Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 11 vs Souths @ Accor Stadium, Sydney Olympic Park / Wanngal

Who will win? Round 11: Souths v Wests Tigers

• South Sydney Rabbitohs 13+

Votes: 2 50.0%
  • South Sydney Rabbitohs 1-12

Votes: 1 25.0%

• Wests Tigers 1-12

Votes: 1 25.0%
  • Wests Tigers 13+

I don’t think its got anything to do with him being Indigenous, its his stature in the game. Its like how anybody just needs to tap Teddy to get sent off. In 2021 we played Souths, Latrell got a 4 week suspension from 3 separate incidents which we didn’t receive a single penalty for.

If Latrell gets sent off/binned referees know its going to be a headline. If it gets found by the MRC or judiciary that he shouldnt have been they know they'll pay for it. Its why Joe Nobody from the Warriors got binned for grabbing Clearys jersey and pushing it into his face on Saturday, then an hour later Latrells punches Harry Grant in to back of the head twice and doesnt even get penalised.
Probably, but I do think they (and the NRL) are afraid of being labeled racist, because they are targeting an aboriginal, it could ruin their lives and careers.

WA Tiger

I don’t think its got anything to do with him being Indigenous, its his stature in the game. Its like how anybody just needs to tap Teddy to get sent off. In 2021 we played Souths, Latrell got a 4 week suspension from 3 separate incidents which we didn’t receive a single penalty for.

If Latrell gets sent off/binned referees know its going to be a headline. If it gets found by the MRC or judiciary that he shouldnt have been they know they'll pay for it. Its why Joe Nobody from the Warriors got binned for grabbing Clearys jersey and pushing it into his face on Saturday, then an hour later Latrells punches Harry Grant in to back of the head twice and doesnt even get penalised.
Yea I hated that sin bin for that harmless slap by Mr nobody from the warriors on Cleary why couldn’t they have checked with the bunker .. You may have a point there as one of the reasons , but I’m thinking an as bad motivation could have been the ref thinking that’s a dark skinned big and scary Tongan he’d do that type of thing..If he was white would he have been sin binned esp doing it to ‘royalty’...????

It was a slap on Grant. An angry very aggressive looking slap but a slap all the same and on the other player present .. I’m sitting on the fence with that one .. It wasn’t a punch, Grant didn’t get hurt so yea.

I don’t think Mitchell has been sin binned this year. Neither has the other repeat offender last year Taane Milne ...I think the coach has made it clear they need to control it or they can ruin the teams chances as they did last year. I’d be surprised if they get 10 minutes in this game

WA Tiger

Probably, but I do think they (and the NRL) are afraid of being labeled racist, because they are targeting an aboriginal, it could ruin their lives and careers.
It was an open palmed slap. Even less than a slap more a push. Big deal

BrotherJim05

I think we can win this by simply getting under their skin. Have Bateman terrorise Cody all day and really get stuck into Latrell whenever he's tackled. They will take the bait and lash out. Get either of them sent for 10 and we are in with a chance.

simmo05

South’s are red hot at the moment, Walker and Graham killing it, Latrell going good, Johnston is a try scoring machine, their pack is savage. I reckon we might be in for a shellacking, I’m hoping otherwise. Broncos gave us a cold and Rabbits obliterated them.
I unfortunately agree. It could be murder

I didn't look at the Souths team before, but I see they have MCK starting, while I had a soft spot for him here, he was never going to be a regular starter in the FG side, but here he is starting in the hottest team in the comp atm?

Don't know if it's due to injury of others or just hard work, but good on him.

Pezz70

Such a shame that we didn’t convert a few of the closer games to two points. I am really impressed so far today, there’s a composure we haven’t seen from the tigers in a long long time. The tigers are playing a type of footy that could’ve seen them playing finals footy. It’s a little boring but it’s high percentage footy and it’s a good base to work from

Yeah, thought we competed ok for most of the half, scoring continues to be problem.

Supposedly the second half has been our strongest, so some confidence to have.

But listening to the bias commentary by the fox clowns is just painful.

Souths have thrown a fair bit at us we have read it well for the most part. Doing great against one of, if not the most potent attack in the comp.

I'd really like to see some better support play. Run at a hole and assume your team mate will get an off load. Better than seeing it too late and wishing you had of done it. The reason we aren't scoring points is that we are standing still waiting for an offload. Even if we get one away there's bugger all you can do from a standing start. The defence has time to react and set. I think if the attack focuses on this we'll see more tries.

I've bagged Brookes quite a lot but credit where it's due. He's played very well the last 3 weeks. I still wouldn't re-sign him though.

Agree re Brooks
Didn’t we cop a high shot in the first half with no action Then Twal gives a high shot then penalty straight away, only us:(

Pezz70

We probably wont win it but this has been a really good game from the tigers, they’ve got in the grind, defence has been fabulous, just need to get that attack to click

Pezz70

Bad luck tigers good game boys. While refereeing didn’t decide the game he put it beyond doubt. The inability of our halves to convert our tackles in the 20 to points really is the standout point in this game, we need to throw more at the opposition. The 5-2 penalty count doesn’t look much but 2 of them were crucial. The first Milne try was a direct result of a shit penalty

even though it's blown out now it was a great effort put in by the team today. I can't fault the defensive effort or our forwards. Our attack still has a long way to go. We just aren't asking too many questions of the opposition.