Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match thread Round 14 vs Warriors

Joker's Wild

Just on the prop metres and lack of runs

It seems that our props are rotated very quickly (I think Cross went off at the 18min mark today) and are not given very much time on the field plus our backs seem to get in and do heaps of running out of dummy half

Im not excusing our pack because they are performing sub par but the way Stone uses them doesnt give them much of a chance

Karmawave

Just on the prop metres and lack of runs

It seems that our props are rotated very quickly (I think Cross went off at the 18min mark today) and are not given very much time on the field plus our backs seem to get in and do heaps of running out of dummy half

Im not excusing our pack because they are performing sub par but the way Stone uses them doesnt give them much of a chance

Have you ever noticed why he goes off at the 18min mark mate? Because he is gasping for oxygen like its going out of production...

Our big forwards are already some of the worst immobile lateral moving defenders in the NRL, let alone when they're out on the feet totally buggered.

Unfortunately in Cross's case, that happens around 18minutes into a game...

timka4

I'm not wearing my knights jersey up on the GC for the titans game if Dureau is playing, although that sounds harsh he doesn't deserve it.

Although it's not his fault for being picked in the first grade squad, its our bloody staff that are the problem, they are the ones that aren't sacking stone and dropping/upgrade necessary players.

But my god, Dureau had a shocker of a game today, I'm speechless

Joker's Wild

Karmawave said:
Have you ever noticed why he goes off at the 18min mark mate? Because he is gasping for oxygen like its going out of production...

Our big forwards are already some of the worst immobile lateral moving defenders in the NRL, let alone when they're out on the feet totally buggered.

Unfortunately in Cross's case, that happens around 18minutes into a game...

Well given that he is a fitness professional (outside of footy) I am surprised

Do we need to bring back the sand dune runs?

antonius

Wow, just wow.

I thought we still quite poor in a lot of facets of the game, but at the same time had immensely improved on last week's performance against the Panthers.

Positives as I saw them:

- Cross had a great game. Good to see a forward running hard this week.
- Welcome back McManus. It was to be expected that for his first few games returning from injury he would be a little rusty but it's obvious what he brings to the team. Like JM said, it's great to see a winger out there capable of reading plays and providing strong defence.
- Uate!!! Enough said. Love watching him play and is becoming a real fan favourite.
- Wes.. I am one of his biggest critics and I had him pegged as one of the worst players, if not the worst, in our team.. but today he can hold his head high because he stood up and performed his duty.
- Mullen improved. It was still way below his standards, but he seemed a lot more damaging out there. However I'm not sure if he's all to blame for his poor performances lately... what is the point of him trying to be a play-maker if nobody is f**king interested in taking part in a play?

Negatives.. there are too many to go into here.. but a special mention of course to Scott Dureau... what a f**king muppet of the highest f**king order. I would rather a forward at halfback than him.

You have to be kidding. He is being paid under false pretenses, you want to see a genuine prop watch any other first grade game, Cross was ordinary, and that's being polite. Saying that the rest were no better.

88.Knights

Just on the prop times tolar went off bout 26 min mark and was about that time last week aswell, not sayin that it was 26 mins of quality or work and dunno bout his second stint times.

But the forwards have to cop most of the blame (apart from dureau's turnstile defense:eek:) i mean taia was lazy all game, coulda stopd the 1st and 2nd tries if he tackled insted of missing or not trying and he deadset walked a hitup. Edwards has to be in the team next week at least he might hav a go.

Also I wish we could go a game without dropping the ball every 2nd set.:(

Serc

Stats time:

Uate 178m (12 runs)
Naiqama 124m (11 runs, 4 kick returns for 66m)
Lulia 108m (11 runs)
Taia 95m (13 runs)
McManus 91m (12 runs)
Tolar 89m (13 runs)

Tackle breaks
Naiqama 5
Lulia 5
Mullen 5
Fa'aoso 4

Offloads
Tolar 3
Taia 3
Mika 2
Mullen 2
Paterson 2

Line breaks
Uate 2

Hitups
Fa'aoso 9 hitups for 70m
Cross 6 hitups for 59m
Paterson 7 hitups 59m
Taufua 7 hitups for 53m
Tolar 9 hitups for 51m

Tackles
Taia 36 (missed 6)
De Gois 30 (missed 5)
Hilder 29 (missed 0)
Cross 22 (missed 3)
Tolar 22 (missed 3)
Paterson 21 (missed 3)
Fa'aoso 20 (missed 1)

Missed tackles
Taia 6
De Gois 5
Dureau 5 (made 13)
Mullen 4 (made 17)

I did notice our outside backs didn't miss too many tackles this week (mostly 1 or 2), but our forwards missed a lot more than they have in recent weeks.

Apey

You have to be kidding. He is being paid under false pretenses, you want to see a genuine prop watch any other first grade game, Cross was ordinary, and that's being polite. Saying that the rest were no better.

Hm I just saw some of the stats.

Cross stood out to me at the game because at the time I thought he was making really good metres on his runs. It turns out that that was pretty true, but at the same he didn't get through much offensive work at all. 7 runs for 68m... now if only he could do 4 or 5 more :crazy:

The difference between Cross and others is that he is actually capable of doing much more and is below his best at the moment. Plodders like Tolar (sorry, first one who comes to mind) are actually doing what they've always seemed to do.

Cross didn't get through much work... but the work was quality.

antonius

The difference between Cross and others is that he is actually capable of doing much more and is below his best at the moment. Plodders like Tolar (sorry, first one who comes to mind) are actually doing what they've always seemed to do.

Cross didn't get through much work... but the work was quality.
You said it. Why is that the case? It seems to me that the whole team is capable of much more, but week after week we watch the same sh!t from them. Basically the same players from last year, says a lot about Stone eh? That's not saying that we still don't have a very ordinary bunch of players. While ever Stone is coach we are not going to see anything much better I'm afraid. I've followed this team since 88 and have to say this is the worst side we have ever put on the field.

I would like us to return to grind out smash the living s### out of people for fun style we had in our first ten years before Joey came to prominence. We need to sign eight or nine tough as oak hombres to give a halfback room to unleash our backline. I honestly do not like our inability to grind out and hurt people. Melbourne and St George are often boring to watch but they are the two best sides in the comp because they only worry about the result rather than the football moving about for the sake of aesthetics. I want the 1992 side back. That was one tough as s### unit.

Apey

You know what made this game worse for me as far as entertainment value goes?

I watched the first half of the 2001 Grand Final earlier before I left :lol:

f**k I miss that team.

shane1970

I'm listening to it on the radio, and the commentators are basically backing up what many people on here have been saying for some time...Dureau is woeful and not first grade material. If we dont sign Orford I will be royally p!ssed off! His attack is terrible, his defence is worse and his kicking game (apart from being able to kick 40/20s) is also pathetic.
Where the hell did we get this guy from?
He came from the Port Macquarie Sharks and fair dinkum he wouldn't and couldn't even break back into that side at the moment. I'm afraid the Group 3 level is his maximum - he doesn't even have the ability to play in the Newcastle comp.

Spot On

He came from the Port Macquarie Sharks and fair dinkum he wouldn't and couldn't even break back into that side at the moment. I'm afraid the Group 3 level is his maximum - he doesn't even have the ability to play in the Newcastle comp.

Shane, that is no exaggeration either. Sad but true.

Johns Magic

Yeah De Gois has been missing heaps all year...willing to give Taia the BOD for the moment as he doesn't usually miss too many, and makes more tackles than most.

How about actually watching the game to judge a player's performance?

Buderus topped the missed tackles for any hooker in the competition in 2006 serc. Was he sh*t?

No, he was our best defender, and we came 4th that year. There wasn't another player in the NRL you would have taken over him when defending your tryline.

Serc

Uhh...I emphasised how many tackles De Gois has been missing this year because he seems to have gone backwards since last year. I'd say most people have noticed that from watching the games, plus seeing the stats each week.

If what you're trying to say about Buderus is that players who make more tackles than most are obviously, by the pure number of tackles attempted, likely to have higher missed tackle counts than anyone else...then I am well aware of that.

Johns Magic

If what you're trying to say about Buderus is that players who make more tackles than most are obviously, by the pure number of tackles attempted, likely to have higher missed tackle counts than anyone else...then I am well aware of that.

Buderus didn't make that many tackles for a hooker actually. He still missed the most.

What I am saying is who gives a f**k about the missed tackle stats. They lie, lie, lie.

Robbie Farah makes 40 tackles a week and misses 1, Buderus would make 30 and miss 4.

Anyone with half a clue about rugby league would tell you Buderus was ten(at least) times the defender Farah is.

Buderus put himself in the position time and time again to have a missed tackle placed against his name on the stats sheet, if it was for the good of the team. Fui Fui Moi Moi runs onto the ball at pace, Buderus would charge up and smash him with all his weight, getting bumped off but stopping Moi Moi in his tracks in the process so others would come in and wrap him up before where he would have met the defensive line otherwise. That great defence by Buderus was constantly counted against him as a missed tackle. He would be the best defender on the park yet statistically he was one of the worst.

Who f**king cares about missed tackle stats. You watch the game and you will see who is actually missing tackles and who is dragging the team down in defence.

Serc

I am also well aware of how Buderus' stats always appeared...however I have never suggested that statistics are the be all and end all of how to see how well someone played. Just because I post them up after each game doesn't mean that I print them out and sleep with them under my pillow at night!

I think most people care about the missed tackle stats - it helps paint the picture of how someone has gone in defence, along with what you notice while watching the game. Obviously it has a different context depending on what position the player is on the field (and how many tackles they attempt).

But most importantly, I don't profess to be an RL guru, and looking at the players stats gives me (and presumably everyone else) some extra info to help see what went on.