Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mental Health

A belated post re World Mental Health Day, sourced from a friend in the US (where it probably still is WMHD).

1728774139104.png
Anyone who finds themselves from time to time getting uptight, feeling upset, or being overly concerned about what other people are posting here might benefit from a bit of tip number 8 😊

Stevie

Placed my order for medicinal cannabis drops today. Got some CBD oil to see if it helps with anxiety at work and some thc ones for outside of work. I’ve never smoked or anything before and hate the idea but interesting to see if it’s good for me. It’s a natural product and heard lots of success stories.

Soren Lorenson

Placed my order for medicinal cannabis drops today. Got some CBD oil to see if it helps with anxiety at work and some thc ones for outside of work. I’ve never smoked or anything before and hate the idea but interesting to see if it’s good for me. It’s a natural product and heard lots of success stories.
How's your gym attendance going?

T.S Quint

Good luck with it, mate.
I've never smoked anything before either. I would also be a bit worried about starting, but if it's going to help then it's for the best.

I believe you don't have to smoke it though. You can bake it into brownies or something. A friend of mine makes chocolates with it. Would be more fun than smoking it I reckon.

Eelogical

From the Government website, but I'm sure you've done your research.

Oral administration​

Medicinal cannabis products consumed as oils or liquid capsules are more slowly absorbed. Effects are generally delayed for 30-90 minutes. Bioavailability of oral cannabinoids is low (10-20 per cent) because of intestinal and first pass liver metabolism. Peak effects can occur two to four hours after consumption. Given the longer time frame, it is important to allow at least three hours between administration of single oral doses to avoid possible overdose. Effects can last eight hours and as long as 24 hours. Given the slower onset and longer duration, it is expected that taking medicinal cannabis products orally would be more useful for medical conditions or symptoms where control over longer periods of time is sought - similar to the use of slow release medications.

Good luck with it, mate.
I've never smoked anything before either. I would also be a bit worried about starting, but if it's going to help then it's for the best.

I believe you don't have to smoke it though. You can bake it into brownies or something. A friend of mine makes chocolates with it. Would be more fun than smoking it I reckon.

I'm interested what the non THC oil does. Feedback I've heard is it is subtle.
The THC oil I reckon will do the trick nicely

T.S Quint

I'm interested what the non THC oil does. Feedback I've heard is it is subtle.
The THC oil I reckon will do the trick nicely

My partner has some CBD gummies that she takes just before she goes to bed.
She says her sleep has improved considerably since she began taking them. Which is good because they cost a f**king fortune.

Stevie

Yeah I have opted after the consultation (all over webex) for gummies and drops. Essentially the pure cbd I’m interested in as it’s meant to be incredible for sleep, and the same for anxiety and you essentially have no sense or feeling of it.

The thc drops are exactly that, and I’ve never really done that before but hey I think it’s very safe. I hardly expect to be Bob Marley overnight.

Stevie

My partner has some CBD gummies that she takes just before she goes to bed.
She says her sleep has improved considerably since she began taking them. Which is good because they cost a f**king fortune.
Yeah it’s not cheap! But it’s a proper way to do it and I don’t think I’ll be using it heaps. But genuinely curious to try it as so many people I didn’t expect take it and swear by it. I’ll report back.

Stevie

I know nothing about this stuff so would anyone care to explain how they work?
It's not like I need it but I like to stay informed.
Well their market is huge in chronic pain, ptsd, anxiety and depression etc. It’s providing a non lab drugs option to a variety of disorders.

T.S Quint

There are two compounds that are derived from the marijuana plant, THC and CBD.
THC is the compound that makes you get high.
CBD doesn't make you high but it can change your consciousness, making you sleepy or feel less pain.

Eelogical

Without googling but from what I know they take the THC out of cannabis but what's left is supposed to have medicinal benefits of sorts.