Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 2 vs Wests Tigers @ Leichhardt Oval, Lilyfield

Who will win? Round 2: Wests Tigers v Newcastle

• Wests Tigers 13+

Votes: 1 25.0%
  • Wests Tigers 1-12

• Newcastle Knights 1-12

• Newcastle Knights 13+

Nuke

It's all good, peeps. Coach's stirring, inspiring half-time talk coming now.

K-Man

I couldn't coach this team to play the way it plays and not hold myself accountable. I would genuinely be ashamed that I couldn't improve the attention to detail, organisation, decision making under pressure, etc. It's been a long time since I understood what type of football team we were trying to be.

Yeah it's hard to even see some basic fundamentals that we're trying to achieve. It looks like we go out there terrified of what we might do to ourselves next.

Alex28

Two HIA’s and a team doing stuff in the last 10 they are clearly not coached to do - and we lead - and yet another shot at the coach…

I can’t believe you are sitting on the couch tapping away on your phone and comparing yourself to an NRL coach. It’s hilarious.

Yosh

It's been really difficult being a Knights fan for a long time but every time I watch the Tigers, I feel a little better. The Tigers are helping us by being terrible but our lads are really putting in a shift out there. Crossland and Gamble haven't been perfect but happy enough with their efforts.

Aside from the 2 kicks out on the full and Dom's brain fart off the ball tackle, I think we've played some very good and more importantly tough footy

I honestly think we play better footy without Kayln. Not a shot at him but I think he's used as a crutch and without him our key positions become more accountable

aqua_duck

The HIAs and the frequency with which they’re happening in this team is a concern it’s also not good in the sense that it give AOB a built in excuse. When we lose this afternoon there’s no doubt AOB will credit the boys for their resilience and blame the circumstances which may be valid but doesn’t address the real issues.
When you waste your captains challenge on literally the dumbest challenge in history and then kick out/dead on the full twice in a row when you got a man in the sin bin it really speaks to the idea that this is a team devoid of any football IQ

Aside from the 2 kicks out on the full and Dom's brain fart off the ball tackle, I think we've played some very good and more importantly tough footy
I'll give you tough, the effort is there today.

Not sure where the very good is coming from though. Have you watched any other game this year? Both of these teams are so find behind the rest of the pack that they may well be closer to NSW/QLD cup level than the NRL.

I mean yeah they're going good compared to how the LU Forums XIII would go out there I suppose.

macavity

Bloody oath they have. Can’t question their effort although I’m sure some on here will.

effort has been good. The smarts are lacking but the effort has been good.

reckon we run out of puff, but are the Tigers good enough to capitalise.

I'll give you tough, the effort is there today.

Not sure where the very good is coming from though. Have you watched any other game this year? Both of these teams are so find behind the rest of the pack that they may well be closer to NSW/QLD cup level than the NRL.

I mean yeah they're going good compared to how the LU Forums XIII would go out there I suppose.
Look I know we like to be hyperbolous in here but that's a bit far mate isn't it

Our ball movement has been neat and our middles are picking up good yardage. Tough to look too slick with only 12 men but credit where it's due