL Journal that in situations like this, injuries occur from repetitive strain and is exacerbated by fatigue. Basically the term burnt out applies.
I reckon the SOO should be a double header with the girls on a Friday night and every club has a bye.
By doing this, all players and their families get a break from footy and enjoy going to the game if they want to.
Maybe that weekend could also have the Indigenous All-Star game. Better off playing these games when players are contact fit and not during preseason.
A lot of fans can't go to the Wednesday night game because of work commitments and kids go to school. I doubt they'll change the day because of ratings and tradition.
I just think a break from footy mid-season would help players deal with niggling injuries.
Hey @Vic Mackey I sent you a message, did you get it mate?

Pezz70

Is Grant out. Great for us if he is.
He is not named. Garlick at 9. Munster is the one that scares me in this side, he is a proper bully when he gets going, has been a bit quiet the last few and is up against a boy. This might be the game when Lachlan has to face some music (might not too, Lachlan might show him up)

Nutz

He is not named. Garlick at 9. Munster is the one that scares me in this side, he is a proper bully when he gets going, has been a bit quiet the last few and is up against a boy. This might be the game when Lachlan has to face some music (might not too, Lachlan might show him up)
Appropriate you say this Pezz as far as Fantasy Coach goes, historically I've noticed that Muster plays better footy when Grant is in the side.
I haven't seen Garlick play much. Is that Sean's son?

Tiger Ted

The Balmain junior/dundas shamrocks product at the back is the one that worries me the most.