Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 3 vs Newcastle @ McDonald Jones Stadium

Who will win? Round 3: Newcastle v Wests Tigers

disagree

we’d do the dogs fairly easily imo

warriors have been playing an extremely simplistic game plan, basically 5 hit ups a set. We’ve been getting killed out wide and they don’t shift it. I’d back us over them

I like Doueihi

One thing I will say though is I’ve never seen a guy kick the ball off the side of his boot so often. Not sure why but it happens way too much with him

I need to see a lot more before I think we can beat anyone atm. It’s not about being beaten, it’s about the game played and effort then the infinite variables.

But if people want some optimism, one of our very knowledgeable lu overlords bases his view of the game on real time performance and is reticent to condemn a side based on a previous bad game.

Tiger Ted

disagree

we’d do the dogs fairly easily imo

warriors have been playing an extremely simplistic game plan, basically 5 hit ups a set. We’ve been getting killed out wide and they don’t shift it. I’d back us over them

I like Doueihi

One thing I will say though is I’ve never seen a guy kick the ball off the side of his boot so often. Not sure why but it happens way too much with him
I like ur optimism although I did expect a heck of a lot better resilience & competitiveness in 1st 2 rounds even though it was against 2 heavyweights.To say we were disappointing is an understatement as we were abjectly woeful.It’s concerning that there’s a possibility that a no. of players may be rebelling against the coach & it wouldn’t surprise if Maguire has lost the room.We desperately need to win this wk against what I believe is an overrated knights team or we r FKD.

I thought he could have lost the room and that remnants of the players liberation army where still causing trouble in the ranks.

There’s definitely a disjuncture, they are not listening to him.

In which case, you get help in to get to the bottom of it and help the connect.

Not about retribution or people in trouble, just be constructive and positive. Everyone lives or dies together.

But let’s not think up prospective solutions when it’s too late. If we get butchered this year, we really need to know that at least we tried everything and didn’t watch the ship sink without trying to rescue folk. Go hard or go home lads.

Up the mighty Wests Tigers and f**k the rest of the nrl, the sub-human mangled soulless filth.

No one gives up.

Well if he’s lost the dressing shed, then I guess we are looking for a shit load of new players next year?

Unless someone has some hard facts, I think it’s a load of shit. They were all singing cumbala (or what ever the song is called) a few weeks ago?

Well if he’s lost the dressing shed, then I guess we are looking for a shit load of new players next year?

Unless someone has some hard facts, I think it’s a load of shit. They were all singing cumbala (or what ever the song is called) a few weeks ago?

I don’t think they are playing the footy he’s asking them to play. If they are, he should be fired.

I think @Tiger Ted is simply raising this impasse in joint thinking.

Everybody was pretty happy and loving until the actual work commenced!

Madgey needs help, no shame attached. Someone like old mate below who has an outstanding footy brain.

6BAEEB76-69CF-4847-B32E-BC26CA2BEC5B.jpeg

It's footy not Days of our lives isn't it. I don't give a shit about how the players are feeling and if them and Madge are getting along.

Just win by 20 this weekend.

Yes it’s called being professional , regardless whether or not you like the coach ,team mate ,ball boy or whoever ,take some ownership and pride in your own performance and do the job you are getting paid for.

Pezz70

If Maguire has lost the room I’d be getting the players who don’t want to play for him to put their hand up and piss ‘em off. Bunch of lightweight unprofessional sandbaggers

stryker

I thought that someone reported the farce in the points allocation, because Luke Keary received zip. Here:

The Dally M’s controversial points-scoring system is under fire again after Sydney Roosters halfback Luke Keary’s masterclass against the Wests Tigers went unrewarded.
https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...d/news-story/d67c2f8655a937c139c32548bab90189

Laurie, may have been the Tigers best, but certainly not the 3rd best on field, except in the opinion of Thaiday.
Laurie was the 14th best

stryker

I think it’s a load of shit. They were all singing cumbala (or what ever the song is called) a few weeks ago?
That’s the West’s Tigers way...talk it up then hide when it comes time to back your words up.

stryker

If Maguire has lost the room I’d be getting the players who don’t want to play for him to put their hand up and piss ‘em off. Bunch of lightweight unprofessional sandbaggers
What if that is all of them?

Pezz70

What if that is all of them?
Time to take a stand how many coaches we gonna go through before the players take on a professional attitude. You can’t let the idiots run the asylum.

If we are ever to win a premiership we need to back Maguire to the hilt. Maguire will put into place the system we can build on. The good clubs have a number of things in common - systems to identify and develop young players, security of tenure for their coaches, Look at the Raiders, Storm, Roosters, Rabbits and Panthers. Look at the Broncos at the most dominant, even Parra now, Brad Arthur was on ice skates a couple of years ago, they let him continue and they’re going alright.

I know there are players at the club commenting on the attitudes of their colleagues, and some players aren’t impressed by each other.

BrotherJim05

Exactly. Madge is our coach. Its his way or the highway. No more bullshit from players having a cry that they train too hard and would rather just be paid to have fun playing.

Every player that can't handle Madge can f**k right off. I'm not judging Madge until I hear him say the words "this is my roster"

Fordy20

Time to take a stand how many coaches we gonna go through before the players take on a professional attitude. You can’t let the idiots run the asylum.

The players have been running the joint for years, ever since Marshall ensured Sheens got extended in 2007 despite missing the finals twice. Why wouldn't the current crop think that they can get the coach sacked?

It needs to stop.

Pezz70

I think if we compete in this game we’re a chance of winning. The way I see this week is that if every Tiger puts their best boot on we’re a chance.

I think Douiehi has it all over his opposite number, if we get Laurie trailing through the centre 1/3 in attack, and coming into the backline at speed 15-20 out like Tedesco did all last game we can turn this game into a win, if we offer the 1 1/2 really shit games we’ve already played we’ll get done but 20+

If our team continues to dribble out the sh#t performances like we witnessed in the first two rounds the only points we will see this year are from the bye rounds.

I’d think we are under a lot more pressure than the knights.

Make or break for Brooks. Pearce may want to impress, but he’s an irredeemable flog and most of his own fans don’t respect him.

Ultimately, I desperately want to see some composure, if things go wrong. If we can chill a bit and try to control the game. That will mean tackling.

Musgrove is back and should strengthen the pack if he wants to play.