Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mayer Threatens to turn Tigpies into the Roosters

TheDalek079

Do the Tigers make bad recruitment and retention decisions of course we do every club does. I believe our former coach didn't rate Andrew Fifita and thought losing him to gain Adam Blair was a good decision. This could be one of the reasons he is our former coach.

I think Anasta is not on much money (vastly under what he previously was on at the Chooks) because he wanted to stay in Sydney and he has a paying Foxtel gig.

I think what Grant Mayer is frustrated most about is that whilst we pay the Salary Cap we don't have the same access to the money available in third party agreements. If we offer James Tedesco good money to stay and he goes to a rich club for more money but actually gets registered in their Salary Cap at under what we offered him, is that fair? It is something the NRL need to address to ensure an even competition.

get benji to send JT some jokes, he'll go on the footy show and wham! there's your third party sponsorship for Tedesco

Why should competent clubs be penalised because no one wants to sponsor Tigers players as much as they do Dogs players?

Why not take it further, place a cap on jersey sponsorships so the Sharks don't feel left out...

Salary cap should only exist to stop clubs going broke, not to enforce mediocrity

gallagher

Why should competent clubs be penalised because no one wants to sponsor Tigers players as much as they do Dogs players?

Why not take it further, place a cap on jersey sponsorships so the Sharks don't feel left out...

Salary cap should only exist to stop clubs going broke, not to enforce mediocrity

100% correct. Wests,Easts and the dogs are in the same competition and in the same market. If we cant attract the sponsors then why not? Mayer should be working on this, not just whinging about it. Maybe sponsors would like better facilities than LO and CSS?

magpie4ever

I still reckon MacDougall's idea, of having a NRL controlled pool of additional cash on which clubs are allowed to draw on depending on number of juniors developed, is worth having a look at.

Anyway, it was something like that - maybe he can expand on it.

BunniesMan

Do the Tigers make bad recruitment and retention decisions of course we do every club does. I believe our former coach didn't rate Andrew Fifita and thought losing him to gain Adam Blair was a good decision. This could be one of the reasons he is our former coach.

I think Anasta is not on much money (vastly under what he previously was on at the Chooks) because he wanted to stay in Sydney and he has a paying Foxtel gig.

I think what Grant Mayer is frustrated most about is that whilst we pay the Salary Cap we don't have the same access to the money available in third party agreements. If we offer James Tedesco good money to stay and he goes to a rich club for more money but actually gets registered in their Salary Cap at under what we offered him, is that fair? It is something the NRL need to address to ensure an even competition.
Other clubs shouldn't be punished because some clubs can't get on the phone.

Instead of complaining Mayer should be building relationships with Sydney's high flyers. Get his brand in the door and people will be interested in partnering with his players.

This is a first class post. I agree with every word.

magpie4ever

Yeah, once you get the Lebanese vote - the power is yours.;-)

Jaegerex

Other clubs shouldn't be punished because some clubs can't get on the phone.

Instead of complaining Mayer should be building relationships with Sydney's high flyers. Get his brand in the door and people will be interested in partnering with his players.

Actually the player managers should be the ones chasing third party deals for their clients outside of contract negotiation time and look after their players interests at all times, not just relying on clubs to do that job for them.

Jaegerex

clubs can't negotiate third party deals for players

No they cannot guarantee third party deals, they currently can point managers towards potential TPA's when in contract talks though, which these third parties can then decline to go through with the agreement if said player doesn't sign with the club.