Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 19 vs Sydney @ McDonald Jones Stadium, New Lambton

Who will win? Round 19: Newcastle v Sydney

• Newcastle Knights 13+

Votes: 1 20.0%
  • Newcastle Knights 1-12

• Sydney Roosters 1-12

• Sydney Roosters 13+

Votes: 4 80.0%

Haffa

Why is Milf playing? Please someone explain to me. We're not going to make the 8. I would understand if the plan was to sign another half because Crossland/Clifford have no future at the club.
He's fighting for his job, can hardly blame him for picking his best available 17.

Jono078

He's fighting for his job, can hardly blame him for picking his best available 17.
You can.

Because if he’s fair dinkum about turning us around and he complains about not getting a chance to play his spine together, we’ll now he has that chance to get those combos some game time (Ponga Clifford Clune and Brailey) and get a head start on our off-season.

I get what you’re saying, but it’d also be negligent of him to not work towards next season very soon. I can understand Milford for this one, but not in the next few weeks if we’re still losing.

Haffa

You can.

Because if he’s fair dinkum about turning us around and he complains about not getting a chance to play his spine together, we’ll now he has that chance to get those combos some game time (Ponga Clifford Clune and Brailey) and get a head start on our off-season.

I get what you’re saying, but it’d also be negligent of him to not work towards next season very soon. I can understand Milford for this one, but not in the next few weeks if we’re still losing.
I don't agree with it either, and I think he's screwed regardless but I can understand his short term vision atm.

Jono078

Is Clifford even available to play this week? Is he even the guy we want to be in the halves next year?
Whether he’s the guy we want or not, he’s the one on the books for next year (as of now anyway).

Is Crossland re-signed for next year? If not I bet he gets a contract soon.

Heck we might even re-visit Mann to 6 next year.

I’m going to stop because it’s a little depressing to think about. 😔

slotmachine

Is he even the guy we want to be in the halves next year?

Doesn't look like it, but with the squad signed for 2023 it's him or Kurt Mann (and we wouldn't considered moving him from lock where he has been so good).

Is Crossland re-signed for next year? If not I bet he gets a contract soon.

His NSW Cup form mirrors his first grade efforts, doing SFA playing halfback and can see no reason why they'd keep him. But as you say, they probably will.

Old dog

If need a 7 to play Cup with Clune in firsts surely we can groom our best 7 in Flegg if can’t get one from another club could then play Papalangi at 6 in cup or even Randall at 6 with Huth at 9.
If can’t buy then develop what we have, both would be best

Jono078

or even Randall at 6.
No disrespect, but No. Just no.

I've been keeping a close eye on other team's #9s that haven't played much FG and they offer so much more than Randall does.

If we ever need a tackling machine in our 17 then I'll take Randall, but man he was really really poor now that I reflect back. No creativity from 9 at all and super average service.

Won't knock his efforts or defence, but that's where it stops with him.

Yosh

I don't mind giving Huth the 14 jersey. Brailey can take a short rest or he can play 13 for a stint during the game in a Ben Hunt type role.

We need a 7. We won't get anywhere if Mann and Randall need to be in our 17. Club made a huge mistake by firing the father of the club's best 7 prospect since Johns.

The plan needs to be: get rid of AOB, get in an organizing halfback and ask Ponga about 2 or 3 other players that he wants to play with. Get Ponga to buy in and be excited to show up to games.

Gameplan should be built around Ponga's running and support game. Sign one or two wingers who are about yardage. We need those two English lads asap also. Elliot will be a huge plus over Mann.

Old School

Yosh, while I believe the club is totally in the toilet, the last thing they should do is give the inmates the keys to the asylum. Ponga has finally (1 game) showed some interest in actually putting in & I give him credit for his effort last week in a losing side. However watching his actions he is physically gifted but there is not much between the ears & his footy I.Q is extremely questionable, he plays ad lib, make it up as you go & hope for the best & sometimes it works. You just don`t turn over decisions like that to players, that`s the job of recruitment in conjunction with the coaching staff & if they`re not up to it get someone who is. Hey that`s an idea. Let`s give Teflon O`Brien the arse, let Gardener trade in his baseball cap & supporters gear & go back to making & counting all the money(which he is quite good at) & get some hard nosed footy head in to coach & to run the place! Hearing the press conference B.S is virtual a repeat of the Stone, Brown drawling, monotone diatribe from the past, even Wayno could put words together better than those 3 & that`s saying something. I fear a lot of supporters will have taken the dirt nap before things turn around, unfortunately.

Yosh

Yosh, while I believe the club is totally in the toilet, the last thing they should do is give the inmates the keys to the asylum. Ponga has finally (1 game) showed some interest in actually putting in & I give him credit for his effort last week in a losing side. However watching his actions he is physically gifted but there is not much between the ears & his footy I.Q is extremely questionable, he plays ad lib, make it up as you go & hope for the best & sometimes it works. You just don`t turn over decisions like that to players, that`s the job of recruitment in conjunction with the coaching staff & if they`re not up to it get someone who is. Hey that`s an idea. Let`s give Teflon O`Brien the arse, let Gardener trade in his baseball cap & supporters gear & go back to making & counting all the money(which he is quite good at) & get some hard nosed footy head in to coach & to run the place! Hearing the press conference B.S is virtual a repeat of the Stone, Brown drawling, monotone diatribe from the past, even Wayno could put words together better than those 3 & that`s saying something. I fear a lot of supporters will have taken the dirt nap before things turn around, unfortunately.
Love the bold. Can feel the passion running through your veins. Still think step 1 is get rid of AOB.

Yosh

What if he says Connor Watson?

I reckon Ponga is mature enough to choose players that compliment his play style, players that elevate each other's games and willing to fight for each other.

Doubt Ponga wants to waste all his youth here. He did sign for five years.

Old dog

Think that’s best likely to worsen the injury by playing too soon and gives Hunt a run in firsts putting pressure on Tuala