Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Merger whispers

Y2Eel

Maroubra Eel said:
Move the pokies out onto the balconies...

Holy Jeebers i was just talking to a club mananger the other day about the same idea..

He asked what if it rained... i just told him you'd have a bigger jackpot...

sooperdooper

emjaycee said:
This thread is now touching on one of my favourite topics WRT rugby league and that is a NATIONAL competition. I sent this to the ARL during Super League wars...

16 teams
Sydney - Central
Sydney - South
Sydney - North
Sydney - West
Sydney - Sth West
Brisbane (1)
Brisbane (2)
Gold Coast
North Qld
Canberra
Newcastle
NSW South Coast
Melbourne
Adelaide
Perth
NSW Central Coast

Make 2 conferences comprising 8 teams each.
Play own conference teams twice and other conference teams once (22 rounds)
Top 3 from each conference go through to finals.

For this to work, we need to re-issue the licences for each club and no existing licence holder can purchase a new licence.

There can be no names/colours/logos/etc. from any existing clubs - as this will upset fans if one team is given preference.

Increase salary cap and include player relocation incentives.
Create an under 20's comp with same 16 teams.

Have heaps more on this issue, but thats enough for a work day. :lol:

to much NSW

Utey

Maroubra Eel said:
Star City has looked at the idea of outdoor pokies. No joke.

That's f*cked isn't it. I don't mind $5 here or there, but some of those people seem posessed.

Kicks! I remember Kicks, $1 drinks Friday nights, I always missed the last train back out to Windsor and had to sleep at Blacktown station til the trains started again.
I never remembered a thing.
The best night was when we discovered Black Label Jim Beam was $1 as well, 6 at time!
WaHoo! What a night that was!!!!!!

Maroubra Eel said:
I agree. I hate the things. They ruin lives.
damn straight! i think its disgusting the way the clubs pack them into every square inch they can find and the government is no better with their taxes lining up for a cut of the profits both of them need to think about where most of the big dollars are coming from: hardcore gambling addicts shoving every cent they can find into the bloody things, they are almost machines themselves sitting there for hours on end pushing buttons

Hellsy

Maroubra Eel said:
Star City has looked at the idea of outdoor pokies. No joke.

OMG!
Really?
Dammit.........

I heard this morning that Start City is going to be the only casino in Sydney or something until like 2012, I didnt catch the whole story so I dont know who pushed the monopoly (if it is even that)... but that is probably a good thing on some levels

hybrideel

MarkInTheStands said:
I remember Kicks, I remember it Early when it was the place to be seen.

I remember it later when the mosh Pit would make the floor of the Venue into a trampoline will Guns and Roses and ACDC blared out for 3 songs a night. If you were smart that is when you were on the sidelines because all the Bogan guys were on the Dance floor moshing, and all the Cute Girls were on the outside being disgusted.

Sh!t. is that why i never got anywhere with the girls.
I remember when they had the part above the main bar open, every friday my whole footy team used to go there after training. Ah good times

Utey

Hellsy said:
OMG!
Really?
Dammit.........

I heard this morning that Start City is going to be the only casino in Sydney or something until like 2012, I didnt catch the whole story so I dont know who pushed the monopoly (if it is even that)... but that is probably a good thing on some levels

They had a 99 year licence except their initial 12 year exclusivity period is over soon.

Nikki

Actually, I noticed the other day that they have got rid of some pokies in the Tahoe Room at the Leaguesy and replaced em with tables and chairs for the cafe.

Hass

emjaycee said:
This thread is now touching on one of my favourite topics WRT rugby league and that is a NATIONAL competition. I sent this to the ARL during Super League wars...

16 teams
Sydney - Central
Sydney - South
Sydney - North
Sydney - West
Sydney - Sth West
Brisbane (1)
Brisbane (2)
Gold Coast
North Qld
Canberra
Newcastle
NSW South Coast
Melbourne
Adelaide
Perth
NSW Central Coast

Make 2 conferences comprising 8 teams each.
Play own conference teams twice and other conference teams once (22 rounds)
Top 3 from each conference go through to finals.

For this to work, we need to re-issue the licences for each club and no existing licence holder can purchase a new licence.

There can be no names/colours/logos/etc. from any existing clubs - as this will upset fans if one team is given preference.

Increase salary cap and include player relocation incentives.
Create an under 20's comp with same 16 teams.

Have heaps more on this issue, but thats enough for a work day. :lol:

Something like this was the solution. Sadly I feel the opportunity has passed and we're stuck with grafting a national competition on to the old NSWRL.

The biggest mistake the game's administrators ever made was introducing the Broncos.

They should have waited a couple of years and formulated a new national comp to sit above both the Brisbane and Sydney competitions.

Super League never worked because it tried to cherry pick teams to create an elite competition. It was only ever going to work if we had new clubs with new identities.

People in Sydney in 1990 would have been willing to support the "Sydney City Stallions" or the "Greater Sydney Giants" as much as the people of Brisbane were willing to support the Broncos or the Crushers.

But very few of them will be willing to support the "Parramatta Bulldogs" or the "South Sydney Roosters". Yet that's the road we've started to head down.

Cheers.