Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matty Johns and his sensationalist claims

Aragorn

But better than Joey? Don't make me laugh. JT is amazing, but i'll never be able to describe to my grandkids just how good Joey was...they'll just have to watch the footage. He had an extra 25% to his game that JT or any other half ive ever seen just doesn't have.

where do you think the 25% came from? maybe the recreational drugs he was taking during his career - great role model for your grandkids mate.....

Hindyscrack

where do you think the 25% came from? maybe the recreational drugs he was taking during his career - great role model for your grandkids mate.....

There's something wrong with you if you think that recreational drugs are performance enhancing, especially seeing as he'd take them post match.

If anything that meant he wasn't firing on all cylinders.

Joey's just one that we know of, and whose story was publicly bared.

In the last few years Matty has given off a pretty strong impression that he isn't a 'fan' of his brother. Constant heckling, down playing his chances of becoming an immortal, etc. It can be construed as jealousy, avoiding bias, brotherly love...I tend to think its a genuine dislike.

The comments always seem tongue in cheek and intended to provoke a laugh to me.

I've yet to see a comment which wasn't obviously a joke. But that's just judging off the stuff he says on the footy shows.

POPEYE

On tele Johns would have to be the best half of all time but I would take Langer for instance over him any time, not because he has a far superior record which Thurston with luck will emulate, but because he was reliable.

Iafeta

His brother is just as bad, if not worse, in the sensationalist stakes.

How many times I've heard Andrew Johns say something like "this [insert up and comer] is an absolute freak. I've never seen an athlete like him" only for said player to disappear into obscurity is laughable.

He put this comment on Shaun Johnson a few years ago. SJ badly needs an attitude re-adjustment or he's in danger of becoming an also ran.

Tommy Smith

Not get wooden spoons?
Ah of course. Wasn't that the year he went down with an ACL in rnd 1?

Newcastle Knights - top 4 and Premiership contenders with Johns. Wooden spooners without him. Kinda like the Colts with and without Peyton Manning.

Big Pete

Tommy Smith said:
Ah of course. Wasn't that the year he went down with an ACL in rnd 1?

Nope. Year after.

Johns suffered a broken jaw in Round 3 but famously returned in time to turn it on with a career defining performance in the second game of the Origin series in 2005. He helped snap a demoralizing losing record and helped the Knights finish strongly but not well enough to avoid the wooden spoon. Still, the Knights were probably one of the best wooden spooners of all time because of him and his winning percentage for the club was 50%.

JT has had as low as 23.53% (2008) and 17.65% (2010). The worst season Johns was ever apart of was in 94 at 38% but that was merely his first full year of first grade.

Says a lot if you want to argue that way.

With that said, I don't think Johns is some untouchable player that no one can possibly ever amount to. Like every immortal, he has his strengths and witnesses and until there's a day where a player has a perfect record it's always going to be that way. If JT for instance really comes of age in these next 4 years and wins the Cowboys at least a premiership or 4 than he'd have a case but I reckon the chances are slim to none of them winning more than one realistically.

The only argument I see for JT currently is that he's a better representative player. The numbers back him up.

aqua_duck

Nope. Year after.

Johns suffered a broken jaw in Round 3 but famously returned in time to turn it on with a career defining performance in the second game of the Origin series in 2005. He helped snap a demoralizing losing record and helped the Knights finish strongly but not well enough to avoid the wooden spoon. Still, the Knights were probably one of the best wooden spooners of all time because of him and his winning percentage for the club was 50%.

JT has had as low as 23.53% (2008) and 17.65% (2010). The worst season Johns was ever apart of was in 94 at 38% but that was merely his first full year of first grade.

Says a lot if you want to argue that way.

With that said, I don't think Johns is some untouchable player that no one can possibly ever amount to. Like every immortal, he has his strengths and witnesses and until there's a day where a player has a perfect record it's always going to be that way. If JT for instance really comes of age in these next 4 years and wins the Cowboys at least a premiership or 4 than he'd have a case but I reckon the chances are slim to none of them winning more than one realistically.

The only argument I see for JT currently is that he's a better representative player. The numbers back him up.

I think JT has had the advantage of having better talent around him throughout his career. Joey played in some average teams that he made look half decent and at Origin level he played in decent enough teams but often out of position. Thurston at club level has arguably the best forward pack and not a bad backline either, at origin level he's played in the greatest qld team we'll ever see (not saying he isn't an integral part of that but he doesn't hurt to play alongside Smith, Slater, Lockyer, Cronk, Inglis, Scott, Petero, etc).
To me JT needs to dominate during play off time and lead the cowboys to a premiership to even be compared to Joey

Canard

I think JT has had the advantage of having better talent around him throughout his career. Joey played in some average teams that he made look half decent and at Origin level he played in decent enough teams but often out of position. Thurston at club level has arguably the best forward pack and not a bad backline either, at origin level he's played in the greatest qld team we'll ever see (not saying he isn't an integral part of that but he doesn't hurt to play alongside Smith, Slater, Lockyer, Cronk, Inglis, Scott, Petero, etc).
To me JT needs to dominate during play off time and lead the cowboys to a premiership to even be compared to Joey

This is pretty belittling to Buderous, Kennedy, Simpson, O'Davis et al. JT prior to 2012 has had future immortals such as Minto, Bani, John Williams, Rovelli, and had a star half of Brett Firman to assist in a Grand Final.

Johns is a better player, but by any measure the Cowboys have fielded some of the worst sides in NRL history in the last 8 years of JTs time.

beave

Look I reckon both are awesome players and have their +'s and -'s, but trying to discredit JT because he hasn't won a premiership for NQ really shows me that some of you don' really realise just how f**king atrocious our 2008-2010 cows teams were. Jesus himself couldn't have saved us from being completely f**king useless those seasons, but during those periods he was still a standout for NQ, there's only so much one player can do. FFS, there was a media article on Carl Webb in 09 stating that sometimes he didn't feel like turning up for training. He has been surrounded by a bunch of turds up here for a fair while,
last season and this season are the best squads on paper we've had, I will judge him at the end of this season as I have said before, if we dont win it this year or soon, we will never win it.

Big Pete

That's a myth.

Joey had the luxury of playing with some star studded teams at all three levels. I'd dare say he had it a lot better than JT has post-Bulldogs.