Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mayer Threatens to turn Tigpies into the Roosters

MacDougall

And if you're right that's also bad because it means the Roosters are paying ridiculous money for good players where we'd probably have to pay a Pearce or Maloney something like 800-900k to play for us.

Newsflash, if your figures are right it ain't because people want to play at a successful club. It's because your third party deals are off the charts and aren't being counted towards the cap. Nobody would play for 400k when they could make 800k unless they were getting a little bit of something extra, successful club or wooden spoon doesn't matter when you're talking hundreds of thousands of dollars.

macnaz

Fifita just signed to the Dogs for 850k. Farah is on something like 900k at the Tigers and Thurston is on more than a million and you reckon SBW is on 700k and you have nobody else over 500k even though you have Maloney, Pearce, Hargreaves, Jennings etc. etc.

Nah man.

Have to agree , but given that Im not saying they are making it up ..But excepting what a club has lead them to believe .. im also sure it may make them perhaps question how these players can be hanging around for that sort or coin when some sides have maybe 3 names an average house hold would have heard off and still hit the cap. Seriously rooster fans this is not a witch hunt but merely trying to work it out.
Ps... What is Sandow on ?

magpie4ever

Have to agree , but given that Im not saying they are making it up ..But excepting what a club has lead them to believe .. im also sure it may make them perhaps question how these players can be hanging around for that sort or coin when some sides have maybe 3 names an average house hold would have heard off. Seriously rooster gans this is not a witch hunt but merely trying to work it out.
Ps... What is Sandow on ?

It was reported as $550k/season

Tommy Smith

Again, those figures would have been when they signed their last contracts.

JWH will command 750k for his next deal, but at the signing of his last contract when he was a fringe Kiwi rep? Perhaps half that.

Jake Friend was cut and almost lost to the game. He's now world class, but when he signed his last contract? He was still looking to full establish himself.

The same goes for RTS and Tupou who barely have a years 1st grade in them. Cordner was just a huge talent 1 year ago. Maloney was never the hottest property on the market. And everyone thinks Pearce is the worst half in the game.

So, based on the signing of their last contracts, who am I way out on? SBW is getting a lot in 3rd party but his return was never about a huge paycheck.

Stop basing their contracts on their current worth.

Tommy Smith

Ftr I suspect all of RTS, Pearce, Friend and JWH will command 750 for their next contracts.

So we'll be in a huge fight to keep them all. Even Cordner will be looking at 500k.

The Dogs have definitely inflated the market but I dont think the figures they've thrown around will be the norm.

magpie4ever

Can people really not see that it's pretty terrible that the Tigers, who have a dreadful roster, may lose a gun junior to the defending premiers? It's not good for the competition. Maybe we are a micky mouse club, but how the hell are we supposed to get off the bottom of the table and grow if a burgeoning superstar is poached by one of the competition's heavyweights?

Timmy,

I told you to have faith: 2 from 3.

magpie4ever

Speaking of juniors, can any Easts supporter tell me what happened to a young Centre/Winger by the name of Moga (???) - played a few NRL games in 2012 but broke down with a knee or ankle injury. Looked a likely prospect.

BunniesMan

What a bloody sook. His cap is as big as anybody elses and if he rates his juniors so bloody much he'd pay them as much as his rivals instead of spending that cap space on the likes of Anasta and Blair.

MacDougall

What a bloody sook. His cap is as big as anybody elses and if he rates his juniors so bloody much he'd pay them as much as his rivals instead of spending that cap space on the likes of Anasta and Blair.

Oh diddums what happened did your team just get pasted by the wooden spoon favourites? Poor BunniesMan.

At the game I looked at the Souths backline and thought they are meant to be the premiership favourites (two of the starters were guys we let go because we had better juniors coming through). Surely there must be better juniors in the Souths area than the team they put out tonight.

The Pelican

Speaking of juniors, can any Easts supporter tell me what happened to a young Centre/Winger by the name of Moga (???) - played a few NRL games in 2012 but broke down with a knee or ankle injury. Looked a likely prospect.

He'll be back in about 4-5 weeks from his second ACL injury he suffered last year.

BunniesMan

Oh diddums what happened did your team just get pasted by the wooden spoon favourites? Poor BunniesMan.

At the game I looked at the Souths backline and thought they are meant to be the premiership favourites (two of the starters were guys we let go because we had better juniors coming through). Surely there must be better juniors in the Souths area than the team they put out tonight.

So no response to what I actually said? Proof I'm right about Mayer.

If the Tigers rated their kids they'd pay them properly.

RWB

Here's my issues with Mayer's rant.

Whilst the core message is one the majority of fans want to jump on board with, i.e clubs should be rewarded for developing their own talent he comes off as a pretentious twat who has an overinflated opinion of his own self-importance.

1) Cutting junior funding is not your decision and you know it, the junior nurseries of Balmain & Wests are the identity of the Wests Tigers club. No man in his right mind would cut funding to them and even if he tried the backlash from the fans and board members would have him removed quicker than he could say Chequebook Rugby League. Don't use junior footy funding as your bargaining chip, it's weak.

2) Stop taking shots at other clubs, as the CEO you inherited the club the way it is as did a lot of the other CEO's / Board members you're currently taking shots at. Contrary to popular belief a lot of these people care just as deeply about the game and the grass-roots of the game as yourself, they're just not as blessed to have the junior nurseries of clubs like the Wests Tigers, Canberra, Penrith etc. How about working with them rather than drawing a line in the sand and trying to gain moral high ground.

How many people can honestly say they knew Easts outside of their own local clubs also fund clubs in the Penrith District, Central Coast district and have pumped money into districts like Ipswich & Redcliffe. They've got elite development squads in NSW, QLD & NZ. This argument that the "rich clubs" see no merit in or have no interest in putting money into the grass-roots is bullshit. Fans are exactly the same, we love seeing local talent doing well & we love seeing players come through the grades at the club.

3) NRL clubs don't deserve compensation for developing players, if anyone deserves compensation it should be the junior clubs. If you want to introduce compensation how about NRL clubs pay the junior club of the respective player $500 when they are signed on a junior contract (HM, SG Ball, U20's) & $5000 when they are signed on a senior contract (NRL).

NRL clubs deserve to be rewarded & given incentives to develop their own talent but they shouldn't be compensated if they fail to hold onto their own talent. Discounts in the cap is definitely the way to go. I've never given a specific model any in-depth thought but a rough example;

The percentage represents the amount of their salary that wouldn't come under the clubs salary cap, this gives the clubs an instant advantage over competing clubs.

Eg. Souths offer Player A from Wests $90,000 (all $90,000 would come under the cap)
Wests offer Player A who is a local junior $100,000 (only $70,000 would come under the cap)

- Players who are local juniors - 30%
- Players who come through the HM & SG Ball system at the club - 20%
- Players who come through the Under 20's system - 10%
- Players who debut @ the club - 5%

Obviously the grant would need to be increased to cover amounts that would be spent outside the cap and it's probably not a realistic model that could be implemented in the next year or two but it's something that could be gradually worked in and imo it's the fairest way of dealing with it.

Mayer's got an opportunity here to change the game for the better but he's gone about it totally wrong in my opinion. Whilst his heart is in the right place this piece will be written off as just another CEO spitting the dummy as evident by this thread.

We need real reform in the salary cap, I hope Mayer realises this and comes at it with a different approach next time because there's hundreds of thousands of fans ready to ride the bandwagon with him.

papabear

Our SG Ball side is running second. In the last 5 years we have consistently finished top 4. Our Harold Matts team drew with Penrith last week and most of those players are born and bred in the eastern suburbs.

They played for one of the two of Easts junior clubs??

Didn't know bindi United was producing so much talent...

RWB and Cockadoodledoo have already covered the shots against Easts.. as for the Tigers, it's hard not to sympathise.

Cap discounts for local juniors and long term players are the way to go, I've felt this for years.

Whilst those areas probably have smallish jrl clubs now (outside of Marcellan College) - they would have been full of jrl clubs in the 50s. I can understand where the hatred comes from.

Coogee Dolphins and Coogee Randwick are just about the 2 biggest clubs in the Souths district, with Mascot and La Perouse probably of similar size. Moore Park are successful in A Grade. Not saying that any of these clubs would want to be under Easts these days, Souths juniors run a quality comp (free rego for all players), but the boundaries are clearly a mess and there's a lot of talent in these areas.

Reinjured mid-2013 just after his return. Due back mid this year.

Do the Tigers make bad recruitment and retention decisions of course we do every club does. I believe our former coach didn't rate Andrew Fifita and thought losing him to gain Adam Blair was a good decision. This could be one of the reasons he is our former coach.

I think Anasta is not on much money (vastly under what he previously was on at the Chooks) because he wanted to stay in Sydney and he has a paying Foxtel gig.

I think what Grant Mayer is frustrated most about is that whilst we pay the Salary Cap we don't have the same access to the money available in third party agreements. If we offer James Tedesco good money to stay and he goes to a rich club for more money but actually gets registered in their Salary Cap at under what we offered him, is that fair? It is something the NRL need to address to ensure an even competition.