Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matt Elliot gone!?

t1tan

Would be a great example of karma,considering how elliot got the job in the first place

*Sandy*

I think Elliott wasn't there because he was at the post-match press conference. Not sure where I read/heard that though.
Regardless, I hope it's a telling factor of what the future holds! :)
I think we'll find out within 24 hours.

Yeah there was a press conference but it was well over before the lap of honour.

*Sandy*

To me it just shows the difference between the calibre of coaches.

Johnny Lang held his head high.

Anyway it's all over rover for him. The news of the board meeting had hit the grounds last night and of course it's been all over the news since. Speculation was whether he would resign or be sacked.

murraymob

story in todays paper

NRL
Article from:
Noose tightens on Elliott future

By James Hooper | September 07, 2008 12:00am

0,,6237287,00.jpg
Noose tightening ... Matthew Elliott is almost resigned to the fact that he will lose his position as coach of Penrith for next season. / The Sunday Telegraph

PENRITH coach Matthew Elliott is expected to be sacked today at an emergency board meeting. It will complete a season of turmoil at the foot of the mountains, which was brought to a painful end last night with a loss to Manly.
"I inadvertently was told about the board meeting last night,'' Elliott said.
"I don't think they're gathering to discuss spreadsheets. So I can pretty well guess what the one and only agenda item will be.''
Before embarking on Mad Monday celebrations, the Panthers board must address what to do with their coach.
Elliott mockingly hung himself with his club tie at the press conference after last night's 18-point loss.
"It's pretty interesting when your daughter rings you when she's watching the footy. At the moment I don't really know too much, I haven't been spoken to by anybody at the club after the speculation arose,'' Elliott said.

"I spoke to people before it arose but not since. I've spoken to officials at the club about the predicament that we're in and my point of view.
Former Warriors coach Daniel Anderson and the Panthers' Toyota Cup coach Steve Georgallis are possible replacements, with Melbourne assistant Steve Kearney last night indicating he was committed to the Storm.
Elliott met Panthers Leagues Club chairman Glenn Matthews last Friday, where he was guaranteed his job was safe for next season.
Matthews was spotted after the match farewelling players Luke Priddis, Tony Puletua, Rhys Wesser, Shane Rodney and Luke Rooney. Ironically, he was wearing a black trench coat. It seemed fitting given Elliott's imminent execution.
"I'm disappointed in the way it's transpired. I'm disappointed that the accountability for where we're at rests solely with me,'' Elliott said.
When approached after the latest loss, chief executive Mick Leary said: "Ring me tomorrow.''
The Sunday Telegraph understands Leary has been conducting an in-house assessment of Elliott's position over the past fortnight.
Despite mixed results since joining Penrith at the start of last season, Elliott only last week outlined his desire to remain at the Panthers for the next 10 seasons. He reiterated that again last night.
Penrith officials were ducking for cover before last night's match against Manly, but seven days ago chairman Barry Walsh guaranteed the coach would see out his contract.
With a large contingent of Polynesian players, Melbourne Storm assistant Kearney was seen as the ideal replacement. But when sounded out last night, Kearney was adamant he was remaining in Melbourne.
During the halftime entertainment last night, the ground announcer conducted a relay race. When the winner flashed across the line, he questioned whether they could pull on a jumper. Worse, he joked about whether the winner could coach.
"We need a new coach,'' the announcer said before being hauled in by Penrith officials.
The level of disharmony in western Sydney has reached breaking point.
Backrower Frank Pritchard has asked for a release on three occasions and continues to be shopped around to French rugby union clubs, while Leary was told to shave $500,000 off the football club's spending for next season.

m

Caged Panther

Well in that case, Elliott is an idiot.
Just another reason for him to leave.

why because he attended a press conference that his required to do by NRL guidelines that journalists no doubt wanted to get done so they could get their stories in by deadline.

I mean please. Yes, Elliott has massive flaws as a coach but criticising him for that is just criticism for criticisms sake IMO.

murraymob

it does appear that kearney will not be the coach but even our managment would have someone chosen if they sack elliott today.Geyer on the roast 2 weeks ago hinted he was gone and Anderson would take his place

The Teach

I can tell you CP that the press conference was over well before the players came off the field. I know because I saw him in the tunnel when most of the players were still in front of the Eastern Grandstand and was told by officials within the club that the press conference had concluded. Not trying to start an argument with you mate, just stating facts as they happened.

murraymob

elliott is known to be unhappy with several senior players who he feels are behind the move to sack him.I would say that may have a reason for the non appearance

lsta5838

I am very concerned how this has all panned out. Ovbiously our premiership winning players (gower, wesser, puletua etc) did not adapt well to Elliot. These players have now left the club. It would seem silly to now let the coach go. In retrospect they should have either kept all players and gotten rid of elliot, or, gotten rid of the players and kept elliot for the 3rd year of his contract to see how he will go with the new guys coming through.

The thing I worry about is, we know for a fact that Sammut has had his issues with Elliot, so has Ation. Sammut I honestly thing is our only option for halfback next year, so we really need a coach that will gel with the youngster coming through.

I say hire Anderson as head coach, with Kearney, Brandy, MG and Girds (maybe Joey too!) all doing their bit to help out.

bigfoot

why because he attended a press conference that his required to do by NRL guidelines that journalists no doubt wanted to get done so they could get their stories in by deadline.

I mean please. Yes, Elliott has massive flaws as a coach but criticising him for that is just criticism for criticisms sake IMO.

I have no problem with him attending the press conference.
My response was to PK who said:
Yeah there was a press conference but it was well over before the lap of honour.
And also previously said:
Lots of club officials respectfully stood in the middle of the ground whilst the boys did their lap of honour ... yet funnily enough both Adamson and Elliott were nowhere to be seen.

That's why I said if that is the case then Elliott is an idiot as he should have attended the lap of honour like the other officials.

Munky

The clear out of the 03 players was needed, they have all been pathetic since 2005.

Hopefully we can start again with a clean slate with the young guys.

abpanther

Apparently it's official, was just on the Sunday Footy Show, anyone see it??

Did they name a replacement?

bigfoot

I didn't see all of it but from what I saw it was still just speculation.
Anyone else watch it?

lsta5838

Apparently the meeting is going on now, but apparently it is a formality that Elliott and his coaching staff are gone. Pay out will be close to 1 million.

I am a bit annoyed at our club, the way we let Royce, Lang and now Elliott go. There are a lot more professional ways to do things.

I just do not get our club. Letting all our senior players go besides Petro, would leave me to beleive that they were sticking with Elliot.

Can you imagine if we kept Wesser, Priddo and Big T, how they would thrive in a Daniel Anderson game plan.

Oh well, it is water under the bridge now, and we will have Daniel Anderson coaching a team like this next year.

1. Coote
2. Tia-Kilifi
3. Gordon (liked how he went vs Manly as a centre last night)
4. Jennings
5. Daniela
6. Graham
7. Sammut
8. Woolnough
9. Iosefa
10. Civoniveiva
11. Pritchard
12. Waterhouse
13. Lewis
14. Ation
15. Cooper
16. McKendry
17. Grant

BrisVegas

Apparently it's official, was just on the Sunday Footy Show, anyone see it??

Did they name a replacement?

They said that Penrith would officially begin the process of finding a new coach tonight. They also said that the Panthers are looking at a near million dollar payout to dismiss Elliot and his assistant staff (Adamson etc.). For a club that is bleeding cash and has cut the football budget by $500k for next season it's not an ideal situation to be in, hopefully they have crunched some numbers and worked out that keeping Elliot would cost them more in the long run.

They also mentioned that potential coached should be wary and think twice before agreeing to the post, Penrith now have a history of consistent sacking coaches before there tenure is finished.