Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mental Health

King-Gutho94

This is very much a community, whether we like it or not. I’m stoked we were able to make today work and I really do encourage anyone here who may be hesitant to PM and reach out. Everyone I met today are absolute legends and I’d be happy to have a beer with any time.
Bloody hell, I reckon I’m an extrovert, but even I wouldn’t go to the footy by myself until today. Throw yourself into the unknown, it just may open up doors to a new beginning.
The only times i went to the footy by myself were a few times during covid season 2020 as my brother was unavailable at last minute on a couple occasions.

It was more I was that desperate to be there I didn't mind sitting up the top tier by myself being spaced out.

Especially 3 months of not being able to attend footy back then I was just happy to be there.

Happy MEel

The only times i went to the footy by myself were a few times during covid season 2020 as my brother was unavailable at last minute on a couple occasions.

It was more I was that desperate to be there I didn't mind sitting up the top tier by myself being spaced out.

Especially 3 months of not being able to attend footy back then I was just happy to be there.
I had a great time. Met some good lads in the members section and watched the game with them. Beats sitting next to that @Noise merkin 🤣

(I think) Volunteering is in important part of mental health in our society. If you are impacted by poor mental health, volunteering provides connection, valuable services and sometimes compassion. As a volunteer, the lonely gain much needed human contact and conversation. You can gain confidence if you suffer from social anxieties and for some it just gives their week purpose, something to look forward to.

If you are not impacted by mental health but have spare time, then offering your time is a generous way of giving back. If you are new to a town or perhaps recently immigrated to a country, volunteering offers opportunities to assimilate, refine english skills and cultural nuances.

How do I volunteer? I try and give my time each week. It helps me to be grounded, gives me connection, and it gives me great pleasure to just be there for people with a smile and a hand. Some roles mean that I provide my life skills, others I butter bread or I smile and hold a sign.

I can honestly say that I probably get as much out of it as the people that I serve.

This is not a brag. It’s actually a gentle prod because I personally know how hard it is to recruit volunteers and fill slots every week. This might sound odd, but some organisations lose volunteers because they suffer from volunteer burnout, simply because they need to lean on the regulars so often that they end up losing them. This can be avoided when you have a large pool to call upon and people do not need to give their time so frequently that it becomes a burden.

So I guess I am asking you to reflect and consider what you might be able to in your local community. Work for a cause, not for applause.

TBH I have recently thought about my grandfather and how he was the secretary of the NSW corgi club and something something Castle Hill Show and the Royal. Reflecting back he was a great role model and clearly it rubs off on a family unit in a positive way. I joke with my wife that I have become my grandfather, but that’s OK. He was a great man and I would be proud to walk a mile in is shoes and emulate his humble achievements.

So even if you are not doing it for you or others, you can do it as a role model for your kids or grandkids.

From my daily, monthly or even yearly diary. It’s really only a few hours a week or fortnight.

Sorry for rambling. Wish someone could volunteer to mow my lawns this arvo. 😵💫

(I think) Volunteering is in important part of mental health in our society. If you are impacted by poor mental health, volunteering provides connection, valuable services and sometimes compassion. As a volunteer, the lonely gain much needed human contact and conversation. You can gain confidence if you suffer from social anxieties and for some it just gives their week purpose, something to look forward to.

If you are not impacted by mental health but have spare time, then offering your time is a generous way of giving back. If you are new to a town or perhaps recently immigrated to a country, volunteering offers opportunities to assimilate, refine english skills and cultural nuances.

How do I volunteer? I try and give my time each week. It helps me to be grounded, gives me connection, and it gives me great pleasure to just be there for people with a smile and a hand. Some rolls mean that I provide my life skills, others I butter bread or I smile and hold a sign.

I can honestly say that I probably get as much out of it as the people that I serve.

This is not a brag. It’s actually a gentle prod because I personally know how hard it is to recruit volunteers and fill slots every week. This might sound odd, but some organisations lose volunteers because they suffer from volunteer burnout, simply because they need to lean on the regulars so often that they end up losing them. This can be avoided when you have a large pool to call upon and people do not need to give their time so frequently that it becomes a burden.

So I guess I am asking you to reflect and consider what you might be able to in your local community. Work for a cause, not for applause.

TBH I have recently thought about my grandfather and how he was the secretary of the NSW corgi club and something something Castle Hill Show and the Royal. Reflecting back he was a great role model and clearly it rubs off on a family unit in a positive way. I joke with my wife that I have become my grandfather, but that’s OK. He was a great man and I would be proud to walk a mile in is shoes and emulate his humble achievements.

So even if you are not doing it for you or others, you can do it as a role model for your kids or grandkids.

From my daily, monthly or even yearly diary. It’s really only a few hours a week or fortnight.

Sorry for rambling. Wish someone could volunteer to mow my lawns this arvo. 😵💫

Lovely post mate. Your a beautiful soul

I was trying to be nice mate. In this thread we are all friends. I know I give you a hard time but it's just friendly banter.
All good mate. There is a good mental health analogy that I will borrow from the interweb. As with the recent Paul Green tragedy, we must never assume that things are always ok with the people you care about.

“The duck analogy refers to the fact that while we appear to be doing well, like a duck gliding across a pond, in reality the air of normality masks a hell behind the scenes or like the duck, paddling like fury to stay afloat.”

Soto

Good stuff fellas. Good read and an enjoyable win against the club I despise the most. Let's hope our mighty Eels can continue their march deep deep into the finals. We are all long suffering fans. Devoted, passionate and all want to see us do well. The icing on the cake for me will be a premiership...was no where near old enough to have a celebratory drink in 86.
My wife knows I might not be home for 2 days if we can get that elusive premiership glory. She is supportive which is awesome as she knows how much it would mean to me

emjaycee

Good stuff fellas. Good read and an enjoyable win against the club I despise the most. Let's hope our mighty Eels can continue their march deep deep into the finals. We are all long suffering fans. Devoted, passionate and all want to see us do well. The icing on the cake for me will be a premiership...was no where near old enough to have a celebratory drink in 86.
My wife knows I might not be home for 2 days if we can get that elusive premiership glory. She is supportive which is awesome as she knows how much it would mean to me
My wife just said she would give me a week... and i have already been at 4 GF victories.

I would be with you for that whole week.
I have also celebrated those 4 victories, but it has been far too long since the last one.
Those that haven't experienced it, just don't understand how good the euphoria is.
Those that have, know what I am talking about.

Anyway, I shouldn't have posted that.
This thread is about mental health, and it is the one thread in the Eels forum that should not be hijacked.
Yesterday was an amazing day for me.
I got to catch up with forum friends that I haven't seen for ages.
I got to meet new friends from the forum. A major plus.
I got the chance to open up my heart to one forum friend who was extremely understanding and supportive of my stance and approach to my life's difficulties atm.
It was also good to have important discussions re the importance of this thread, and another member reiterated many times that it was essential that this is one thread that should not be trolled with insignificant childish bullshite comments that most other threads are. There was absolute agreement on that point by all participants, and not just from those that were in the photo.
I had hoped to let a few others know of my predicament at the moment but the the opportunity just never arose.
It was just good to at least open up to one person.
It was a good day from all aspects. Imo.

nöyd

Hey Suity, long time no speak/see. Odds on another Brissy trip in future? Maybe we (Brisbanites) need to come down to God's Country for a journey next season.

Hope you're doing ok bud. 😎👍