Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Misty Bee's 2006 NRL form guide

Big Pete

Good read Misty.

Don't agree with the position Broncos finishing. 11th? While the Raiders finish 6th? That's a bit out there...

Misty is spot on about canberra, we have a team that is capible of making the top 6. Our home record will be enough to stay away from the cellar dwellers, and with abit of luck, if we jag a couple of upsets, score some luck around orgin period and such, which isnt all that unlikely, a top 6 is not out of the question. However more then likely IMO we will just miss the finals, hence 9th place.

this is all assuming we dont have an injury hit season like we did last year

wittyfan

Exactly, if the Raiders can win the vast majority of games at home, and jag a few wins away, then a spot somewhere in the middle is very realistic.

I'd have Brisbane a bit lower than 11th, around 13th is about where they will finish.

Misty Bee

You know and I know the Broncos could come anywhere. Raiders coming 9th is not out of the question.

Oddly, no one's picking me up for my first and last predictions!

OVP

SYDNEY
This side is falling. No offence to Rooster fans, but their magnificant dominance of the game since 2000 is over.

The chooks would never have made those grand finals had Fitzgibbon, Morley, Flannery et al been 5 years older. They are all slowing up, and they are trying to replace the irreplaceable Freddy, rather than rebuilding a different team.

Brett Finch is the biggest scapegoat in global history. Blaming him for everything from the poor Latte at Vaucluse House to rotting used condoms in the Cross is rediculous. The have bought big (Anasta, Harrison), but they always do. Please note that their last 3 big signings that lived up to expectations were Brad Fittler, Hugh McGahn and Arthur Beetson! Ryan Cross should become an Origin player in 2006.

TO DO WELL THEY NEED: Anasta to become the perfect link man from he ruck to Ryan Cross and Minichiello. .

BEST ASSETS: A. Minichiello. Thank you linesman, thank you ballboys.

WORST PROBLEM: They are an old side being patched up. Topou and Soliola seem the only real emerging talent

BEST CASE SCENARIO: Top 8

WORST CASE SCENARIO: Stone motherless last.

PREDICTION: 13th

This is usually why i steer clear of predictions about teams i know nothing about. And its clear you know nothing about the Roosters. You say we are an old team. Fitzgibbon and Morley are probably the oldest, and they just turned 30. You say only Tupou and Soliola are the only young ones coming through ... havent you heard of Jamie Soward, Josh Lewis, Setivita Sa (sp?), Michael Lett, Sam Perrett, David Shillington, Shane Shackleton, Adam Schubert, Micky Paea and the other Paea brothers. All of these players are breathing down the neck of first grade and a few will start the season on the first grade bench to push out our other signings of Tonga and Edmondson. Sa is only 17, but everyone in the club knows he's too good for Premier LEague already ... watch out Sia and Cross (actually i predict he'll get a spot on the wing at the expense of The Iceberg, Joel Monaghan at some stage this year).

No offence mate, but you know nothing about our club. Like i know nothing about yours. But still its just your opinion so thats fair enough.
Good luck to the Eels, you are going to need it.

LESStar58

MELBOURNE
My biggest surprise last year was seeing Melbourne players weeping after the Cowboys knocked 'em out - they thought they were going to win the comp!!! I find it also interesting that few Storm fans fear losing Orford. Cooper Cronk has blitzed 'em so far in the trials, suggesting that potentially Orford won't be missed. They have bought mongrel up front. Mick Croker will love the trip up the Hume for the judiciary hearings, but he's probably a very good asset in big, tight, finals games.

TO DO WELL THEY NEED: Scott Hill to fire. Plenty of decent ball to Inglis, Slater and King will bring points a plenty.

BEST ASSETS: Cam Smith at dummy half. Dallas Johnson's defence. Brilliant backs.

WORST PROBLEM: Replacing Orford, and finding a forward leader to replace Robbie Kearns.

BEST CASE SCENARIO: Premiership

WORST CASE SCENARIO: Miss the 8

PREDICTION: 3rd
Sweet Jesus! Thats one hell of a wrap!

Orford is replaced no problem; Cronk is on fire. When Ben Cross gets back from injury watch him and Crocker put the fear of God into the attack of opposition teams! I second that Scott Hill comment and hopefully he and Cronk will give good service to the outside backs who are, in my opinion, up there with the best in the comp.

KniGhTs BaTTLeR

Good predictions. As much as I would like to disagree with you about the Knights I reckon your probably right about Johns. But I reckon i'd have something about the same give or take.

anjado

(quote) They are still relying on Craig Gower, the slowest halfback since Ben Kusto gave up Mogadon, to do it all. Gower is clever, but not nippy enough - he could have been anything had he stayed a hooker. (quote)
funny that he has achieved more as a halfback leading Penrith to a premiership
and would of been a certainty for the dally M in 2003. And has been in the running every year since 2003.
And he isnt that slow he is quick off the mark he is'nt any slower then Tim Smith.
And the reason the backs don't get the ball is because of John Lang's game plan
of hitting it up in the forwards for 5 tackles then kick.
Other then that it was'nt a bad read

I thrid that Scott Hill comment and raise a Front Row issue or two.

Will be wrapped if we come 3rd however I think the Storm are destined to come 5th. :lol:

:sch:

ozzie

a good read then you wrap your fsh and chips in it. Full marks for the article. Articles like this are designed to generate discussion, something it has done. Opinions are like arsholes, we all have one. My tip, Roosters to fnish somewhere in the top 6.

Misty Bee

OVP, what I meant was that they are built around the shell of the sides that made the GF's, but those players are now at, or past their peak. Of you abundant juniors, only Soliola and Topou threaten to add anything decent to the firsts in 2006. You can't really predict that 17 yo PL players will have an imact on the first grade season at all.

Yes, it's an opinion.

And I'd much prefer Parra's state of affairs than yours ATM.

salivor

Broncos prediction 11th? Could this be a Phil Gould, I'm sure that dropkick predicted we wouldn't make the finals at the beginning of the 2000 season. Not that he's alone, every year there are plenty to jump on the bandwagon of this year will be the year we miss the finals, 14 years and counting.

The Broncos are by no means IMO genuine premiership contenders but it's a bold prediction to say they will miss the finals, theres enough talent there, young and old to make the top 8.

gregstar

Misty Bee said:

ST GEORGE ILLAWARRA
TO DO WELL THEY NEED: A half! Hornby is better out wide, and Barett can't do it all on his own.
who is matt head when he's not injured?

saints seemed to travel quite well with hornby at half when they won 8 straight. they even rolled your mob with him at half.

Misty Bee

So we didn't read last year that Saints thought about rebuying Firman when Head was injured.

ngunity

Good post Misty Bee, I found myself nodding in agreement frequently

Two points only initially:

1. As Gregstar just pointed out Matthew Head is the dragons halfback and if you cast your mind back to before he got a huge injury he was a bloody good halfback too. I'd propose that if the Dragons can shun their insatiable desire to have big stars injured they'll only have their greatest detriment 'Nathan Brown' to blame

2. Tim Smith could suffer second year syndrome, and without his 40+ try assists ( a game ;-) ) I don't see the Eels being the steam rollers they were in 2005

good on you though M.B. it was a champion piece of work

gregstar

Misty Bee said:
So we didn't read last year that Saints thought about rebuying Firman when Head was injured.
may have - they even bought shepard, but perhaps they didn't know how well hornby would go.

pretty much every dragon fan i've spoken to thinks hornby went gangbusters.

you don't reach equal top of the table with a suspect half.

Mr Saab said:
or hatred of the broncos.
Canberra best scenario top 6??? hahahha

Honestly if they start well as they are specials to do and keep Smith on the paddock then I can see them in the top 6.

Every year they bloody bolt out and go great guns.

SpaceMonkey

Iafeta said:
Misty Bee mate, Paleaaesina, Meli are no longer with the Warriors. Paleaaesina is with Wigan, Meli with St Helens.

You can replace Meli with Vatuvei and say exactly the same thing though. Paleaesina is a loss but it's obvious now why we couldn't retain him last year.