Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

McFadden signed until 2017

sup42

I have a bet on with a mate. Do you remember an article that explicitly stated that re McFadden (not just Schurrah himself)
Yeah nah I forget in what context he made that call ....Radio ? TV ? one of our train spotters should know.

sup42

Justin Morgan who a lot of people rate in assistant coaching talent spoke well of his mate McFadden.

Morgan mentioned he would be interested in coming here when his storm deal finishes ( Morgan was one of the interviewees for the Job Bluey got ).

A Couple of other useful things about McFaddens time here.

He's done a year as defensive coach ( you could say he sucked at it last year , but he wasn't the one picking the players who fell off the cause...how about now ? ).

McFaddens had an off season and a handful of games as attack coach.....so he's had a studied eye on both facets of the Warriors strengths / weakness's.

McFaddens early achievement has been targeting defence , Ricky Henry as the specialist defensive coach is doing an outstanding job.

Elliot looked after his assistants well. Giving Ricky the Nines meant McFadden has been left with an assistant who has made two tournament play off finals off his own reputation.

As said in the Adam Mog thread , slotting him in as attack coach has brought immediate result off the back of his experience doing video analysis for the Warriors ( the number of opportunities tried through set play in Mogs first game was astounding ).

Elliot left us with a good coaching skeleton , he brought together a group of people who clearly are on the same page.

Rich102

ME should have been promoted to Director of Football Operations.
What he has put in place has been very successful. Shame management hasn't had the foresight to recognise it.

SpaceMonkey

I like it too, just mindful of a scenario where we are already paying two coaches, and have been so for a while.

I ca't be sure but I don't think there is a risk there. McFadden will be given the year to prove himself regardless of results I think- beyond that I'm sure there will be a performance clause in his contract meaning he can be terminated early if results don't come. This way he knows 100% that if he is successful the job is his for the next few years. That gives a nice settled environment to get the best out of the players, who seem to be responding positively to him already.
Re Elliot being appointed director of football opps- I think it would have been awkward to make that transition mid-season. A shame really as I agree it would have worked had it been an end of year hand-over.

Penrose Warrior

I think Elliott would've gone for another role such as that. He came out and said he was basically preparing McFadden to take over eventually, right? He doesn't strike me as the sort of guy who has an ego.

vvvrulz

I think you might want to hold judgement on that to we actually achieve something. Hell, anything.

We've definitely achieved *something*, which is playing leaps and bound better footy than the start of this season.

But you have a point, Elliott himself had his purple patch last season where everything suddenly looked so rosy. Anything can happen with this club.

the players have responded to mcfadden from day 1. that ther shows he has respect and they accept his decisions and he has made a couple of good ones.

what needs to happen now is for the club to focus fully on the field and not hvae scurrah come out looking for some camera time and shift our focus from cheering on the team to vocally talking about scurrah. time for him to stay in the backround and let this team play

sup42

I think Elliott would've gone for another role such as that. He came out and said he was basically preparing McFadden to take over eventually, right? He doesn't strike me as the sort of guy who has an ego.
Yep Elliot said on the Sunday Roast he was in line for the Director of Coaching for next year at the Warriors before he was resigned to being sacked...

tangalife

Part of the reason for signing cappy so early could be the fact he was off contract end of this year, if we had got to the 8 then some other teams might have started snooping around then, next minute we lose a talented coach.

It appears management know what they are doing, and possibly know they have a gem in McFadden already, after all they would know his abillity better than we do at this current stage. But hey, we already looked much better in just his 2nd game in charge.

I would be keen to see Elliott return. He has some smarts. I wonder why they just didn't up ME to his Director role now? Seeing this is the change they were going to implement and end of season anyway?

sup42

^^^ Agree with all that and add :

There a number of new structured attack moves we've bought in this year.

I'm looking forward to seeing our team execute them cleanly.

These new Attack structures have been used since round one. How much was McFadden ( Elliot said he has taken a step back and let McFadden run the attack ) and how much was Elliot.....is by the by....chicken V egg argument.

Key change under McFadden is selecting the right people , playing them in their correct positions. Correct selection for making that template work is McFaddens strength over Elliots weakness. I like what he's doing , but it doesn't matter what I think , it matters whether McFadden believes he has the right players to do those specific plays.

The changes I like the most :

Shaun Johnson delivering early ball to his centers. In the past Shaun would get thrown the ball , and expected to create before passing. When you have a unique runner like Hurrell who is quick over the first 40mtrs....It totally makes sense to get Hurrell to wind up early off quick ball. Long range Try's of the type Anderson had Toopi spark are back on the menu.

When that's not on ( say tackle four inside the opposition red Zone ) we're using Bukuya on that right to wrap around Johnson ( hardly something new)....but Bukuya is relentless with it......he doesn't often get the ball.....but if you look at that play.....Jason is always ready in case Johnson does pass. That combination Bukuya / Johnson works , Johnson gets a smidgen of extra time and space.
Other secound rowers we have used in the past will get frustrated with Shaun and the off the ball decoy runnung drops away....Bukuya was trained by Carney's Sharks where Backrowers never leave the half to create on their own.

The other thing those two do really well is Bukuya chases Johnsons kicks along the ground ( more people need to get there not just one player ) it pressures the Wings and FB into grounding the ball in goal , Bukuya goes very close to scoring himself too.....either way it's rugby league 101 and when the Fish is back he can get to those kicks before Bukya and the opposition FB.

There is also the set move off the Scrum where Tomkins is used on the right to get early ball to Hurrell on the short side.

So....looking forward to more of that from our right edge this year....you can see it building....Konrad Hurrell being used in simple structures ( under 5's stuff....give the ball to the big vicious kid straight away )

On the Left edge: Set move scrum plays look the same as the right one I've described i.e. Tomkins is used to deliver early ball on the short side of the scrum.....the subtle difference , is the target is a Winger ( not the center )........It's a standard overlap play in other words.

When Tomkins passes from right to left that's Sam Tomkins special cut out ball.....it's fast...it's flat....and it's clean.

Both those plays are designed for Tomkins to finish them off , watch how he backs Hurrell and Manu up on the inside waiting for them to pass.

When Manu and Konrad get used to the idea of using that immense threat they both have to draw then pass back ( instead of trampling the defender and dying in the tackle ) Tomkins 140 + Try's for Wigan will make sense in the NRL.

Finally what's not to like about the set play where the number 7 delivers a short pass to a hole running backrower ( Matulino )....Haeremai Ryan Hoffman ! the Left edge hole running ball specialist...you beautiful Cooper Cronk trained thing !

Folks watch for that play....have a look how Mr Everywhere Tomkins screams up on the outside of Matulino /Hoffman ......V the dogs he bagged a Try.....V the Raiders Matulino had Tomkins on him when he scored.

Ryan Hoffman is the perfect player for that Job...he's done it more often than Simon Mannering has had hot lunches ( no disrespect , fact of 200 + game Storm forward Cronk partner ).

Part of the reason for signing cappy so early could be the fact he was off contract end of this year, if we had got to the 8 then some other teams might have started snooping around then, next minute we lose a talented coach.

It appears management know what they are doing, and possibly know they have a gem in McFadden already, after all they would know his abillity better than we do at this current stage. But hey, we already looked much better in just his 2nd game in charge.

I would be keen to see Elliott return. He has some smarts. I wonder why they just didn't up ME to his Director role now? Seeing this is the change they were going to implement and end of season anyway?

He said on the footy show he had to come back to Sydney

Shaun Hewitt

This is the best news Ive heard since we will be welcome the youngest Warriors Fan come October! First of the clan.

Campion

the doom and gloom of a month ago is completly turning around now. it's great. loving that a game is being brought to Hamilton (albeit by the dogs).
Not sure but heard Voss refer to it as Rugby Union stronghold. With Ngaruawahia and Huntly basically extensions of Hamilton, how is that so?! I would've thought we're South Auckland v2.

Shaun Hewitt

Great news. And Rich is a great choice of name. Unless it's a girl.

Cheers pal :)

No, its a boy. Trying to make a list of names atm, Mrs and I can't really seem to agree, but im not really a fan of lists, i'm sure a name will become apparent when he arrives

More likely to be playing with a round ball than an oval one if he takes after his father though.
Will be a through and through Warriors supporter none the less

Re-McFadden, I heard on CGW Breakfast that the Raiders were interested in him, hence the length of the contract. How believeable it is, can be anyones guess

tangalife

The CGW breakfast was literally just Mark's conspiracy theory that McFadden wanted to spank the Raiders to make Ricky Stuart look unstable so his value goes up.