Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Melbourne Storm Chief Brian Waldron defects To Yawnion

Nothing ironic about it. Fitzy has never hidden his love of union, Waldron wouldn't even know the rules of the game and is obviously only going for the money.

so are you making excuses for him already? if Fitzy loved union that much than he would of pulled out all funds from the eels and invested into a super 14 western sydney side. he had the power to do so...

ParraEelsNRL

so are you making excuses for him already? if Fitzy loved union that much than he would of pulled out all funds from the eels and invested into a super 14 western sydney side. he had the power to do so...

Yeah but I think he likes being alive more than anything else ;-)

Nothing ironic about it. Fitzy has never hidden his love of union, Waldron wouldn't even know the rules of the game and is obviously only going for the money.

Probably, but maybe its a good time to bail out of the Storm as they're not going to get any more successful than they have been and life will be more difficult once News stops underwriting them. Plus he might just like a new challenge - especially being able to build something new from the ground up.

I wonder who Peggy will threaten to sue 1st in his stint with the rebels. I'll give it 4 weeks. No loss to the game whatsoever.

Noa

At which point he would have been officially recognised as the worst admin. of all time. I realise we say some stupid things sometimes to make a point but that is ridiculous

coach

Its a business for these guys. They come and go and we shouldn't never be surprised. But I have to say I am with this one.

Will be interesting to see who the Storm replace him with.

At which point he would have been officially recognised as the worst admin. of all time. I realise we say some stupid things sometimes to make a point but that is ridiculous

so how do nuffies in here qualify him as the worst CEO of all time? :lol: don't get me wrong, I'm glad to see the back of fitzy but I find it rather ironic that it's all "we'll miss you Brian" and "Goodluck Brian" coming from people who bagged a bloke who specifically made sure he injected 8 million into our football side and 4 million a year into the juniors every year (via the leagues club)

only a spastic would tell you that Fitzy never loved the club and the game...

Noa

so how do nuffies in here qualify him as the worst CEO of all time? :lol: don't get me wrong, I'm glad to see the back of fitzy but I find it rather ironic that it's all "we'll miss you Brian" and "Goodluck Brian" coming from people who bagged a bloke who specifically made sure he injected 8 million into our football side and 4 million a year into the juniors every year (via the leagues club)

only a spastic would tell you that Fitzy never loved the club and the game...

He may have been a good financial administrator but he was a shocking Sports CEO.

sheet_ed

Note "Matt Hanson" is acting CEO - he is from finance and admin - he will probably have to prove his sports administration credentials before getting the top spot.

Evenflow

LOL hardly making excuses for a bloke that defects to the opposition, i hope he's a massive failure over there. I was just pointing out there was no irony in the 2 situations given one bloke has made no secret of his love of union and the other just loves money. I'm not for one second saying Fitzy didn't love the club or game, just union as well.

Though i'm sure Wally will learn to love yawnion as well, hell i reckon i could even find it bearable if i was getting paid what he was to jump ship..........on second thoughts.

Ziggy the God

So under his watch they still lose millions a year, have not been able to get themselves on FTA, so what does he bring to the game again?

Good luck to him, he is either chasing the money or is after a new challenge, but anyone who thinks that this guy is some sort of sporting messiah is deluded.

Ronnie Dobbs

Oh for f**k sake!!!!! Why couldn't it have been Doust?

Surely there is a spot somewhere, anywhere for Douche Doust. He knows lots of corporate jargon such as -

"Key Communities"
"Target Markets"
"Solidifying our brand" and
"Consolidating our foundations at a grassroots development & corporate partnership level to achive our desired outcomes"

f**k sake. f**k. Surely these skills have their place somewhere. Anywhere. Anybody?

PLLLLLLLLLLLLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

yappy

Waldron seems to have been a pretty good operator, but I don't know he's good enough to get that ship to float.

lol if other codes say, "Another nail in the coffin for RL"
no big deal imo.. he came from AFL and now he's just moving on

adding onto that, he did not attain for the Storm FTA coverage and they're still losing millions

Ronnie Dobbs

Damn straight Chook. I'd like to be CEO of a business whose parent company covered your 6 million dollar losses every year, no questions asked.

BIKER_DRAGON

Typical this isn't it, all this scum that has flowed into the game and clubs since the end of the Super League war, Now watch this wanker sell the Storm down the drain in setting up this Mickey Mouse Yawnion team.

The sooner the great game of Rugby League and it's premier Clubs are run by Retired players again the better, and oxygen thiefs like Gallop can get back to their plastic legal world.

John de Bresac Ribot was the right bloke to start the club.
Waldron came at the right time and recruited wisely to create the dynasty.
Now its time for another CEO who can establish Melbourne as an independant club.

f**k it, i'll be bold enough to suggest that Reebs had a hand in the dynasty in his capacity as a consultant.