Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 21 vs Dragons @ McDonald Jones Stadium

Who will win? Round 21: Knights v Dragons

• Newcastle Knights 1-12

• St George Illawarra Dragons 1-12

Glendale

I feel like even if we don't get a pack leader next year, we'll still be ok in the forwards. Dan, Jake and SESE will be a good front row rotation, with King, who has improved heaps this year. Enourmous performance from them plus Levi off the bench were our best today.

Browns presser was so good. Gee he has impressed me so much but eh media and the way he carries himself ever since he got here. Today we got a bit of luck, which we were due. When we had awful luck he didn't do any complaining.

Old dog

I got emotional not going to lie. Pure relief.

Even with 2 minutes to go I kept calculating how we were going to blow it.
I had it all worked out, forward planning, but they didn't follow the script, had it reviewed and practiced over and over, week after week thought we had the loss factor locked in but somehow things don't always work out as planned......HAPPY TO SAY... yipee

Zoidberg

Not trying to be negative but just wondering on thoughts about our field goal.
Hodko got it and it guaranteed the win for us, awesome, but if he missed it's a 7 tackle set to them with 2 mins to go.
My initial reaction as I saw he was going for the attempt was it was the wrong play, obviously happy when it went over though.

Volcom6685

Hodko got it and it guaranteed the win for us, awesome, but if he missed it's a 7 tackle set to them with 2 mins to go.
My initial reaction as I saw he was going for the attempt was it was the wrong play, obviously happy when it went over though.
Tbf there's one thing hokko is really good at . And that's field goals

Old dog

It's a decision you make, he gets it he's a hero, miss and no harm unless they run length of the field in last minute, kick the goal and win in extra time, heroes and villains, rocks and diamonds, that's why they play. Odds were always in our favour.

Zoidberg

It's a decision you make, he gets it he's a hero, miss and no harm unless they run length of the field in last minute, kick the goal and win in extra time, heroes and villains, rocks and diamonds, that's why they play. Odds were always in our favour.
All that ran through my head in the 2 seconds it took between the kick and confirmation it went over lol

Knightmare

Checked the score at h/t then busied myself throughout the rest of the arvo/ evening figuring either:

a) Dragons would pile on the points in the second half as the Knights wilted or,
b) Knights would lose the match in the final 5 minutes with a "never before, never again" freak bounce of the ball or incredibly creative interpretation of the rules by the refs...

Didn't check the score until a mate messaged me saying I must be happy with the win. Looking at the highlights, I'm surprised that St George only scored two points in the second half, I expected them to run away with it or arse their way to a win. Even moreso because the Dragons are usually a team who get the better of Newcastle, one way or another...

Hope there's a few sore heads tomorrow morning- then we go about going back to back for the first time in over 2 years next week...

Johns Magic

As others have said, funny we finally win with one of our poorer performances of the year.

Josh King starting to make me think he is a first-grader.

Pedge1971

Normally I would agree but there were 3 fantastic dummy half rund from SKD, Gags and Ross. It was tackle 3 and they were going backwards. The element of surprise was there

I was screaming at my telly to take the point and it went over. No opposition pressure so thought the timing and execution was perfect.

NK Arsenal

King had definitely improved out of sight. Fingers crossed he continues to do so. Will be a very good player in time.
Has he finished doing his apprenticeship yet?

I had thoughts for a while with him working full time it was holding him back from the footballer he can be.