Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 2 vs Titans @ McDonald Jones Stadium

Who will win? Round 2: Knights v Titans

• Gold Coast Titans 1-12

• Gold Coast Titans 13+

League Unlimited News

NRL 2017 - Round 2
Newcastle Knights v Gold Coast Titans
McDonald Jones Stadium, New Lambton (TICKETS)
Saturday 11 March 2017

Gates 10:30am / NYC 10:45am / ISP 12:40pm / NRL 3:00pm

NEW-17teamlist.jpg

1. Brendan Elliott 2. Ken Sio 3. Dane Gagai 4. Peter Mata'utia 5. Nathan Ross 6. Brock Lamb 7. Trent Hodkinson 8. Daniel Saifiti 9. Danny Levi 10. Josh Starling 11. Sione Mata'utia 12. Jamie Buhrer 13. Mitchell Barnett
Interchange: 14. Luke Yates 15. Jack Stockwell 16. Sam Stone 17. Jacob Saifiti 18. Tyler Randell 19. Chanel Mata'utia 20. Josh King 21. Anthony Tupou

GLD-17teamlist.jpg

1. Jarryd Hayne 2. Anthony Don 3. Dan Sarginson 4. Konrad Hurrell 5. William Zillman 6. Kane Elgey 7. Ashley Taylor 8. Jarrod Wallace 9. Tyrone Roberts 10. Ryan James 11. Kevin Proctor 12. Chris McQueen 13. Leivaha Pulu
Interchange: 14. Karl Lawton 15. Nathaniel Peteru 16. Agnatius Paasi 17. Joe Greenwood 18. Paterika Vaivai 19. Max King 20. Eddy Pettybourne 21. Tyronne Davis

REF-YELLOW-2017.jpg

Referees: Henry Perenara, Peter Gough
Sideline Officials: Dave Ryan, Kasey Badger
Video Referees: Jared Maxwell, Ben Galea

U20's Round 2
Knights v Titans at McDonald Jones Stadium, Sat 10:45am

ISP Round 2
Newcastle Knights (Knights) v Wyong Roos (Roosters) at McDonald Jones Stadium, Sat 12:40pm (FOX)

ISC Round 2
Burleigh Bears (Titans) v Norths Devils (Broncos) at Pizzey Park, Sat 4pm AEST
CQ Capras (Titans) v Redcliffe Dolphins (Broncos) at Browne Park, Sat 4:30pm AEST
Mackay Cutters (Cowboys) v Tweed Heads Seagulls (Titans) at BB Print Stadium, Sat 6pm AEST​

Last edited by a moderator:

Mr_Knightside

Very winnable game this one, in fact I think home ground advantage and hopefully a big crowd will get us over the line.

Mr_Knightside

We don't get big crowds any more, those days are gone. Will get 13k

Hopefully most of our supporters are a little more enthusiastic and we'll get a 15k+ crowd. Given it's the start of a new season and people are still pretty optimistic hopefully the fans can smell a win coming from the next couple of home games and turn up in numbers. Especially given we're playing teams that we have a realistic chance of beating.

Caped Crusader

This game will give us a good look at where the team is at

Home game against decent opposition but not a top 4 side

If we are fair dinkum, which im not convinced we are, we should win. However im concerned that like 2016 we just dont have the fire power to beat even the middle of the road teams despite competing for 80min.

Heart says us by 6 but head says Titans by 10

Jatz

Holding the ball will be paramount in this game.

I'd honestly be a bit disappointed if we lost this. The Titans looked very average when the game was on the line over the weekend.

Our best footy should be enough to win.

Mr_Knightside

This game will give us a good look at where the team is at

Home game against decent opposition but not a top 4 side

If we are fair dinkum, which im not convinced we are, we should win. However im concerned that like 2016 we just dont have the fire power to beat even the middle of the road teams despite competing for 80min.

Heart says us by 6 but head says Titans by 10

I think we have more attacking weapons than last year (at least enough to beat the middle of the road teams) but it's our composure at key moments that is lacking.

If you look at yesterday's game we scored 4 tries which I think we only managed to do 3 or 4 times all year last year (haven't checked stats so I'm saying this anecdotally, but I don't think I'd be too far off the mark) and we've already managed that in round 1 which was before our team really has a chance to click and with our first choice fullback going off with about 30 mins to go.

We've got two pretty solid wingers who can both finish quite well, and our second row are all capable of creating scoring opportunities. Sione threw a couple of really good passes on Sunday and Barnett created that try out of nothing, and we all know Buhrer can ball play too. Gags is a lethal attacking weapon if he gets early ball and Levi was looking really sharp yesterday. Also the fact that our forward pack is bigger and stronger than last year means we should get more of a roll-on up the middle which will bring more attacking opportunities with it.

What I'm getting at is I believe we've got a side capable of beating the middle of the road teams and even some top 8 sides. It's the decision making that is questionable and will determine whether we succeed in that or not. If the boys can cut down the errors and be smarter with our kicking game then we'll win games. If we make errors in patches like we did yesterday and kick to the fullback all day then we won't win, simple as that IMO.

Caped Crusader

Mate you make a few good points however i remain unconvinced we have improved all that much. Aside from Buhrer, all of the increased attacking options you mentioned were in the team last year too. Ive seen nothing to convince me Sio is any more of a finisher than Dennis or Eliot yet either, even though its only early days.

The main players of our pack are also leftovers from last year too. They might have put on some size which i agree is good but in the end, they are still the same players

Look, Im not saying we havent improved from 2016 definitely, I just remain unconvinced its enough based on yesterdays game. They could prove me wrong this week and there would be noone happier about it than me. 2016 has got me curbing any sort of enthusiasm for this season and the 2nd 20min period yesterday only made me more cautious.

Mr_Knightside

Fair enough, that's a solid counter argument. I suppose the jury will be out for a while with this team. But a few wins on the board will no doubt give us cause for optimism.

K-Man

My prediction for this game is the same as it will be for every game this season (apart from when we play away to the genuine top 4 teams) - there's enough talent in the forwards to stay competitive, enough talent in the outside backs to score some tries if they get decent ball, but absolutely nowhere near enough talent in the spine to actually engineer a victory.

It's easy to draw a direct link between effort and results sometimes as footy fans, but you also have to acknowledge when you simply don't have the cattle in key positions.

I think we'll give the Titans a very tough match. I think there will be times where we will look like the better team, we might even be clearly on top in the middle for large chunks of the game.

But I also think Hodko, Lamb and Pete will struggle to kick effectively, create anything, force repeat sets, or come up with big plays at big moments. It's been a problem for a long time and it still is - even when we do match the opposition physically, we don't have the class to win the game.

Two of our tries against the Warriors were a kick and grab, and a prop running over the top of lazy defenders. And in a shootout between Hodko, Lamb and Pete vs Elgey, Taylor and Hayne, we lose.

So Knights to split the key stats about 50-50, but lose by 8.

Mr_Knightside

Yeah feels like we are stuck with him til the end of 2018.

Would love to get one of Brooks or Moses at 7 for next year.

Brooks and Moses are overrated, Brooks hasn't dominated a game in a couple of years and Moses looks great in attack but can't tackle to save himself, neither can Brooks for that matter. Neither of them is the answer to our problems in the halves and we would have to pay massive overs to get them anyway. I hear they're asking for somewhere in the vicinity of $800k+ and for a couple of guys who can't tackle that's silly.

If we were going to get rid of Hodko and replace him with another half I'd be going for someone with a solid all round game like Aiden Sezer or Chad Townsend, both very consistent and don't have any major weaknesses in their game.