Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matt Dufty

Warabrook saint

no chance ... we would have kept Mann if Widdop were going this year.

Widdop/Hunt/Norman/McInnes in the spine .. Robson on the bench
Widdop leaving in 2020 and the coaching staff telling Dufty exactly what he has to achieve in ISP this year to get back into first grade. Top two are putting his body on the line in defence and getting to the ball on the full.

If Dufty is as good as many seem to think then he should eat that up and come back better .. If not then enjoy canberra.
Love that spine

TruSaint

Just my opinion is I wouldn't be surprised if Widdop is released to super league before season starts , now that Norman is on board and signed for 3 years ...

Wont happen buddy.
He will be here for the 2019 season.

Hope he has a ripper as well.

As to Norman being on the bench, lol.
Whether people are for or against this signing, he wont be used in 10 to 15 minutes stints.
He will start, and my guess is at 5/8th.

hazzbeen

Wont happen buddy.
He will be here for the 2019 season.

Hope he has a ripper as well.

As to Norman being on the bench, lol.
Whether people are for or against this signing, he wont be used in 10 to 15 minutes stints.
He will start, and my guess is at 5/8th.
I'm hoping Tru he does stay and has a big year , but just a gut feeling mate , as for Norman with you about him will start somewhere won't be coming off the bench .... Let's hope we have a big year .....

ouryears

he should know that feeling ... ask Reimis Smith
Tedesco, Slater, Inglis and others....all occasionally have a player running at speed towards .....then past them, you ever tried it? If you had you would realise a player at the back is in a no win situation when a player with pace can choose where they run leaving any fullback stranded.

Dufty did it to others 12 or more times in the year himself, meanwhile, to get to Dufty, how many other players never touched Reims Smith.

You stand down the back......and and even my arthritic granddad would go past you without any trouble, Mr Rufus not know much Rex.

Duftys stats were in the top 10%, time to focus on other more obvious weaknesses, Lafai, Aitken, wingers, our halves gelling together, the coach, our assistant coaches, our ceo......that should keep you busy!!

ouryears

Widdop leaving in 2020 and the coaching staff telling Dufty exactly what he has to achieve in ISP this year to get back into first grade. Top two are putting his body on the line in defence and getting to the ball on the full.

If Dufty is as good as many seem to think then he should eat that up and come back better .. If not then enjoy canberra.
In
Your
Dreams
Will
Duffy
Not
Be
Playing
First
Grade.

Did
Duffy
Woo
Your
Partner
From
You?

RufusRex

Duftys stats were in the top 10%, time to focus on other more obvious weaknesses, Lafai, Aitken, wingers, our halves gelling together, the coach, our assistant coaches, our ceo......that should keep you busy!!

top 10% of what?
Try causes yep
Errors yep
Tackle efficiency (well bottom 10% so yep)

another 1 dimensional player that fans get overly excited about without considering how poor in other areas he actually is ...

he is very quick and quite good at exploiting a broken line but when it comes to performing against top teams with all their players on deck he is mediocre at best.

Fortunately the club have realised this and taken steps.

gitano

Tedesco, Slater, Inglis and others....all occasionally have a player running at speed towards .....then past them, you ever tried it? If you had you would realise a player at the back is in a no win situation when a player with pace can choose where they run leaving any fullback stranded.

Dufty did it to others 12 or more times in the year himself, meanwhile, to get to Dufty, how many other players never touched Reims Smith.

You stand down the back......and and even my arthritic granddad would go past you without any trouble, Mr Rufus not know much Rex.

Dufty is our biggest weakness. Too small. And before people start throwing out stats and height/weight nonsense, he plays small.

Not physical enough for fullback and too small for the pick n swing.

Overseas dragon

"(I need to improve on) effort areas off the ball and catching the ball on the full. All the things good fullbacks do. They are easy fixes, just a mindset shift.”

This is really interesting. You would think that catching the ball on the full would be something that you could almost master if you practiced enough.
Surely its just a confidence thing. When he says it's a mindset shift is he saying its a confidence issue?
i seem to remember a game against scumulla .dufty did ok catching ........so the boy can do it ,if you watch some of his under 20s he was ok under the high ball .seems to have supercoachs loss of ability .

epDragon62

How is it that you manage to sound offensive so consistently?

ouryears

Lacks an understanding of the game. It's a common reaction.
Gitano, You are the one with no idea, criticising and targeting rookie fullbacks who had great breakout seasons clearly shows it. And I saw the team you suggested run out in 2019 for us, Aitken, Silverman?, Widdop at centre,
I have the evidence to convict you now

Ahem..

images

Internet judges here need to be closed down....

BennyV

"(I need to improve on) effort areas off the ball and catching the ball on the full. All the things good fullbacks do. They are easy fixes, just a mindset shift.”

This is really interesting. You would think that catching the ball on the full would be something that you could almost master if you practiced enough.
Surely its just a confidence thing. When he says it's a mindset shift is he saying its a confidence issue?
I’d say mindset shift is referring to confidence, but he can’t exactly say ‘I’m not confident in catching high balls’.

The thing with catching high balls is that it’s not as simple as putting up bombs and practicing catching them. During the game, fullbacks need to be able to do it consistently under extreme fatigue and extreme pressure. So they need to be training this way. Start putting up spiral after spiral at him at the end of a heavy fitness session with Sims and Friz charging down to belt him.

Practice alone doesn’t make perfect, the practice has to be perfect. I’ve long believed that we have severe issues in our training methodology when it comes to skills and structure, so it’s no surprise that these basic skills aren’t developing. And that includes his positioning, support play, etc.

BennyV

I’m interested in the Widdop to fullback option - it seems to be hinted that it’s the option Mary will take, but he’s also a mindless moron more interested in self promotion than wholistic success.

So why Widdop to fullback over Norman? Norman is younger, quicker, is just as skillful in attack and more experienced in the position. He is also more suited to playing both sides of the field. Widdop seems a bit better with support play but his defensive strength is more suited to the front line. So why aren’t we advocating Norman to 1?

DragonJ

Gitano, You are the one with no idea, criticising and targeting rookie fullbacks who had great breakout seasons clearly shows it. And I saw the team you suggested run out in 2019 for us, Aitken, Silverman?, Widdop at centre,
He was demoted to the bench at the backend of the season. He had a "breakout few games" and a "breakdown few games" to match them.

What concerns me most wasn't his defence or letting bombs bounce. Those things can be trained into him. What concerns me about him is that he looked like a boy playing among men. He isn't that young anymore. He isn't naturally going to grow much if at all.

ouryears

He was demoted to the bench at the backend of the season. He had a "breakout few games" and a "breakdown few games" to match them.

What concerns me most wasn't his defence or letting bombs bounce. Those things can be trained into him. What concerns me about him is that he looked like a boy playing among men. He isn't that young anymore. He isn't naturally going to grow much if at all.
For the FEW, A COUPLE, LESS THAN SEVERAL, MINISCULE posters on this site who damn Dufty and carry around voodoo dolls that arent working anyway.....his few mistakes PALE into insignificance versus errors by Hunt who REGULARLY gives the opposition 7 tackle restarts more than I can bare, or Widdop who kicks the ball into the shins and knees of opposition players......or our centres who have tries put on them that are embarrassing.

Or the errors of McInnes who has forgotten how to mix his game up and run the ball......or Nene McDonald who wouldn’t harm a sloth with his non aggressive / piss weak running style. These players have 3-8 years more footy experience than Dufty ......who has scored almost more tries than all the other players I named combined.

And not to forget memorable moments where we were treated to pure exhilaration.

To those that damn Dufty......get a life....get a brain......wake up......or f##k off
You lot are the ones who thought Quinlan and Dugan were ok.

RufusRex

LOL ... Dufty's error rate per possession is considerably worse than McInnes/Hunt/Widdop

Of the team only Lafai makes more errors than Dufty per number of carries.

At least Widdop/Hunt/Lafai/McInnes can contribute positively in games against top 8 opposition.

The problem is not the tries Dufty scores - which granted against cellar dwellars are quite spectacular